We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location in Temple Bar. The hotel is welcoming & full of life without being loud. There are two bars. Buskers bar is lively and big, the bar in the hotel (can't remember the actual name)is small but lovely place for a quiet drink. We only had breakfast in the hotel, but it was a buffet with a great selection of food. However it was the only place we met a staff member who was a bit grumpy. This was only one person and all the other staff were helpful, efficient and friendly. Overall this is a great hotel & we will be returning again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jambex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Jambex,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we go to great lengths to ensure our guests enjoy it.

We pride ourselves in excelling in customer service and we usually receive great feedback on our staff.

I am sorry to hear that a member of staff did not meet you expectations and I will follow this up with the restaurant team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    801
    818
    362
    111
    80
See reviews for
279
842
140
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Just back from a 3 night midweek break at this hotel. Asked for quiet room and got room on 4th floor, had perfect nights sleep apart from some noisy guests one night! Room and beds comfy, food good, although only had one meal at hotel, everyone very helpful especially the reception staff who were very busy but made us feel welcome. Perfect location, ideally located for shopping, seeing the sights, catching airport buses and sight seeing tours. Temple Bar itself is a fascinating vibrant place with loads of places to eat, but glad to get back to the calm of the hotel and few cocktails from Buskers! Would def stay here again on our next visit. A Tesco opposite was useful for buying the things we forgot to take like toothpaste! We caught bus from airport to Trinity College cost 7 euros each, very comfy trip then when we bought sightseeing open air bus tickets got return trip and tour for 20 euros and bus stop just round corner. Worth shopping around for deals.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter, we had room on 4th floor at back of hotel and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tillymint29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Tillymint29,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and by the sounds of things you really made the most of it.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Myself and seven other ladies stayed here for my 40th birthday and had a fab time, hotel was spot on staff were very helpful and friendly rooms were great no complaints, it is on the best street in Dublin location is 100%, I am defiantly going to stay here again for the price and location you can't get better!!!!!!! And a big thank you to the hotel staff for leaving me a nice bottle of plonk and a birthday card in my room xxxx

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Annette N,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel.

I am delighted you chose to celebrate your birthday with us and I am glad you enjoyed your trip. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team.

I look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a stay at this hotel. Fab hotel. Staff friendly and more than helpful. Great breakfast deal and always plenty to eat. We ate at Buskers one lunch and the food was great. Spent two nights drinking in Buskers, so great to be able to walk straight into the hotel. Had room on first floor So there was some noise but that didnt bother us, you soon tuned out to it. Room was great size and cleaned everyday. Hotel offer taxi service to hotel for 23 euros-recommend this. Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone and the location is great.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Vikki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Dear Vikki C,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review.

We take great pride in our friendly staff and great location and I am glad this enhanced your stay. I will pass on your feedback to the rest of the team and I hope to see your back again soon.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed for a 3 night midweek break. By far the best feature of the hotel is the location, it is centrally located for almost all of Dublins attractions and shopping and next to bus stops for the airport and the 'hop on hop off' tours. Ideal for a first visit whilst finding your bearings in a new city.

Unfortunately the noise levels are a problem. It was not so much the music and the tourists having fun, this was expected in the tourist-centre of Dublin, it was the early morning deliveries and street cleaners, 4.45 am onwards! However, ear plugs were purchased on day two and did the trick for the rest of my visit.

The room was comfortable and the hotel bar (Buskers) was a great place to end each night. Hotel food was average, but there is really no need to eat there with several other options in close proximity, including breakfast.

Will I stay there again? Yes - as long as I have my ear plugs!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Squem,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with this.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise disturbance during your stay. Unfortunately due to our central location we are occasionally subject to some noise, however if you request a quiet room we will do our best to accommodate you on future stays.

I was very disappointed to hear that you found the food in the hotel to be average. We normally receive great feedback on our breakfast options and other food offerings.

Hopefully next time you stay with us you will experience this.

Warm Regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Tyrone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Very good hotel, central to everything. slap bang in middle of temple bar. good hotel bar with live bands in it every night. modern and spacious, rooms arnt as modern as exterior but nice ;)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caramcl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear Caramcl42,

Thank you for reviewing Temple Bar Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and made use of our central location.

I hope to see you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The location is good, and the breakfast buffet is not bad for the price. The room itself was rather small and pokey but clean, though the bathroom was cold. The room service could have been better. I called reception for an extra mug for my guest. After waiting 20 minutes I called again, after another 15 minutes an employee came with an ironing board :) after a third phone call to reception and another 10 minutes, the mug arrived! As long as I don't need an extra mug, though, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKExpatGhent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2012
Dear UKExpatGhent,

Thank you for reviewing Temple Bar Hotel.

My sincere apologies for the miscommunication you experienced during your stay with us. I will follow this is up with the team in question.

I hope to welcome you back to Temple Bar Hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager

Temple Bar, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
The Morgan
#36 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,690 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#63 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,318 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Lastminute, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing