We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in Dublin”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #102 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I'd booked a deluxe room for 4 nights but on arrival was given a standard room, which was small and the windows were filthy. I complained and was told the hotel was full. After kicking up a bit of a fuss, I was given a deluxe room. I didn't get a wink of sleep as there were noisy deliveries to the shops in the street below going on virtually all night long. I'm moving out and won't be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmlml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

695 - 701 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2009

You really can't find a more central location--the name says it all. If you are a light sleeper, expect to be awakened when the the area pubs close in the early a.m. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were on the small side. Bottom line: well situtated, but noisy.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank island_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in March, having booked via the bookassist website. The room was ready when we arrived but was small with a tiny bathroom. The bar was lovely though impossible to get a seat. The worst faults were that there was only lukewarm water from our desperately underpowered shower, the hairdryer only blew cold air. The breakfast was a wet buffet style affair with rubbery sausages and the trays only came out sporadically with fresh(er) food. Not an 'irish full breakfast'! Very dissapointed. There was also no information in the room with regards to breakfast times, room service (non existant) etc!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J_W_HUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2009

After reading the reviews online i emailed the hotel saying that i am interested in staying. But i have heard some rooms are smaller and noiser than others could they provide me with a room that was one of the biggest and least noisey.
I had a very prompt response saying that she would upgrade me to a suite and that the hotel is not noisy (or something along those lines) and include breakfast. This was a wednesday to wednesday trip including breakfast for 800euros.
when we arrived in our room (second floor 215) we were pleased good size room and huge bathroom. Although i was expecting one of the newer look rooms. This room was noisey in the evenings and the shop across the road had a very sqeaky door! The streets must of had 4 rubbish collections a DAY including early in the morning and late at night. We seemed to always be in the room when they came to clean it which varied alot so trying to be out a certain time was out of the question. The staff were very friendly especially the lady (isobel) i dealt with to book the room. She rang me because i didnt want to send my card details via email. Breakfast was a choice of tea or coffee and toast brought to your table. Fruit juice, cereal and cooked items to help yourself to like scramble eggs and hash brown. The hotel did feel lovely and grand a little spoilt by laundry bags hanging around alot of the time. GREAT area. Lots of close by things to do we walked to the Guinness store house and a frequent bus very near to the Zoo. Shops every where you turn from the hotel and the leffey is less then 5 minutes walk away. We found local restaurants very expensive with most mains around 20euros so fallon&byrne a restaurant/food market was great. You could pick out some bangers and mash and they will heat it up and seal it for you to take away or you can eat in which costs a bit more. The hotel had a computer which you could pay 1euro for 8 minutes not cheap but just enough time to check emails and not leave the hotel! All in all the best way to sum up is 50/50. We went for a nice break the loctaion meant me didnt have to spend money on traverling and everything was at arms length. But we were not there to party so the noise really spoilt our relaxed hoilday.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank THE2EXPLORERSSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Paid only 50 euros for a double midweek in Feb with a decent breakfast thrown in. Dublin is now ridiculously expensive for Brits with the near 1: 1 strength of the euro against the pound - 5 euros for a Guinness, 6 for a pack of sandwiches, 10 for an Irish breakfast. But the hotel was a bargain. It's slap bang in the centre a block from Trinity College, has a nice library bar and newly reburbished rooms.

Taking note of previous reviews, we asked for when booking and got a fourth floor room. Was worth doing as there was thumping music coming from somewhere as we arrived back around midnight. Couldn't hear any of it from the room. Thoroughly recommend with that proviso.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2009

Agree with fellow reviewer noise is terrible I booked with bookasist and during the booking process it asked if you had any requests. After looking at reviews on Trip Advisor before I left I asked for high up quiet room.
I got totally opposite 3rd of 4th floors and a din from some club so loud could not sleep till after 5am.
Complained next morning and moved to better room but no discount for poor room. So no one saw my request or ignored it.
Breakfast average nothing to really praise.
Best part was the bar, but with guiness at nearly £5 per pint time to come home

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reviewur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2009

We have just returned from one night's stay at this hotel and it is excellent value for money. The room was was huge, really comfy beds and clean. The breakfast was lovely and the staff friendly and welcoming.

The only draw back with this hotel was there was aerobics classes held in one of the meeting rooms directly below our room (214) and it was very noisey, we almost felt like there was a nightclub underneath us.

We wouldn't recommend taking children to this hotel as there was no way of locking the windows and you could open them right up with no security mechanism.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 230,380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,589 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#72 of 150 in Dublin
1,079 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
992 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Trinity City Hotel
#48 of 150 in Dublin
3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £79 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing