We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #92 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My second home”
Reviewed 14 June 2009

First time I stayed in the Central Hotel I had a (cold and noisy) room on the street. So, when I had to sleep again in Dublin (I go there often for work), I looked for another hotel. After two unsuccessful attemps, I returned to the Central Hotel and asked for a quiet room. The staff was very helpful and gave me a room on the 4th floor, on the back: quiet and warm!

The hotel is very clean (for the European standards, that is it is spotless for the Irish and UK standards...), in a central location, has an excellent Irish breakfast (ok, the coffee isn't italian expresso, obviously!), free wireless connection, helpful staff... I return there everytime I have to go to Dublin.

Just a hint: write an Email directly to the hotel to book, usually they can do good rates.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    356
    206
    74
    78
See reviews for
162
263
95
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2009

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is in a great location (right off of the main shopping and dinning streets). Plus there is a grocery store right across the street-very convenient if you are planning on packing a lunch for the day. The inside common areas are well decorated, although you can tell the building needs a little tlc. The room was smaller than what we expected, but then again everything outside the US is going to be smaller. There are no screens in the window, and it was very hot when we were there. We had to keep the window open all day/night and it was noisy, but again, with the location being right in the middle of a popular area that is to be expected. The Library Bar (in the hotel) is really beautiful and a great place to start your evening. Breakfast was a standard buffet with eggs, beans, bacon, tomatoes, and sausage, along with toast and cereal. We booked online and had our breakfast included so I can't really comment on the price if you had to pay for it in addition. All of the staff was really friendly and helpful (they even spent time online looking up directions to the Harley Dealership for us and brought the info up to our room). I guess the only negative comments would be the size of the room, the noise, and the paint in the bathroom ceiling was peeling. If you're not too fussy and want to be able to be close by to great shopping and dinning I would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank modernmcgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2009

I was truly amazed by it's location, everything can be done by foot. Also, room was big enough for one and all necessities were provided. Was on the 4th floor on the interior side and had no problem with noise. All was good. Breakfast was excellent, a warm meal in the morning with eggs, sausagesm, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, hash browns, toasts and cereals. And a service of packing of lunch is available by request, nothing bets that! A grocery is located in front for those who wants to spend less for lunches, also a finer grocery with prepared meals is two doors down and the reheat the food on request so nice way to eat in your room for less than 10 euros for a meal. Service was prompt in hotel and very professional. Library bar is quite crowded in the end of the week... but you can order your drinks and bring it to your room, again a big plus, when you want to relax! I would recommend this place to all for it's really central and good quality/price.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flashover28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2009

Central Hotel Dublin is in the heart of Dublin. The rooms are beautifully done, a little tight in the double rooms but very modern and clean. The hotel has an amazing little library bar and offers an excellent breakfast. Many things are within walking distance including the famous Temple Bar area, Dublin Castle, Dublin Tourist Centre, and St. Patrick’s Cathedral. The Guinness brewery is slightly further but worth the walk or 10- 15 Euro taxi ride. There are plenty of restaurants in the area but the hotel offers a 10% discount at their own restaurant. Ironing facilities available.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChelseaYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cmlml
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2009

I'd booked a deluxe room for 4 nights but on arrival was given a standard room, which was small and the windows were filthy. I complained and was told the hotel was full. After kicking up a bit of a fuss, I was given a deluxe room. I didn't get a wink of sleep as there were noisy deliveries to the shops in the street below going on virtually all night long. I'm moving out and won't be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmlml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Thousand Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

You really can't find a more central location--the name says it all. If you are a light sleeper, expect to be awakened when the the area pubs close in the early a.m. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The rooms were on the small side. Bottom line: well situtated, but noisy.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank island_rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

We stayed for 2 nights in March, having booked via the bookassist website. The room was ready when we arrived but was small with a tiny bathroom. The bar was lovely though impossible to get a seat. The worst faults were that there was only lukewarm water from our desperately underpowered shower, the hairdryer only blew cold air. The breakfast was a wet buffet style affair with rubbery sausages and the trays only came out sporadically with fresh(er) food. Not an 'irish full breakfast'! Very dissapointed. There was also no information in the room with regards to breakfast times, room service (non existant) etc!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_W_HUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#73 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 990 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#113 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,240 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#82 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing