We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bring ear plugs” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bring ear plugs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We spent our wedding anniversary in Dublin and had booked in this charming hotel. It was the perfect hotel, super rooms, a bit tatty (water damage not overpainted and the bathroom looked a bit old-fashioned.) The jaccuzi did not work. But the noice was unbearable at night. Ask for a room toward the back. The front too loud. Also, people in the hotel were very loud, slamming the doors, talking loudly on their way back to their rooms.
Next time another district, not Dublin's noisiest. But on a whole, it was charming,breakfast was super and rich and we had a great time. And yes, they did provide tea and coffee facilities as well in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room toward the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aetoma43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear aetoma43,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel.
First of all let us congratulate you on your wedding anniversary. Secondly, please accept our sincere apologies regarding noise you experienced. We do have inner courtyard rooms available that would not have noise from surrounding business around us. We would also like to thank you for your lovely comments about our breakfast and coffee facilities in the room.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to the Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    783
    354
    110
    80
See reviews for
261
813
136
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I stayed in room 221, Non Smoking, Triple. I would suggest a triple, the room is larger and comparable in price.

No view but that didn't matter. And yes, there was noise when the window was open from the craic on Fleet St., but I knew the area I was booking was the entertainment district. I enjoyed the music wafting into the room in the midnight hours. I could hear glasses clinking, people talking and laughing in the street. Some yelling too. Just Dublin being Dublin.

The room was clean, stocked with coffees and teas, glasses, mugs and an automatic kettle. The bathroom was spacious. Hand and bath towels provided, but smaller face towels needed to be called down for. Housekeeping was prompt, before noon, so use the DND door card. I had a nice sleep in the bed. The room is not extravagant, but is does have what you need.

Breakfast was tasty. Irish/Continental with coffee, tea, water, milk, orange and currant juice selections. On my morning there they had a basket of croissants, not irish, but one of the best croissants I have had in a long time. Satisfying after a pub and pint filled night.

My experience with the staff was all positive. Front desk was quick for check in. I liked the smile on the young mans face that delivered my room service. I come from a tip for service country, and was excited and happily over-tipped. Heh. Wish I had a reason to call back down, I can only imagine the treatment! I can recommend the fish and chips. Thick piece of fish, fried and crunchy, and was not oily. 30 euro for two fish and chips and two desserts.

The hotel property included a bar, a disco, and restaurant. The parking is off site, honestly only a straight 2 minute walk and there is a discount so it is only 15 euro the entire day.

I paid 73 euro for the room total. I will add my email to their mailing list for some deals in the future because i would stay here again.

Had a great time!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 221, Non Smoking, Triple. Very clean. I liked the extra space the triple provided...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear ladymaire,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel.
We are delighted to read your positive comments about our hotel rooms, breakfast and staff. We will pass on your great feedback to all staff.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and it will be a pleasure to have you return.

Kind Regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

The hotel is perfectly located in the Temple Bar district. Also, when I was doing my comparison shopping, this was the best value. All of the major attractions, bars and restaurants are near by. The Airport bus drops you off a few yards away. The staff is also very friendly and knowledgeable. The breakfast is an all you can eat buffet for 8 euros, which is the only food deal you will find in Ireland.

The one piece of warning I would have is that it is extremely noisy, so if sleep is important to you, this might not be the place for you. On the first night we stayed in the northwest corner. I think we were right above a night club. Our whole room was shaking and after closing time (3am) people screamed outside for another hour or so (and that was a Wednesday night). The second night we asked to be moved, and the staff was very accommodating and moved us to the east side, which was a lot less noisy.

On a side note there is a large bar called, Farrington's, which is right down the street from the hotel. There are very few tourists there, mostly locals. They also have live music every night (acoustic guitar, not trad irish music), and a great beer selection. Good people watching too.

Room Tip: -Ask for a room on the east side (right side of the hotel), which is much less noisy. -Take advanta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank APChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear APChi,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. In relation to the noise you experienced, we are located right in the centre of Temple Bar and as such, from time to time we do suffer a degree of noise disruption from the surrounding business and equipment operation. Please accept our sincere apologies.
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our staff and breakfast deal. I will make sure to pass on your compliments to relevant teams.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to the Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Myself & two other colleagues stayed here on business, although not close to the office it was convenient to sample Dublin. Reception staff were lovely, very helpful. Room OK, not my choice butt clan and somewhere to lay our heads. The showers are not very good and generally cold.
The hotel is on the main street where all the pubs and restaurants are so it was very noisy. At times it felt like the entertainer next door was playing the banjo in my bedroom. Finally when the music dies down people start kicking the shutter doors for fun... then the street cleaners start - don't go for a rest! I would highly recommend requesting a high room at the back if possible.
We didn't eat in the hotel, we found a really nice restaurant called Boxty, 3 courses for 25 Euros, the food was absolutely lovely (you must book as it gets very busy).
Would recommend the hotel for it's location...

Room Tip: 224 spacious room with a massive bed but very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibbyMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear LibbyMay,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel.
I am delighted to read your positive comments about our reception staff. I will make sure to pass them on to our front office team.
Please accept our apologies regarding noise you experienced. We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.
We will investigate shower & water temperature in your room to make sure this issue will be resolved immediately.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to the Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Temple Bar hotel for one night with a friend - staff were helpful on check in and the room was comfortable and very clean. The location of this hotel is so convenient, I cannot emphasise this enough. There are numerous bars and restaurants within walking distance. We did not eat in the hotel so I cannot comment on their food. There was a lot of street noise heard from the room - which, as we stayed on a Monday night was not so much people partying but of very early morning deliveries to the adjacent bars. We were woken at around 8am by the very loud clinking of crates of glass bottles which seemed never ending! But then again, if you expect a peaceful nights sleep you should not stay anywhere in Temple Bar as it's so busy! If I were to stay here again I would bring my own hair dryer as the one provided is useless. There is also a distinct lack of sockets in the room, and none convenient to the one mirror. However I would stay here again for the low price and convenient location - as long as a restful nights sleep is not your priority the Temple Bar hotel should suffice.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Slickvic1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Slickvic 1928,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel.
We are very sorry to hear that you experienced some noise disruption. Please accept our sincere apologies. Due to being so centrally located we do have some levels of noise coming from the streets and businesses around us. Unfortunately it is not always possible to keep the noise away.
We will investigate the hairdryer in your room to make sure it is fully functional. We have not encountered this being a problem before so we will definitely look into this.
Thank you for your kind words about our staff and cleanliness of rooms. I will pass on your compliments to relevant departments.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to the Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great location and price. The hotel is within walking distance to lots of great attractions. Front desk staff was very helpful.I had read some earlier reviews that complained about the noise, but we asked for and received a quiet room. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aileeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear aileeno,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to hear this enhanced your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of our team here.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldton WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights at the end of our stay in Ireland, and the reception staff were more than adequate with our check-in process. The location is very central, and very hand for exploring the inner city areas. Our room was spacious enough, and clean and comfortable. The heating was difficult to regulate, and we needed to open the windows on occasions to cool things down a bit. Breakfast was more than adequate and the wait staff very helpful.
We we located on the first floor, and our windows were directly over a lane way. The noise was quite annoying, and did interrupt our sleep, particularly the second night.
The issue of street noise could easily solved with double glazing - we had a similarly located hotel in Barcelona and the double glazing kept all the street noise out - something for Management to consider given the consistent reference to street noise by reviewers.
I am not sure I would stay here again as, whilst the service and amenities of the hotel are very very good, the noise from the streets is a significant problem.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyGeraldtonWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear SallyGeraldtonWA,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,622 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#63 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing