We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely staff, bar with great character, liked decor very much.”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Service very polite and friendly. Room nice, bit warm, very noisy in the middle AM from local Night Club. Hot tap very slow so no possibility of a bath. Would prefer hand-held shower head. Excellent location for nice restaurants and shopping, especially as we could leave our luggage there when going out to shop ! Terrific value, will definately be back. Loved the old decor, pictures and furniture. Keep up the good work. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaterfordCailin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are really glad that you liked our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back tothe Central Hotel DUblin again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

644 - 650 of 917 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2010

stayed one night, bang in centre of dublin. room clean.

reception friendly, recommended Indian restaurant which gives 10% discount.

for the price excellent

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Management Representaive at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thanks for your review. We get discounts for our guests at lots of places around the city so please feel free to ask for any advise you need from our knowledgeable team.
We are glad that you enjoyed your meal and your stay at the cental Hotel Dublin. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

Just to say that i found the service great as the Sales Manager sent a cheque back to my home address within two days of my stay there. Rooms were very clean and the place is very central.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Management Representative at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank you so much for your review. It is our company policy to post back any lost and found items to their rightful owners. We are reallly glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We had a pleasant stay at this hotel. Our room was very cozy. Our only problems were the shower it didnt have much pressure and the hair dryer fell off the wall. What i liked mostly was how central it was.. had everything we needed on our doorstep.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennna26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Management Representative at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2010

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and have looked into the maintenance issues you discussed.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the central Hotel Dublin again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2010

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in. Unacceptable bass noise levels from the club downstairs continue untill 3.30am most nights. This is NOT the street noise they mention but something far more intrusive and annoying. Over a period of three nights I managed to sleep for approximately 4hrs. The Hotel management should make this information available online when they advertise the hotel.
This would allow normal people who require sleep and are paying for that facility to make an informed decision.
The reservations manageress Isobel Boyle also refuses to refund my money. I have been ripped off. Do not stay here if you require any sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jamestd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Management representative at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2010

Thank you for writing your review. We welcome all reviews - even the negative ones ! We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay. There is a nightclub next door to our hotel and it can be noisy at the weekends. We have made representations to the management and to Dublin city council in relation to this but im afraid this is completely out of our hands. We do send out a mail to every client who books with us asking them to inform us if they are light sleepers and we allocate them a room away from the noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

This hotel wouldn't even discuss a refund for 4 nights due to my flight being cancelled by the volcanic ash cloud. They made my money and someone elses. Just poor business.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ramblinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Management representative at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2010

Thanks for writing your review.
Our policy on the volcanic eruption is as follows,
For all flexible rates, we have reduced that cancellation policy to 24 hours so please contact us within 24 of your expected arrival to ensure no cancellation charge. Im sure most people will know the day before whether they will arrive or not.
For all prepaid non flexible / no cancellation reservations, we will on this one occasion allow guests a credit for the money paid against a future reservation. We do ask however that you let us know if you are not going to arrive. We have no idea whether guests are coming by road, sea, train, bus or air so we will hold all reservations until such a time as we are told not to by guests. I would also like to point out that a lot of already struggling hotels have lost a lot of revenue due to this volcanic eruption. We must charge for clients who do not have the courtesy to call us and let us know they will not arrive as we have held that room for them. If you call, we will do our best to resell the room and avoid any charge to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2010

The room and bathroom were very clean. Little noise in the Saturday night (the Pub is close to hotel), but it wasn't too noisy. It was ok. Well that's a price when You want to stay in the city centre :)
I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssonia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Management Representative at The Central Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2010

Thank you very much for writing such a nice review. We love to get feedback from our clients and were delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Central Hotel Dublin again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 150 in Dublin
1,049 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#117 of 150 in Dublin
411 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,191 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
2,332 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#91 of 150 in Dublin
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £104 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing