We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would stay here again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I would stay here again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I know some people who are purists and say temple bar area is too touristy, and it is. If you are a first timer to Dublin, I think staying in Temple Bar Area is your best bet, and this is a great hotel in this area. The hotel has many amenities that were in important for me on this trip. Wifi is first, I found many parts of Dublin wifi challenged or weak, the signal here was strong and FREE . Rooms are modern and clean and the bathrooms are very good. They serve a decent Irish Breakfast and buffet which is included in your price and the coffee was excellent. There is a really good bar downstairs and if your a late night person a club as well. Last is the location, bad news about Temple bar area is it is full tourists, good news is it is walking distance to everything. Grafton street, Oconnel, Trinity, Nightlife, Buses, Tours. There is a Tesco across the street, if you want to save money and make sandwiches for the day or night. If you are traveling alone you are in a safe area at night . Area is noisy, with constant foot trafffic and late night drunks, so ask for an area of the hotel that is the most quiet.

Room Tip: Single rooms are good enough for two people
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NRichards64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
Dear NRichards64

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in temple bar hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel and its’ facilities.

At Temple Bar Hotel we pride ourselves on our central location and I am glad this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    786
    354
    110
    80
See reviews for
262
814
136
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Temple Bar Hotel for 3 nights (3 for the price of 2) and couldn't have stayed in a more central hotel. Centre of Temple Bar area with lots of bars and restaurants close by. We got the bus from the airport for €10 return which stopped at the top of the street. After reading previous reviews on Tripadvisor I asked for a room in a quiet part of the hotel when booking. We were put in room 305 which overlooked the inner part of the hotel with rooms opposite, not much of a view but we were never disturbed from any noise during our whole stay and spent most of our time out of the hotel anyway. Free wifi in the rooms was great, as was the free safe. Hotel kept our bags upon early arrival prior to our room being prepared and also on the last day so we could continue our sightseeing and one last Guinness before our flight home! All in all we had a great stay and would definitely return to Temple Bar Hotel again for future visits.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Molly666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Molly666,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letterkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

We got a room on the first floor at the back of the hotel. The room was freezing when we arrived but once we figured out the air conditioning it warmed up. The room was big and spacious with huge windows but the downside to it was that at night the smoking area for the nightclub is right outside the window and the club is right below the room so its really noisy until between 3-4am when the club finishes. Would ask for a room on higher floors and on the side of the hotel if we return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank melcharmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Steyed here for the weekend 3rd to 5th of August 2012.
Hotel is perfectly positioned for all the nightlife, in the center of the temple bar area. Has club Alchamay downstairs which is rated 1 of Dublins top nightclubs. Free entry to hotel guests before 12am.
Spacious rooms, clean and modern. Free wifi
Lobby is nice, friendly and welcoming staff.
Breakfast was good, its self service.
I would stay here again if returning to Dublin

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxdebbiexxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2012
Dear Debbie,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always wonderful to hear such positive feedback on the hotel facilities and staff.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
centerville, oh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Our University had 5 classes everyday at the Temple Bar Hotel.
Sinaed and Jenny and the rest of the staff were courteous, professional and went above and beyond to accommodate the many needs that we had! We will return to this wonderful hotel in the perfect location!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank reenCenterville_Oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Dear ReenCenterville_Oh,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review on your time in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive things about the staff and hotel facilities.

It was such a pleasure to have you, your colleagues and the students in the hotel and we are aleady looking forward to next year!

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hote
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

Great location, good sized rooms, clean and tidy hotel
we did not hear a peep from temple bar and enjoyed having everything on our door step!
We got the air coach it was not too far to walk to the stops.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flaunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear Flaunc

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent trip to Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

I like the hotel's location and the fact that breakfast was included but room 135 stinks of cigarette smoke. Despite it's central location near a club, even the room out back was relatively quiet and offered a good night's sleep.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank TomerBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Dear TomerBS,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on being one of Dublin’s most centrally located hotel and I am glad that our location enhanced your stay with us.

I was very disappointed to hear that you had issues with your room. We do have a limited number of smoking bedrooms located on the first floor of the hotel and our reception team makes every effort to assign these exclusively to those who request a smoking room. I apologise that this did not happen during your stay and I hope this didn’t cause much disturbance.

I hope to see you back in Temple Bar Hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#63 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,225 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing