We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

My girlfriend and I walked into the hotel and we were able to book a room for 3 nights. Everything about the hotel was great. We had a nice big room with a large bathroom. Housekeeping was great as the room was always spotless. The front desk clerk, I never did get her name, but she was an asia woman, was very very helpful.

The breakfast was top notch!!! The location was fantastic! We are going back to Ireland in March and we will stay there again. We had a great expirence.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the hotel.
  • Disliked — The smell of cooking on the secon floor.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank felonyevader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    352
    198
    73
    77
See reviews for
159
262
94
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2008

My room was okay but my colleague's room was above the street where the noise kept him awake until 5am.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — The noise. Horrendous.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colm_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2008

We spent there 3 nights this september, we liked it much. Location is excellent, nearly everything is reachable on foot, including the Airlink bus station as well, which is located quite near.
We luckily had a larger room (maybe a suite) on the 3rd level from S.Geoges St. side, really no trouble with noise, however I can imagine that lower levels on the Exchequers St. side would not have been so pleasant. Anyway the hotel is quite big, try to contact and book directly, and ask for a room on a higher level possibly on the Georges street side.

Our suite was refurbished a couple of years ago (different to the photoes, I will try to enclose some new ones) , was clean and in a good condition. Bathroom was enormous and clean.

The hotel has a lovely bar on the first floor. Hotel staff was nice, breakfast was the same as everywhere, we had really no problems.

A reasonable choice, value for money. We would go back next time as well.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2008

This hotel is in a great location, My room was really nice but my friends room was very outdated.

Once the full hotel has been refurbished it will be great.

  • Liked — The Bar
  • Disliked — The view
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mymemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

Central Hotel is as the name suggests Central, its slap bang in the middle of Dublin, so you’re right there!

Rooms was great clean large and well maintained, massive choice of TV English language TV stations.

The bar was a bit grubby round the edges but I like'd that, I'm not into clinical bars I love atmosphere and this bar had tons!

Breakfast was ok, not brilliant but sufficient, Bacon Sausage Egg Toast etc.

Staff were good and mostly Eastern European of origin.

As few reviews have stated, street noise can be a problem I would suggest 3 course of action:

1. Get a room 3rd floor or higher
2. Get as much Guinness, Bushmills Whiskey or Jamison Whiskey down your neck as possible (That’s what I did)
3. Get ear plugs.

Any of the above will ensure a brilliant nights sleep!

I fully intend to stay here again this hotel has character and history!

Cead mile failte!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Donegore43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

We had heard that the hotel was noisy but as our stay was Tuesday to Thursday we thought it might not be so bad. We were wrong. If you are planning to go to Dublin and drink until the wee hours of the morning then this is the hotel for you. After the pubs let out there are crowds of people in the streets yelling and singing until 3 am. Our room was at the "quiet end" . Our second room was over a club that was so noisy you felt like you were in the club itself and sleep was impossible.

The staff were friendly and surprised when we mentioned the noise?The rooms were clean and updated. The rest of the hotel is dated but charming. Breakfast was not great. The location cannot be beat, close to everything. So if you are in Dublin for a pub crawl, or plan to stay up really late The Central Hotel is for you. Otherwise find somewhere else.

  • Liked — proximity
  • Disliked — The noise at night cannot be overstated
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Leeandmarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2008

I come to ireland every year and found this hotel on google as my other hotel was full.
Check in staff were helpful and very friendly, check in took no time and we were able to check in early.
The room was big and facing the street, a little noise but it is a city center hotel you will get that in every city! bathroom was nice and the shower was hot, all good to me!
Breakfast was nice loads of food and we came down late and was still able to get breakfast, staff very nice.
the bar was nice and service brill! another review said there was no res bar but we were able to get drinks till late on the second night!
Central it is it is close to EVERYTHING! what more would you want we loved this hotel and are deff coming back!

  • Liked — the staff and location and the hotel lets say everything
  • Disliked — sorry loved everything
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Msddub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#114 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#79 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
The Clarence
#44 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing