We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but scope for improvement”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #103 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent. It is very easy to get to from the airport and it is only a short walking distance away from the main areas for sightseeing, shopping and eating out. We'd asked for a quiet room and were not disturbed by any outside noise (apart from the quite loud humming from a ventilator that was easy to block out). The room was spacious with a very comfortable mattress. The bathroom was huge and adequate but lacked enough hooks for hanging up towels (there is just one). The Library Bar in the first floor is a pleasant and cosy hangout for a drink. The only disappointment was the breakfast. While the continental breakfast is reasonably priced at 5 Euros, we didn't expect factory-produced pastries and scones still in their original packaging. With such a central location and so many outstanding food outlets nearby, sourcing freshly baked pastries and bread shouldn't be too difficult. -
I was very concerned at the check-out to be told that somebody else had just checked out using our room number and signing my credit card bill. As far as I can see, this didn't cause me any financial loss (the bill was accurately settled) but I feel uncomfortable that they didn't check the credentials more carefully and didn't ask for a pin code. I would have also expected the receptionist to be less blasé about it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PilpelAdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear PilpelAdom,
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am sorry you felt uncomfortable and concerned during checking out.. Guest's safety and pleasure are always the most important for us and for the hotel. We hope to have pleasure of welcoming you back at Central Hotel with complimentary breakfast. For reduced rates I recommend contacting hotel directly at info@centralhotel.ie.
Kind regards,
Isobel Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We loved staying in this hotel! The atmosphere is very good and our room with four people was spacious! The beds were comfortable and the linens clean. The front desk staff are very helpful and can help you get just about anywhere in town. The location is convenient to restaurants and pubs (lots of pubs) and we walked to most local attractions. The only thing is that it is noisy, so if you are a light sleeper, you might ask for a quiet room. We will definitely stay here if we make it back to Dublin. Also, unless you are going outside of Dublin to see the sights, you don't need a car. Parking is not too convenient and fairly expensive.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank DV52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear DV52,
Thank you for writing your review and thank you for such a good mark. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and time in Dublin. There are few rooms not facing the street, so I recommend to request one of them for your next stay. We hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back at Central hotel in near future. For special room type and reduced rate please contact hotel directly at info@centralhotel.ie.
Kind regards,
Isobel Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Having read recent reviews on this hotel we decided to visit for the weekend. It is now amazing. We loved everything about it...
The position is unrivalled .. The staff are charming and helpful.. and the building itself is gracious and welcoming
We look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room facing the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linmcclin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear linmcclin,
Thank you for writing your review and thank you for such a good mark. I was delighted to hear you enjoyed our hotel and time in Dublin. We hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back at Central hotel in near future. For special room type and reduced rate please contact hotel directly at info@centralhotel.ie.
Kind regards,
Isobel Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Family and I stayed in the hotel in June this year. The hotel is very nice, very well located, bang opposite temple bar area, so good place to chill out in the evening. Close to tourist bus stop and dublin castle.

Had two rooms, one room had separate seating area and separate bedroom, connected by a small passage which had the bathroom. That room was a little cramped, not too much space to move around. Other room was a large room. Oddly there were two beds, one of which was a queen and the other single.

Bathroom is the first issue, large bathrooms but water pressure in the shower is very bad. I mean it was trickle at best. The hot and cold was a little confusing, you have to press a little button to move the knob and play around with it for a bit before you can get the ideal temp. But without adequate water pressure, it was too much effort for not really an enjoyable shower. shower area is a bathtub with sliding doors, have to duck to get out, hit my head once.

elevators are a little creaky, buttons pressed dont illuminate so you dont know if you have pressed them or not. No one to carry bags in case needed. At least it didnt look like it.

Receptionist was little stand offish, though the other was very helpful. the first one was adamant about some issue we had with the shower, basically telling us that we werent doing it right or just didnt know how things work. Turns out we were on the money. TV was tiny and too far away, wasnt catching the remote's signal. It was as big as a computer screen mounted on the wall.

Fire alarm went off in the middle of the night. Ill have to give it credit that it did wake us up. But no one was around or directing people or letting people know what was happening. Ten mins in , it stopped, still no one knew what was going on until someone finally had to go down and ask. Turns out it was a fire in the restaurant next door, which triggered the alarm in the hotel.

To summarize, location is perfect for sightseeing, didnt eat there so cant comment on the food, though it looked good. Bar is reputed to be very good as well. Service could be improved but most of all little things like water pressure, shower area, tv if improved could make a very good, cozy stay in ireland.

Room Tip: because its close to the temple bar area, some nights can get a little loud, so any street facing ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Indiapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear Indiapilot,
Thank you for taking time to write detailed review.We apologize for problem with shower and alarm which wake you up. Whatever you need you can always give a call to reception, we have a porters who could help you with the luggage. We hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back at Central hotel in near future. For special room type and reduced rate please contact hotel directly at info@centralhotel.ie.
Kind regards,
Isobel Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Great location, comfortable room, and water pressure! Certainly the best thing about the hotel is its central location, with short level walks to a lot of Dublin attractions in either direction. Restaurants of various quality are abundant in the immediate area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RizaJ_731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear RizaJ_731,
Thank you for writing your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in Dublin and Central Hotel and hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. For reduced rate please contact hotel directly at info@centralhotel.ie.
Kind regards,
Isobel Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The primary purpose of a hotel is to offer a place to sleep with safety and cleanliness as benefits. The Central Hotel can only offer safety and cleanliness. Sleep on Fridays - Sunday nights is non existent due to the pub at the end of Dame Alley hosting outdoor concerts and parties until 3:30 a.m. Added to this was the horn playing troubadour pacing beneath our windows tooting out versions of "Happy Birthday," "Tequila!" and "Seven Nation Army" ad nauseum seeking spare change from the party goers. When the party ended, he left. Hotel staff claimed they couldn't do anything about him. Closing our window was not an option because there is no AC in the room and the hotel doesn't have enough fans to distribute to everyone. Trust me, there aren't earplugs big enough to drown out the noise. And 3:30 a.m. is about the time the sun starts to rise, so any type of sleep just isn't going to happen.

Other cons:

1) Yes, they offer off site laundry services BUT the turnaround time is 2 days (despite the "same day" service advertised on the laundry ticket) and our clean clothing was LITERALLY STUFFED BACK INTO THE PLASTIC BAG! I was speechless when I saw the bag on our bed. I mean, the clothes smelled of laundry detergent but were a wrinkled mess!

2) The only complimentary toiletries are bottles of liquid hand soap and liquid bath wash/shampoo (which looked just like the liquid hand soap) affixed to the walls. The lack of complimentary toiletries typically isn't an issue with our family and we're not grabby/greedy people seeking freebies but this particular vacation had us packing very light and not checking bags at the airport, so we were relying on access to those small bottles so that we could keep within the 3-1-1 ratio required at airport security.

3) No wash cloths. You get a pair of bath sheets, a pair of bath towels and 1 floor mat.

4) Neither the hot pot nor the desk lamp worked in our room.

The pro is the central location and if the pub down the street isn't hosting a party then the Central Hotel (location & noise wise) would be fine for a quick overnight stay. Grafton Street and its high end boutiques is a quick walk and a Dunnes supermarket is conveniently across the street -- so you can buy more toiletries -- that you'll just have to toss out at the airport because they exceed the 1 oz limit.

Room Tip: Don't stay on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LauraMOAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear LauraMOAustin_TX,
Thank you for taking time to write your your review. As a hotel in city centre we are dealing with noise issue as much as we can, but since it is centre it is hard to control what is happening on the streets. We are sorry you didn't have enough complimentary toiletries, if you had just give a call to the reception you will get more of it. We hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back at Central hotel in near future. For special room type and reduced rate please contact hotel directly at info@centralhotel.ie.
Kind regards,
Isobel Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Central Hotel is indeed central. It's within walking distance of most (all?) the Dublin attractions. However, the proximity to Temple Bar means you'll hear the crowd on the street all night. That said, if you're on the street, that's not a concern. I'd probably recommend something a little less central for a better night's sleep. Also, the young lady at the front desk pointed us to the actual Guinness brewery (which you cannot enter) instead of the Guinness storehouse (which you can), which meant we walked around the entire brewery (which is gigantic) before finding the Storehouse. I admit, this is partially our fault, but still.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isobelboyle, Front Office Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Dear John P,
Thank you for writing your review.. There are few rooms not facing the street, so I recommend to request one of them for your next stay. We hope to have a pleasure of welcoming you back at Central hotel in near future. For special room type and reduced rate please contact hotel directly at info@centralhotel.ie.
Kind regards,
Isobel Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,059 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,556 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,497 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £90 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing