We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I thought”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #92 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Leeds Yorks England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I thought”
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Agree with fellow reviewer noise is terrible I booked with bookasist and during the booking process it asked if you had any requests. After looking at reviews on Trip Advisor before I left I asked for high up quiet room.
I got totally opposite 3rd of 4th floors and a din from some club so loud could not sleep till after 5am.
Complained next morning and moved to better room but no discount for poor room. So no one saw my request or ignored it.
Breakfast average nothing to really praise.
Best part was the bar, but with guiness at nearly £5 per pint time to come home

  • Liked — The Bar
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank reviewur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    356
    206
    74
    78
See reviews for
162
263
95
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We have just returned from one night's stay at this hotel and it is excellent value for money. The room was was huge, really comfy beds and clean. The breakfast was lovely and the staff friendly and welcoming.

The only draw back with this hotel was there was aerobics classes held in one of the meeting rooms directly below our room (214) and it was very noisey, we almost felt like there was a nightclub underneath us.

We wouldn't recommend taking children to this hotel as there was no way of locking the windows and you could open them right up with no security mechanism.

  • Liked — Value for money and location
  • Disliked — The noise from aerobics classes held in hotel
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 230380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

The main draw of this hotel is its location, situated a minute from temple bar, grafton street, trinity college and dublin castle. It was ok, the beds were comfy and the rooms were very clean and the staff were efficient, friendly and extremely helpful.

We didn't have any problems with noise from the street even though we slept with the window open some nights, we were on the third floor so perhaps it is better to be higher up.

We arrived early (at 10am) and asked if our room could be made available, it couldn't but the manager moved us to one that could and it was really small (we later found out the smallest one in the hotel, usually part of an inter-connecting master suite) we had no bath so be sure to ask for one if that's important to you.

I was going to review this hotel 4/5 for the location but there were just so many little niggly things that were wrong, for example: no ceiling lights and no lamp on the desk making it very difficult for my boyfriend to work. Breakfast did not contain any choice, only full irish or cereal, no fresh juice, no fruit/yoghurt/pastries, not even any fried eggs! There were no toiletries provided in the bathroom, if you wanted them you had to go down to reception. It took them ages to check us in as I hadn't brought a credit card and they made me pay up front for all three nights.

None of these complaints are major and as we paid only 207 euros for a three night stay we felt we still had value for money. If you are looking for somewhere central with a comfy bed then this hotel is perfect but it is not luxurious and the breakfast and room service menus are pretty poor.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank annawellgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

My girlfriend and I walked into the hotel and we were able to book a room for 3 nights. Everything about the hotel was great. We had a nice big room with a large bathroom. Housekeeping was great as the room was always spotless. The front desk clerk, I never did get her name, but she was an asia woman, was very very helpful.

The breakfast was top notch!!! The location was fantastic! We are going back to Ireland in March and we will stay there again. We had a great expirence.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the hotel.
  • Disliked — The smell of cooking on the secon floor.
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank felonyevader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2008

My room was okay but my colleague's room was above the street where the noise kept him awake until 5am.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — The noise. Horrendous.
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colm_Br
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

We spent there 3 nights this september, we liked it much. Location is excellent, nearly everything is reachable on foot, including the Airlink bus station as well, which is located quite near.
We luckily had a larger room (maybe a suite) on the 3rd level from S.Geoges St. side, really no trouble with noise, however I can imagine that lower levels on the Exchequers St. side would not have been so pleasant. Anyway the hotel is quite big, try to contact and book directly, and ask for a room on a higher level possibly on the Georges street side.

Our suite was refurbished a couple of years ago (different to the photoes, I will try to enclose some new ones) , was clean and in a good condition. Bathroom was enormous and clean.

The hotel has a lovely bar on the first floor. Hotel staff was nice, breakfast was the same as everywhere, we had really no problems.

A reasonable choice, value for money. We would go back next time as well.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TC_Jr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2008

This hotel is in a great location, My room was really nice but my friends room was very outdated.

Once the full hotel has been refurbished it will be great.

  • Liked — The Bar
  • Disliked — The view
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mymemory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#113 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#81 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,209 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Priceline, Hotels.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing