We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We had booked a twin room and were delighted to be allocated a spacious room containing a double and 2 single beds. The beds were very comfortable and the room clean. As we expected the room was noisy at night due to its excellent location. Why oh why do they not just install doubl-glazing?
We decided to take breakfast but to be honest a 10 euros I would probably give it a miss. We had to ask for the bread to be toasted again as it came limp and half toasted. We both had tea and had to share one small pot until we asked for another. We also had to ask for ketchup.....surely an unremarkable breakfast!
In the afternoon we went to the celebrated Library bar....again unexceptional. It was very busy.....no sign of a menu. The seats were quite comfortable but a bit disorganised. I had to ask for the Ladies toilets to be unlocked. The barman was adamant that it was......it wasn't!
We did enjoy our stay there.

Room Tip: Room 233 was very spacious....tho noisy as at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    356
    204
    74
    78
See reviews for
161
262
95
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Éire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My experience is likely bias by the fact I was staying here the night of my wedding.

Rooms: Because I was the bride, we got a beautiful big suite with a huge bathroom and giant tub. The room was beautiful, clean and really enjoyable. Because of it's style, it was like staying in a boutique hotel, but because it's actually an old building, it had an authentic sense which was lovely. My mam suite on the top floor that was lovely as well.

Service: Checkin was great. However, the power kept going out for our room and our neighbours room (a friend - who had a much uglier smaller room so I cant imagine they're all as nice as ours was). As you can imagine, we were getting ready for the wedding and this really delayed hair and makeup. The hotel weren't very efficient or helpful, though they got there in the end and were responsive enough, eventually. The maintenance guy made some dirty old man jokes and leered at us, which was received with a mix of laughing it off and disgust. I guess most people wont even see this but it annoyed me.

Breakfast: Fast, efficient, delicious, standard fare.

Location: Bang in the middle of Dublin, this is mostly what you're paying for. You could walk home from almost any pub and that's incredibly convenient. That being said, location also means noise on the street until late in the morning on the weekends, so if you're planning a tourist trip maybe ask not to be facing the street.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that doesnt face the street or is on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaoireSaoirse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buncrana, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in October of last year and I was presently surprised how excellent the hotel was. So we booked it again.. This time for 2 nights. It did not disappoint.. I requested a quite room as my wife and myself wanted to relax for the 2 days, the room was a little smaller than the last room but had everything. Very clean. Good heat. Great shower and good storage space. I requested an iron & iron board and in less than 2 mins it was at our door. Had a drink in the library bar and it as so nice to see an open fire.. The hotel is so central we did not have to worry about taxis and the receptionist was so helpful in arranging parking in Drury St. Which is cheap. Price for the 2 night was excellent for the location of the hotel that u save on the other costs. So all in all in all it was as good as the last time we stayed...

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank KPCarroll35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

The Central Hotel was a welcome sight on a cold and dreary November evening! The location is perfect, close to everything - Molly Malone, Trintiy College and The Westbury. A big thank you to Nancy on the Front Desk for being absolutely charming and accommodating, very helpful with helping us get a lovely room with an even lovlier bath! The porter I met in the corridor was also very helpful when helping me and my colleagues locate the stairs.

Room Tip: Room 233 has a lovely bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mary_mac20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Went to the central in Dublin for my wifes 40th
Beautiful room.Lovely old style Hotel
Very clean and tidy ,good value and ideally located for nightlife,just dont expect a quite night.
Will be back again .On a serious note Dublin needs to have a think about the crazy prices you pay
or it will loose a lot of tourists ,some of the prices for food and drink are mind blowing

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 776john
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

A reasonably price hotel in a perfect location for a few days in Dublin. In Temple Bar so could be noisy at night. If you are a very light sleeper, may be a problem but if you let them know ahead of time, they will put you towards the back which is less of a problem. Also, would highly recommend letting them know if you have an early flight into Dublin as I did and they had my room ready for me even though I was there two hours before check in time.

The Library Bar on the First Floor was perfect -- a really nice way to unwind after a day of walking around.

Very close to Trinity College and tons of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Let them know if you are a light sleeper so they don't put you facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FidelmaMcMorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Nicely located on a great street in Dublin. Easy to walk around, short walk to Temple Bar area. convenience store across the street.

Nice room, updated, and clean, helpful staff. Good storage for Clothing. Clean Bathroom, warm Shower.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#115 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,184 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing