We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

it was very good the rooms were tidy the beds were comfortable the service was good and its ni the heart of dublin.............................................................................................

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emettlego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    352
    198
    73
    77
See reviews for
159
262
94
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This hotel is all about the location. It is situated in the very city centre, on the doorstep of Grafton Street & it's large shopping neighbourhood, and surrounded by lots of busy bars & restaurants- varying in price & style.

The hotel decor is old style & the reception & landing areas have a certain charm with elaborate hall tables, mirrors & chandeliers.

My room was quite small & completely dominated by the large bed. The ensuite looked like it had been renovated more recently than the bedroom & was spotlessly clean.

None of the channels on the TV had a clear picture & there was an annoying buzz from most of them. I didn't complain as I had my laptop anyway. Tea & coffee-making equipment was provided.

Breakfast & reception staff were pleasant, friendly & helpful.
All in, this hotel is a great option if you just need somewhere to sleep that's comfortable & is located right in the centre of everything. If you want to stay somewhere that feels special, with fancy facilities & stylish decor - this place is not for you.

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank SharonaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stay in the Central Hotel regularly as I've found it the best value hotel in the city centre. If you're looking for the standardized Holiday Inn every-room-perfectly-the-same experience, move along. But if you appreciate a bit of worn at the edges character you'll find it hard to beat this brilliantly located hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSMCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location to explore Dublin. The staff were pleasant and efficient. The room we stayed in was clean, presentable and a good size. There are lots of cafes, restaurants and shops nearby. If you are adventurous and enjoy walking it is a great base for visiting many of Dublin's visitor attractions. There is also a great range of nightlife nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had a recent one night stay at this hotel and it was very nice! It is an old building but well maintained. Great location downtown and easy to get to most of the places we wanted to see in the short time we were there. Our room was very clean and quiet and our bathroom was fine. The staff there was very helpful. It was also nice that they have a secure place to keep your luggage after check-out while we were finishing some sight seeing before leaving Dublin.

Room Tip: We had an inside room so it was not one overlooking the street which I suspect might be a bit louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AllenCambridge_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid-March. The hotel itself is lovely and historic and we just loved the ambiance. We loved the restaurant next door as well (but that is another review).

The oddness in the bathroom - well, there were three steps leading to the bath/shower.. with a two foot drop-off into the jazuzzi-type tub. Um, this middle aged couple did their best mountain goat impersonations getting in and out of there! :)

Also, with our jet lag, went out for a walk about 3 am, only to discover we were locked in the hotel. Yes, the front door was locked. We located a worker on another floor to come let us out. Given the frivolity in the streets, I understand why, but letting guests know in advance would have been nice...

Rates were reasonable for the central location. Staff was pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WoodysMom1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I have just returned home to Nashville, Tennessee after spending several days in Dublin at the Central. I wanted to find a hotel that felt like Ireland and I did. I had booked a single room, upon arrival was given a double that I just loved. I did not have a view from my room, but that didn't bother me. I left the hotel when I wanted to see sights. Originally booked this hotel for a couple of reasons, location of course and it's charm. I was not disappointed at all! The staff was more than helpful with each request I had. I had breakfast once in the hotel which was quite yummy, the wait staff could not have been better. Also ordered dinner one night in the Library Bar and took it up to my room, fantastic service there as well. There was always a bit of noise at night, but I expected that and was not really bothered by it. I had brought ear plugs as suggested in some reviews I had read, but never had to use them. My room was located on the 2nd floor and the Wifi was super, anytime day or night, it worked perfectly. I loved having Dunnes Mkt. just across the street from the hotel, I very much enjoyed the Irish Milk I found there. There was an ATM just around the corner and a wonderful Ice Cream shop to the other end toward Grafton St. I was able to walk to most anywhere I wanted to go and felt quite safe doing so. And walk I did, everywhere! I fully intend on going back asap and will indeed book back at the Central.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor is sensitive to the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyLynn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,154 reviews
The Clarence
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing