We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in Dublin”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Dublin”
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Really loved the Central Hotel, it has character and located in the middle of it all. The bar was a real treat and we met some wonderful people there. The staff were the best iv met and the manager could not be faulted. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. Its clean and comfortable and walking distance from everywhere that is good in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruth72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Its always nice to get positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    360
    208
    77
    84
See reviews for
164
268
99
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I was suprised that the rooms here were so nice, The old world charm of the rest of the Hotel , which is lovely, led me to expect fairly basic rooms. I was wrong.. the room we had was on the top floor and was luxurious with King sized bed and modern coffee / mocha colours. It also had a great rooftop view of that part of Dublin. One other mention for the Bar, which is a gem. The breakfast was only basic though, but we will def. go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiCooperSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Have stayed in this hotel several times. Love the Library bar-like sitting in a very elegant living room with friends! Booked a suite this time-room was fantastic with features of bygone times. Lovely floor to ceiling windows, huge bathroom and dressing room separate. Jacuzzi bath was luxurious. Love the atmosphere here at Christmas. Location perfect-off Grafton Street and 'round the corner' from Temple Bar.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Thank you for your review. Its always lovely to get positive feedback. We appreciate all of your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Central Hotel Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

The location is great but that's about the only good thing I can say. Problems included: a frazzled and disinterested front-desk staff; a small lukewarm shower; bedsheets felt like they were 25 threadcount; thin walls so you will certainly wake up if your neighbors are feeling amorous; noise from the hallway at all hours; random people in the building to/from the library bar made me feel less than safe.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyWithNoBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value all feedback. We are sorry to hear that you felt our staff were disinterested. If you could contact us with the exact dates of your stay, we will look into it for you. We hire our linen from an accredited linen company and it adhears to the highest of standards. We are housed within a listed building and we are aware that noise travels. We feel that the age of the building and its decor add to the ambience and experience staying in the hotel gives. Our library bar has won many awards and is considered one of the finest hotel bars in Dublin.
Security is not an issue in our building as we have 24 hour survelience. You really did not need to feel less then safe in our hotel because you were not unsafe at any point .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Centrally located in Grafton Street area, the Central Hotel with its historic charme is fabulous! Rooms are very small but do feature everything you need for a short stay of two or three nights, including wi-fi internet. Major attraction is of course the Library Bar on the first floor with a lot of atmosphere. Room rates were surprisingly reasonable considering that you can hardly find a more downtown hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkdklmpsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your feedback. As we are located in a listed building, our rooms differ in shape and size, some are smaller and some are extemely large. If you are returning to Dublin, please contact us in advance and request a large room. We will have no problem facilitating you as most of the rooms we have are large.
We offer free Wi Fi to all of our clients as we feel it is essential to keep in touch with home when you are travelling.
Once again thanks for your review. It is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2010

Was extremely disappointed with the staff at this hotel when during one of the -6 degree nights in Dublin the hotel suffered a power outage that manged shut down not only the heat but the hot water also, for the whole night! After being told at 5pm it would be back in 20mins then not having it all night, needless to say we were extremely disappointed. My elderly mother spent the night wearing every single piece of clothing she had and buried under a mountain of blankets.

When complaining to management the next morning and asking for some sort of discount/refund/voucher we were sternly told it wasn't their problem or issue it was ESB and we didn't understand 'what they're like'. While I can understand situations happen if I had been told at 5pm it would be off all night I would have arranged alternative accomodation for my parents at least.

Oh and while checking out we also heard the manager discussing how the power had been on and off for days.. if I'd known there was even a chance of having no heat or hot water there's no way I would have booked the room!

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank wombath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We had a power outage on one evening during December which I think is the incident you are referring to. It was an isolated incident and was a result of a cable on the street, on which we are housed, being severed during excavation work by a body unrelated to this hotel.

Every business on our street and in our block was affected. The Power went at 5pm and came back on fully at 8pm approximately. We did have intermittent power during that time.

During the outage, we were liasing with The ESB (Electricity Supply Board) who gave us updates on estimated times of resupply which was the information which was passed onto our guests. Unfortunately, our hot water pumps run on electricity so they were out of commission during this time also, causing a break in our supply of hot water.

Our heating system runs on gas so it was not affected at any time and the heating remained operational during the entire evening.

We remember the two clients in Question who I believe were your parents (You live in Dublin I believe) your father mentioned the incident on check out. He did not ask for any discount and as far as we were aware understood that this incident was outside of our control.

We had a visit from the owner of a bookshop on the corner the following morning while your dad was at the counter and he enquired as to how long the power was off for. At no point was it stated that the power was on and off for days. It was not on and off for days, this was an isolated incident.

We are sorry that your parents were without power during this time and would be happy to offer them a complimentary room for their next visit to Dublin. Please contact me directly to reserve this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2010

I have stayed in this hotel a number of times and the rooms have been greatly improved. The staff have always been very friendly & helpful. This time i was very disappointed with the breakfast, when i asked for porridge, and expressed some surprise that it not on the menu. i was told it would take 15mins to prepare, that was not a problem. I then asked for some fruit and was pointed in the direction of the fruit juice and i expressed some surprise at there being no fruit for breakfast. A member of the dining room staff was not so happy with me complaining and was amazed at me not being happy with the breakfast. it was poor value in relation to other 3* hotels in the city

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cycle-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Thank you for writing your review.
We offer a very extensive Breakfast menu and are happy to oblige where possible. We are sorry that you did not get everything you wanted and will pass on your comments to the Food and Beverage team.
Once again, that you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Mercantile Hotel
#115 of 151 in Dublin
403 reviews
Dublin Citi Hotel
#76 of 151 in Dublin
1,018 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,288 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#88 of 151 in Dublin
567 reviews
Temple Bar
Parliament Hotel
Parliament Hotel
#84 of 151 in Dublin
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing