We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #102 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Perfect location. Very close to pubs and shops
We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived
The room was spotless. TV was a bit small, but we didn't go to Dublin to watch TV.
The library bar is fab. A definite I would say, even if you don't stay there
Breakfast was fine. Full Irish with everything. The package we were on didn't include breakfast, so it was 10 Euros extra.
Price for the room was good value.
If i go to Dublin again I will certainly stay at Central again

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

412 - 418 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Went to Libary Bar bought 2 Glasses of Wine and a Coke now was charged 2.60 for a 200ml coke

I didnt even know they made coke that small very expensive but of course its Ireland

So too expensive otherwise bar is nice place to go if looking to get away from crowds

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank mylesm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Staying at this hotel as a business stopover and will inevitably be going into work exhausted as it is now after 2.30am and I am still livening to music blaring from the nightclub 5 metres from my windows. Though the one night staff member has tried to be helpful there are no other rooms and nothing it seems that can be done.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sligo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Enjoyed my stay at Central Hotel!Reception staff helpful and client oriented.Good food choice at breakfast. Room comfortable with a comfortable bed.Location excellent, very close to Trinity College and other Dublin city center attractions.

Room Tip: room at the back of the hotel provided a noise free environment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The location is very good close to many of the tourist sites. The room we had, a twin, was dark and faced the inside of the building and had a generator outside. This was actually not very noisy but we didn't open the windows as you would have been able to hear street noise. Very stuffy room. Bathroom ceiling light didn't work nor did one of the table lamps (it was in fact the socket which was broken). Bed linen, towels, pillows etc were very clean. The bathroom was tat in need of renovation. The shower gel was located on the wall on a bracket so if you were having a bath you couldn't reach it. No towel rails. There were no complimentary bottles of shampoo, body lotion, soap etc as provided by most hotels. Bathroom fan did not appear to work either. Kettle and tea and coffee provided but there was no safe in room as described in booking agents website. Internet connection was good. The library bar was cosy but was very noisy as there were lots of people in there. The breakfast room was bright and cheery and tastefully furnished. Only went in there on last day preferred to eat out although most prices are similar around hotel, if not more. Had continental breakfast, could have been better. Restaurants in that area are on the expensive side and with vegetables costing about 3-4 euros extra per portion on top of ' set menu'. Would recommend the Jewel in the Crown round the corner as do a very good set menu for 12.95 including coffee. Would stay again because of location.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Located close to Temple Bar, shopping, and transit. Comfortable room and friendly staff. We had a suit which was nice and roomy with a large bathroom. Water pressure in shower was a little iffy sometimes, but it is an older building, Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Our room faced South St George Street which got the late afternoon sun. We just happened to be ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleymanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Central Hotel in Dublin.
What a nice hotel.
I arrived early and luckily the reception staff were able to find me a room at was available. Thank you.
They were very accommodatin, as I had booked a twin room but asked if there was a double room available. There was so I was very happy.

The room was a good size, very clean and with lots of mirrors.

The shower, although small had good water pressure and lots of hot water.

The hotel is in a good location, close to Temple Bar, and the room was very quiet even though I was facing the main road.

There is not a lot of hanging space in the room, so if there are two of you, you might find it a little cramped for clothes hanging space.

Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: If there are two of you, I would suggest youo pay a little extra and get a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cygnetboy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,059 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,556 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,497 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £90 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing