We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient, old-world charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“convenient, old-world charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

very convenient to everything! Dunn's supermarket open til 11pm across the street, 24 hour Spar(very nice) just around the corner. I stayed in a single room, and know what to expect for size of European standard hotels but I think the way this was laid out, it did not seem small or claustrophobic. The ceilings are high, there is a nice wardrobe with shelving, and yes, the bathroom has shelves!(this is a rarity). Hot water kettle with supplies stocked daily, clean towels daily. Yes, the water pressure is not the best but the water was hot. yes, it can be a bit noisy outside but look where u are located?! Just bring your earplugs. I brought mine but honestly did not need them; was so tired from full days. The pillows are quite thin but they provide extras in the closet. Very secure hotel!!! lots of security cameras, and the door is locked after 11pm and one has to show room key. Common areas very clean also and with a Victorian old world charm. I stayed facing South George's street on the second floor, and there is a nightclub (Karaoke, I believe) somewhere close because I could hear them singing. The lift was small(as is in most older Euro hotels) but was never out of service in the week I was there, and I never had long to wait for it. Loved this place.

Room Tip: just bring some earplugs if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    352
    198
    73
    77
See reviews for
159
262
94
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Do NOT pick this hotel! It's so noisy so You do not Get any sleep. It was not i that did the booking of this hotel, when i got the name of the hotel i looked it up and understood that it was noisy, i e-mailed the hotel that we wanted rooms far away from the bars. WELL, my room is OVER the bar and my mom has a problem to! Tried to change room, but they could'nt do anything! I do not understand that they can trick peopel to pay to stay here! PLEASE, do NOT stay her!! PS. It is not clean and the rooms are ugly...

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AB2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Kerry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

I like this hotel, it's not the plushest but the lobby and first floor particularly the Library Bar have charm. The rooms vary in their decorative standard but all the ones I've been in are decent. It can noisy considering where it is but they've always tried to find me a quieter room when I've asked - either high up or non street facing. The staff are helpful and friendly and the free WiFi is great. I always check it out when going to Dublin and if the rate is reasonable invariably pick it.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Dogmatix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Perfect location. Very close to pubs and shops
We were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived
The room was spotless. TV was a bit small, but we didn't go to Dublin to watch TV.
The library bar is fab. A definite I would say, even if you don't stay there
Breakfast was fine. Full Irish with everything. The package we were on didn't include breakfast, so it was 10 Euros extra.
Price for the room was good value.
If i go to Dublin again I will certainly stay at Central again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Went to Libary Bar bought 2 Glasses of Wine and a Coke now was charged 2.60 for a 200ml coke

I didnt even know they made coke that small very expensive but of course its Ireland

So too expensive otherwise bar is nice place to go if looking to get away from crowds

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mylesm0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Staying at this hotel as a business stopover and will inevitably be going into work exhausted as it is now after 2.30am and I am still livening to music blaring from the nightclub 5 metres from my windows. Though the one night staff member has tried to be helpful there are no other rooms and nothing it seems that can be done.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sligo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Enjoyed my stay at Central Hotel!Reception staff helpful and client oriented.Good food choice at breakfast. Room comfortable with a comfortable bed.Location excellent, very close to Trinity College and other Dublin city center attractions.

Room Tip: room at the back of the hotel provided a noise free environment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
The Clarence
#44 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing