We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
Ranked #79 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The receptionist was a lovely young lady, the hotel is charming with interesting old world features. The rooms were small but it is a Dublin4 location so this is paramount. Had a delicious cooked breakfast served by a very nice and friendly gentleman. Will definitely return. Got an excellent rate for our room, thanks for a very pleasant stay to this hotel!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 425 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a double room, paid for in advance. Tried to book in at 11am but understandably the rooms were not ready, informed the person at the check in desk that it would be very late when we get back. When we did return, was informed that there was only a twin room available, I reiterated that I had booked for a double room and not a twin room, was told that if was unhappy with the room available that I could leave! I think this was a disgusting way to treat customers, we had no option but to takethe room as at that stage was near 12 30am . The person on duty the next day was very courteous and apologized for the misunderstanding, and did offer us breakfast which we accepted. However we will not be returning to this hotel!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

From start to finish the staff from restaurant, bar and reception couldn't do enough, friendly, knowledgeable, willing to help and advise on the sights to see in Dublin. Ann-Marie recommended a listed pub called 'Toners' which belongs to the owners of the hotel, which again had the best bar staff as well as an award for 'best pint of Guinness' with it's museum like building and an added huge outside area (not many pubs in Dublin have outdoor area). Back to the hotel, the bedroom's were spacious, well decorated and large windows. TV, hairdryer and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast choices were good including a full Irish which we enjoyed each morning, all cooked to your liking. The 'Den Bar' offered lunch time and evening meals with some great deals and certainly not scrimping on quality for the price - great value.

Would highly recommend and will love to go back, enjoy

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We were in Dublin for the World Flower Show. Prices were almost double what they are normally. We paid 5 star prices, and the accommodation was not brilliant. We were first put in a room where we could not see out of the windows due to overgrowth outside. Had to have all 5 lights on all the time. Did get moved to a room at the front. It is a football hotel with a mobile outdoor screen, so it was noisy. I suspect this is only a 2 or 3 star hotel. Very noisy but there was no air conditioning.l

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in room 41 unless you hate daylight.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Lansdowne is located in a really lovely part of Dublin. A leisurely walk along some of the most interesting streets of the city will get you to Grafton Street in about 20 minutes. The bar menu is excellent value and the food is interesting and varied. As it is an old building, what is lacks in modernity it makes up for in atmosphere. There is quite a variety in its pricing structures, depending on seasonality and what is happening in the city. On balance, the room only rate is more attractive. There are loads of interesting cafes in the area in which to have breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spanishcitytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Its only downfall for us was that the bathroom floor was very squeaky ... That's it!

The hotel is located in the gorgeous leafy suburb of Ballsbridge and is about a 10-15 min walk to the Landsdowne Road train station and about a 25 min walk from central dublin (South of the River part of the city)

The service was exceptional - especially from Ann-Marie in the restaurant and Brendan in the pub! The meals were lovely examples of simple pub/3-star hotel food done well. The pub meals were very well priced and the local beers were a nice selection.

Very looking forward to visiting again someday!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Filipo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stay here quiet often. The place is quiet and clean and right at the heart of the business area in Dublin. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants just 2 mins walk away. WIFI isn't great though. I love that there is plenty of heat even in the summer from the radiators if you need it.

Room Tip: Avoid a ground floor room, they are at the back of the property and are very small.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liviemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Pembroke Townhouse
#75 of 150 in Dublin
792 reviews
Mespil Hotel
#32 of 150 in Dublin
557 reviews
Ballsbridge Hotel
#87 of 150 in Dublin
2,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,385 reviews
Waterloo House
#33 of 150 in Dublin
600 reviews
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge

Address: 27-29 Pembroke Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £84 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lansdowne Hotel, Dublin 4, is a small Hotel with a big welcome. Set in the heart of Ballsbridge the Georgian area of Dublin 4. The Lansdowne is a quiet Hotel which suits the corporate guest and also close to the City Centre and Temple Bar area for those who would like to sample the nightlife. Just a short stroll from the Aviva Stadium (ex Lansdowne Road Stadium) , the RDS, St Stephens Green, Grafton Street and the new 02 Arena previously called the Point. We also have limited complimentary car parking in the forecourt of the Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lansdowne Hotel Ballsbridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lansdowne Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing