We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total letdown, DO NOT say in room 307. no Irish breakfast, but charged in advance and not told”
Review of The Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Central Hotel
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Total letdown, DO NOT say in room 307. no Irish breakfast, but charged in advance and not told”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

Stayed at the Central Hotel overnight with my husband on an aniversary night out in Dublin. We researched lots of hotels and thought the location, reviews and price of the hotel were highly rated so we were on to a winner. What a terrible let down. As we had seen on reviews that some of the rooms were small and some large, we specifically asked for a larger room and a quiet one if at all possible (knowing it's cicty centre). We were very dissapointed to find that a (gorgeous) superking size bed and a single bed were squeezed in to our tiny room. There were about 8 inches between the wardrobe and the bed and my husband seriously stubbed his foot trying to get around it. Then we opened the curtain, which had no nets (privacy curtain) and with the light on in our room, it caught the attention of the guys in the office opposite and they looked right at us! We thought, it's not worth worrying about, even if it's annoying as it's only one night. We enjoyed a lovely drink the in the 1st floor cozy bar (curtains could do with a hoover!) and headed out for the night. When we came back loud thumping music played in what turned out was a nightclub downstairs until I eventually fell asleep at about 2.30am. So much for the request for quiet room! At 4am a sound that can only be described as a kango hammer went off in the bathroom. We were stunned and didn't know if it was an alarm or not. I rang reception and the guy who answered said ' oh that's the thermostat, it does that sometimes, I'll get it sorted'. We waited about 10 minutes and it was still the same so rang reception again, the guy said he didn't know why it didn't stop and I said that we had to move to another room. He could barely hear me with the noise. Eventually at 4.30 he arrived with a key to room 233. He did not show us where it was, it was even a floor lower and we had to wander around the hotel (a bit worse for the wear after a night out in Dublin) in our PJs hoping that we wouldn't bump in to someone. Guess what! the room was huge! Why couldn't we have had this type of room in the first place? We were wrecked after our terrible night but set our alarm to get up for breakfast as we had been really looking forward to it. We sat down in the breakfast room and the lady gave us our tea and coffee and informed us that the breakfast had changed to continental only. I was too tired to have a go (and she was so nice) that I actually laughed. She explained that the policy of this Dublin hotel was not to serve Irish Breakfasts anymore. I felt so sorry for her, as who every made this decision, obviously hasn't got a clue about Irish hospitality and left her to deal with angry guests, who I'm sure will not be back. She told us that she had a couple screaming at her only early that morning. What a way to ruin what could be a fabulous hotel!! The lady told us she would go to reception with us and get the breakfast bill taken off our bill as she had done for other people who had not been told about the change and had been charged in advance expecting what is standard in every other Irish hotel. The lady at the desk, who appeared to be maybe the owner? asked if we had been told about the change in policy and when we booked (only that week) and took the price of the breakfast off our bill. She asked for our room number and we told her about the noise and she said she had heard about it and that it was a problem with the heating in that room. She then gave us our total bill, which included the drinks at the bar and the price of the room. I was gobsmacked that she asked us to pay for the room! She had the cheek to say 'but we moved you!' and as I explained it was 4.30am and half of our stuff was in another half of the hotel. I said that I couldn't believe she was expecting us to pay and she just shrugged her shoulders and said 'fine'. We paid for our drinks. No proper apology was received, which really adds insult to injury. The hotel obviously knew that there had been a previous problem with the heating in the bathroom in 307, why put us in there, when it turns out half of the hotel was empty??? The only saving grace about the hotel is the amazing staff who work there, (except the night porter who obviously needs training and behaved looked like a duck out of water when it came to dealing with a problem). The rooms, in fairness were really clean and the linen was lovely, but our request for a larger/quieter room could easily have been met. It was laziness. Also, bring your own hair conditioner as none is supplied and I was told that the despenser in the shower was shower gel/shampoo and conditioner - now there's an invention! Also if you want to fill in the customer review form in the room, bring your own pencil as they don't supply anything like this in the room, as the lady said herself at the desk 'it's not that standard of hotel'.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandiebeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 21 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review through Tripadvisor. We welcome all feedback.
Room 307 is considered one of our quieter rooms but unfortunately, we had an issue with the pressure in our heating system causing the radiator to bang. We moved you to one of our available rooms (A Quad) as soon as we were notified of a problem. We would normally sell this larger room for 4 persons so that is why you weren’t allocated this room on check in.
Due to circumstances outside our control, our policy on breakfast changed for the month of February. We had a notification on our website and stopped selling breakfast online. We also informed any guests who had booked breakfast in advance. You would have been told upon booking that you were booking a continental breakfast but maybe our receptionist was not clear enough so if this is the case, we apologise.
We are glad that you found our product clean and suitable in every other aspect and note that you enjoyed your drink in the bar. We have addressed the issue with the heating in Room 307 and thank you once more for bringing it to our attention. We are sorry that you felt the room wasn’t large enough for you but we are a three star hotel (Bord Failte approved) and you received a triple room (Approved for three persons). We felt we were accommodating you in a larger room by allocating you this room.
The dispensers in our rooms have Shampoo / Shower gel in them. We don’t supply conditioner and never have. Our hotel runs on 95% occupancy so your comment that the hotel was half empty is factually incorrect.
Pens and pencils, should they be required, are available at reception for guest use along with writing paper and replacement toiletries. Should guests have a requirement for them during their stay, we are more then happy to deliver them to their rooms.
Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    359
    207
    76
    80
See reviews for
162
267
97
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

This is a good hotel in the centre of Dublin. In an excellent location close to Grafton Street, Temple Bar etc. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was OK as it was comfortable, but rather dark and the lighting arrangements could have been better. This may have been particular to our room though as friends rooms did not have this problem. Hotel was clean and the Library Bar was very nice. For the price we paid it was excellent value for money also.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherps03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We appreciate you taking the time to make it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The location of the hotel is great. Handy to Templebar and Graffton street etc but thats where the greatness ends. Breakfast was not bad if im to be honest.

My room was tiny and on the fourth floor. The hotel is an old building and whilst that needs to be appreciated, there are many older hotels in Ireland that simply aren't as tired as this one. Appearance is shabby and not shabby chic!

The main issue was noise at night. the bars below and at the side of the hotel were blasting music till the early hours. Im not old nor prudish but even on the fourth floor the noise levels were terrible. The hotel appears to appeal to big crowds of HEn and stag parties who also are happily fighting or singing in corridors in the early hours too (and management happy to let it happen).

All in all not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeamusBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our hotel was completely refurbished 2 years ago. We do experience on street noise from the street below but this is to be expected from such a city centre location. We do have some quiet rooms to the back of the hotel which we encourage light sleepers to request.
We have also invested in an upgrade to our windows which results in a 65% reduction in audable noise from outside.
We are housed in a listed building which has rooms of all sizes. If you are returning, please let us know that you would like a larger quieter room and we will ensure you are looked after.
once again, thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Really loved the Central Hotel, it has character and located in the middle of it all. The bar was a real treat and we met some wonderful people there. The staff were the best iv met and the manager could not be faulted. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone. Its clean and comfortable and walking distance from everywhere that is good in Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTruth72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely review. Its always nice to get positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2011

I was suprised that the rooms here were so nice, The old world charm of the rest of the Hotel , which is lovely, led me to expect fairly basic rooms. I was wrong.. the room we had was on the top floor and was luxurious with King sized bed and modern coffee / mocha colours. It also had a great rooftop view of that part of Dublin. One other mention for the Bar, which is a gem. The breakfast was only basic though, but we will def. go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkiCooperSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2011
Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to give us such positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Have stayed in this hotel several times. Love the Library bar-like sitting in a very elegant living room with friends! Booked a suite this time-room was fantastic with features of bygone times. Lovely floor to ceiling windows, huge bathroom and dressing room separate. Jacuzzi bath was luxurious. Love the atmosphere here at Christmas. Location perfect-off Grafton Street and 'round the corner' from Temple Bar.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bootskel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Thank you for your review. Its always lovely to get positive feedback. We appreciate all of your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back to the Central Hotel Dublin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2010

The location is great but that's about the only good thing I can say. Problems included: a frazzled and disinterested front-desk staff; a small lukewarm shower; bedsheets felt like they were 25 threadcount; thin walls so you will certainly wake up if your neighbors are feeling amorous; noise from the hallway at all hours; random people in the building to/from the library bar made me feel less than safe.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyWithNoBaggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrahotel, Public Relations Manager at The Central Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value all feedback. We are sorry to hear that you felt our staff were disinterested. If you could contact us with the exact dates of your stay, we will look into it for you. We hire our linen from an accredited linen company and it adhears to the highest of standards. We are housed within a listed building and we are aware that noise travels. We feel that the age of the building and its decor add to the ambience and experience staying in the hotel gives. Our library bar has won many awards and is considered one of the finest hotel bars in Dublin.
Security is not an issue in our building as we have 24 hour survelience. You really did not need to feel less then safe in our hotel because you were not unsafe at any point .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#74 of 151 in Dublin
1,002 reviews
Mercantile Hotel
#112 of 151 in Dublin
397 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#78 of 151 in Dublin
2,234 reviews
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,270 reviews
Temple Bar
Eliza Lodge
Eliza Lodge
#83 of 151 in Dublin
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Central Hotel

Property: The Central Hotel
Address: 1-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Central Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is in Dublin city centre, close to the bars, restaurants and shops. It mixes traditional charm with modern comforts, such as free Wi-Fi and en suite rooms. The Central Hotel is less than 500 metres from the bars and restaurants of Temple Bar and the shops of Grafton Street. Dublin Castle, Trinity College and Christ Church Cathedral are all a short walk away. The Central Hotel was built in 1887. The award-winning Library Bar is a great place to relax with a drink. The Exchequer offers beers, wines, cocktails and fresh, local food. The en suite rooms have TVs, telephones, hairdryers and tea/coffee. Hotel Rooms: 70. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Central Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing