We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem of a hotel on the outskirts of Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
Ranked #80 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Gem of a hotel on the outskirts of Dublin”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed here for two nights (Friday & Saturday14th & 15th June) for a concert at the RDS Stadium, which was just a short walk away so very handy. Really good location-just a short walk to the Lansdowne Dart Station and a few good bars and restaurants. Really reasonably priced hotel, with lively bars and good pub food. Breakfast wasn't included, which was a surprise but not a problem. Our room (63) was spacious, clean and comfortable, with an adequate bathroom and brilliant shower (worth a mention because it matters). Bed was comfy-pillows a bit thin but there are spares, so again, no problem. The guy on reception couldn't be more helpful and friendly, letting us check out a bit later than scheduled, and sorting a taxi back to the airport for us. I would have no problem in recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdowne1, Public Relations Manager at Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Hi Pedro271

Please LIKE Our Facebook Page where you can Win €1200 Jewellery to celebrate Our Wedding Open Day 20th July 2013.

We are delighted you enjoyed the Lansdowne Hotel and your night out at the RDS, as you say the RDS is a short comfortable walk from the Lansdowne Hotel, most major attractions in Dublin are not more than a few minutes’ walk or taxi ride. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Den Bar and other facilities. We look forward to your next stay. Above all else we are committed to providing comfortable, affordable living for our guests.

Our location means that you can enjoy City Life yet retreat to suburban quiet when your business in the City is complete. You can enjoy our carvery lunch Monday to Friday and you can kick back and relax in our famous Den Bar, hosting the largest selection of Rugby ties in the world. Fantastic Traditional Irish music session every Thursday night when we transform out bar into an Irish cottage. And enjoy our fun Fiver Friday meals, where you can have a main course for €5, this is our way of saying thank you to our guests and visitors.

The Lansdowne Hotel is close to the world Famous Aviva Stadium, which is home to International Rugby and also a famous concert venue for big names such as Robbie Williams and so many more. The RDS and other major venues are with minutes of the Lansdowne Hotel.

While The Lansdowne Hotel is famous for its focus on customer service, comfortable and affordable living, we are also one of Ireland’s leading Wedding Venues, and with this in mind we will host an open wedding day event on the 20th July 2013, and everyone is welcome. LIKE Our Facebook page to enter a FREE Draw for €1200 Jewellery give-away.

Lansdowne Special: After-work offer: Reserve 10 people in the Den Bar and receive Finger-food platter FREE: Bar Food: 6pm – 9.30 Monday – Friday: Out-door beer garden very popular, and BBQ can be arranged for Corporate Bookings.

Regards, Lansdowne Team, Lansdowne Hotel, Ballsbridge, Dublin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    155
    75
    31
    23
See reviews for
52
133
42
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This hotel surprised me because so many of my recent hotel experiences have been fairly 'meh'. But I was fortunate to get a good rate on this room (€65) and the establishment is just a little outside the city centre so it's well away from the evening madness that seems to grip certain parts of Dublin city centre at night (mainly a result of too much drinking). The room itself was big(!), clean and with a massive double bed which was pretty comfy. The bathroom too was big with a good shower and my room was a quiet one, facing away from the main road.
Breakfast wasn't included but you can buy a continental breakfast for €6.50 and pay more if you want a 'proper' cooked breakfast.
The staff were very friendly and helpful, and there is free internet access at reception if you need to go online but haven't brought your laptop.
The Lansdowne Hotel is roughly 15 minutes walk from St. Stephen's Green - add another 7 or 8 to get to Trinity College. There are buses on that route from the centre and the Airbus can drop you within 10 minutes' walk of the hotel too.
I'd definitely go back (if I can get a similar bargain price).

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the main road - I can recommend room 23!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Booked here last minute while on business in Dublin because of price and it was walking distance to the city centre. Room was expected for the price; a little dated but it was perfectly clean, had good bed, and a really nice shower.

Staff are this hotels best asset, especially the lady on breakfast - she was lovely. Plus the breakfast was good. Also, the bar man the night I was there was very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of June 2013 and would be happy to recommend to others. Nice location in Ballsbridge area of town, perfect for where we needed to be. Got the room for a great price on Booking.com and room was fine, not the biggest hotel room ever but it was perfectly clean and ideal for what we needed. The majority of staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful with the exception of the night guy who checked us in on arrival, not the friendliest welcome ever and he didn't tell us anything about breakfast but it didn't spoil our experience and we wouldn't hesitate in going back again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTorag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
302 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This looks & feels like the main hotel of any small Irish town, although it's in Dublin 4.
An old building, staff keen to please, a personal welcome from the barman, Friday Fiver lunch deal, evening specials for ten euro, they know their market of the value traveller.
Rooms just big enough, comfortable, reasonable breakfast for the traditional meat-eater.
Lots of rugby memorabilia. Free wifi.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GYWX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
215 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I normally stay right in the centre of town for work trips from London but my usual hotel was fully booked, so I stayed here. I was slightly worried because the room rate looked so very reasonable given the location in D4. It was a really good stay but not perfect. the good things: a very friendly welcome form the receptionist Anne, who has been there for 22 years. it makes a real differnce to be made so welcome. Otherwise I might have thought far less of the stay. The locatin is also great for the dente of toiwn. whilst not right in the middel, its a leisurley 20 minute stroll along Baggott St to St Stephen's Green, the National Museum, the Dail etc. It's also ten minutes walk form the Aviva Stadium.

The rooms and common areas were spotless. We didn't use the bar or restaurant, even for breakfast so we can't comment on the food or bar.
The receptionist had noted my request for a quiet room so gave me 57, atthe end of the corridor on the top floor, away from the street, the stairs and the bar area.

What we didn't particularly like: despite our room being in a newer extention - albeit some years old, it looks a little dated. The floorboards creaked a bit as did the water and heating pipes when the heating turned off at midnight. The rooms have more of a guesthouse than hotel feel to them.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel as a place to stay. its clearly a well-run, family-owned business. A great location and great value for money given its location. Its by no means luxurious but it is comfortable and friendly.

Room Tip: the hotel did best to book me into a quiet room, so they do read your requests upon booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liege-Bastogne-Liege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burke, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Needed to find a place to stay just one night in Dublin at the last minute. This hotel was available, and so I booked. It is fairly clean, although the cleaners used leave such a strong after scent that it was somewhat overwhelming. It is a few block walk from St. Stephen's Green, and in a different side of Dublin than I usually stay. It was safe walking around during the day and at night. I found the hotel staff to be friendly and helpful. All in all, it was fine. It would't be on the top of my hotel list but it certainly was decent for the price and location.

Room Tip: No elevator, so be warned if you're on the top floor. Also, it's super close to the stadium...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#77 of 151 in Dublin
772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#27 of 151 in Dublin
574 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 151 in Dublin
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ballsbridge Hotel
Ballsbridge Hotel
#90 of 151 in Dublin
2,214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge

Property: Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
Address: 27-29 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne Hotel, Dublin 4, is a small Hotel with a big welcome. Set in the heart of Ballsbridge the Georgian area of Dublin 4. The Lansdowne is a quiet Hotel which suits the corporate guest and also close to the City Centre and Temple Bar area for those who would like to sample the nightlife. Just a short stroll from the Aviva Stadium (ex Lansdowne Road Stadium) , the RDS, St Stephens Green, Grafton Street and the new 02 Arena previously called the Point. We also have limited complimentary car parking in the forecourt of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing