We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay - perfect for a short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay - perfect for a short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We recently stayed at the temple bar hotel for 3 nights over New Years. The hotel is perfectly located in the main temple bar area and is also close to shops area and the river. It took us about 10 mins to walk to the Guinness storehouse
Check in was fast and issue free and our room was located on the 4th floor. It was adequately sized for the both of us with fluffy towels and tea/coffee making facilities and free wifi in the rooms
As we had no plans for New Years night the reception staff advised us on a variety of things we could do. Also when we got back to the hotel after the celebrations we asked reception if we could buy a bottle of water, we were brought up to our room a jug of ice water by the receptionist which was greatly appreciated.
As we were going over new year we were well aware of her risk with noise but on the 4th floor we could only hear it with the window open which we had to do as the room was very hot until we turned the radiator down he no issue at all.
I would defiantly stay here again :)

Room Tip: Having read the reviews about the possibly of noise I requested a high floor room. I would definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KirstyJane39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear KirstyJane39 ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel.
We are delighted to read your positive comments about our hotel. I will pass on your great feedback to all our staff.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and it will be a pleasure to have you return.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    786
    354
    110
    80
See reviews for
262
814
136
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
113 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great hotel for the party or shopping weekend, location lifting it from "average" to "very good". Small rooms but quite adequate, nice and clean. Helpful and good service on my floor, cannot say the same about the reception, unfortunately. A number of cheerful clubs in the same street and an OK bar in the hotel. Very "functional" but don't expect too much.

Room Tip: Some rooms facing pubs and clubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidvandrer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Vidvandrer,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to hear this enhanced your stay. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Stayed at the Temple Bar Hotel Tuesday-Thursday this week with my boyfriend during our little mini-break in Dublin. The hotel is great! Located right in the heart of Temple Bar, really close to the river, shops and lots of pubs and restaurants. Check-in was very efficient and staff were really friendly. Our room was on the 4th floor and was lovely and big with a table and chairs in the room and a nice comfy bed. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room too and a hairdryer which was useful. It is obviously a bit noisy at night because you're slap bang in the middle of Dublin!! But we didn't find that a problem at all and slept soundly. I'm not sure why people expect complete quietness in a city centre hotel on a street filled with pubs and happy people!! Some people don't have anything else to do but moan. We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely return if we come to Dublin again :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Lauren H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we were delighted to read of your experience at Temple Bar Hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues. We really appreciate your compliments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future

Merry Christmas!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed last week for 1 night and was not impressed, for a Hotel in a popular tourist area it was extremely disappointing. Check in was quick and efficient and front staff very pleasant. Room was on third floor overlooking an alley which was obviously used by hotel staff to go in and out because the noise started about 6am talking laughing as peoples were out for a smoke or going in and out. Room was small but adequate small table and 2 chairs took up far to much room might have been better without maybe just leave 1 chair bit too cramped bathroom was roomy plenty of nice soft towels. The worst thing was the bed it was very comfy BUT it looked like the bedclothes had not been changed after the last guest left the sheets and pillowcases were not fresh you could see it straight away when I pulled back clothes to have a look there were hairs in the bed and stains on the sheets one actually looked like blood. Normally I would have asked to be changed but when at reception they told other potential customers looking for a room that they were completely booked up. There were leaflets in the room adverting the restaurant and the different meal and sitting options but when I rang down to book a table I was told it was closed only open on Friday and Saturday. We tried to get food In bar but gave up after a half an hour sitting there 1st there was no staff behind bar and when the girl came back she completely ignored us. If I had of been staying longer than 1 night I definitely would have went elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear doownelg,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we offer our guests. Thank you for your kind comments in relation to the Reception Team.

I can assure you that our bed linen is changed after the departure of every guest but I will pass your comments on to the Accommodation Team.

I was disappointed to read your comments about the service delay in Buskers – I would like to apologise for this and I will mention it to our Beverage Team immediately.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to Temple Bar Hotel in the future.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

I decided on this hotel after reading such good reviews. No disappoints. This area in heart of Temple Bar, where the Pubs. The staff is very attentive and friendly. One day chooses to eat at the hotel and the food was very good, the waiter was kind enough to invite glass of Baily's. I recommend it. I hope to return soon

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xanaveganwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear xanaveganwolf,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your kind remarks with the rest of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

If you're looking for bars, pubs and being central, this hotel is perfect. Right in the heart of it all on Temple Bar. Staff were all very helpful and friendly, booked us a taxi for our early morning flight. Huge bed, clean, and everything you need. Would definitely stay again and recommend it!

Room Tip: If you want a double bed, request it. Try and get a room round the side or back so it's not too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Kelly W,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team,

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

If you fancy a central location for many beers, it's fine. If you think you are coming for a romantic trip with your beloved.....think again! Tired hotel with poor breakfast..... cold! Great to stroll back to after 20 or so pints of Guinness.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Ken P,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to hear this enhanced your stay. We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,625 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#63 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,375 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,225 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing