We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miserable”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #102 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 15 May 2007

It was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in.
The hotel room was small, dark and the furnishings were old.
The shower was so small that I was stunned! The only nice thing was the Library Bar.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chauncey61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (924)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

739 - 745 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2007

We were concerned about booking this Hotel after reading some of the reviews but it's location was perfect being close to Dublin castle for the concert we were going to. With Temple Bar just round the corner and within easy walking distance of O'Connell Street everything was very accessible. We were given a lovely large room with a proper king size bed (not singles pushed together!) and the bathroom even had his 'n' hers sinks and a raised Jacuzzi bath with shower over. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would willingly stay there again and the size of the room (with a walk in wardrobe off it ) would also make it suitable for longer stays. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: May 2007
6  Thank TravelOtters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2007

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone - very small, shabby and noisy bedrooms. Bar downstairs smelly and dirty - although parts of the hotel were airy and clean it was the bedrooms that let it down - bedrooms totally in need of a refurbishment. The breakfast room was light and airy and the breakfast was okay, even though this was served on small side plates.
Not good value for money. Would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LorettaOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2007

This was a lovely hotel to stay in and very good value. It is a little bit shabby but the friendly staff and enormous ensuite rooms more than made up for it. It is in a great location, on a very attractive street near some of the best places to go in Dublin. We were all very impressed by the breakfast which was included in the price and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Zebedeeza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2007

Arrived in Dublin to Ashling hotel, had to check out as this hotel was appalling and found the Central Hotel. What a difference, clean, very friendly staff, right in the heart of the city. Food and drinks were excellent. The room (322) was amazing with a separate wardrobe and huge 4 poster bed and a Jacuzzi you could fit 6 in. I am astounded by other negative reports, and can only give this hotel our praise highest .We will be back

11  Thank liverpoolmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2007

On my stay on Central Hotel Ireland it was almost perfect. They treated me like I was a Queen, which I really A'm. They brought me breakfast in the morning. They even offer me at noon lunch and that if everything was okay. In the afternoon they offer me if I didn't what any chapaine. I had no problem with nobody the staff was so great that I would like to go back and stay there with them. Me and my Bestfriend Jessica were satisfied with the services that wayne provided us with.


Thank You for everthing

Maria & Jessica

  • Stayed: January 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank bettyboop6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2006

Booked in for one night. The lights in the room did not work. The hot water pipes emited what looked like sewage- I'm not joking. Booked straight out. Very Very low standard. Cost €75 per night so not that cheap.. Avoid.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank sfag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
1,059 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,553 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,496 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Mercantile Hotel
#116 of 151 in Dublin
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: £92 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing