We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed our first night in Ireland at the Temple Bar hotel. Our room was clean and warm. They brought hot chocolate to our room, which was a nice surprise. The shower was hot and the staff was friends and helpful. It was right in the middle of Temple Bar and we had a great night walking to everything. I will stay here again!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nikki Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Nikki Q,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. It is an absolute pleasure to read such great comments. Thank you for sharing this with us and we look forward to looking after you again in the near future.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and it will be a pleasure to have you return.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    817
    361
    110
    80
See reviews for
279
840
140
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here a few times before (most recently in January 2014). This is an enviable location. In Temple Bar, the buzz centre of Dublin, but situated just away from the noise and bustle, so you still get a good night's sleep. Close in one direction to O'Connell Street (Dublin's official Main Street) and in the other, even closer to Trinity College and Grafton Street (for shopping). The staff are invariably friendly and helpful while the latest room I stayed in (303) was very large, spotlessly clean and well-equipped. If I had a complaint, it would have been that the TV reception was very poor, but then you do not visit Dublin to watch TV! Breakfast (ends at 10.30 weekdays and 11.30 Sunday) is excellent but although the hotel boasts a very good-value formal restaurant, it was open this time only on Thursday, Friday and Saturday - while I happened to arrive on Sunday! You can eat in Buskers (the large bar), but although the food looks excellent, it also offers live music each night, which makes conversation somewhat difficult! Checkout is before noon, and is very efficient. A very good base if visitng Dublin.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim Liddane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Jim Liddane,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. We are all delighted to read your positive comments about our location, facilities and staff. Please accept our apologies regarding TV reception. We will make sure this issue is fixed immediately. It was our pleasure to look after you and we hope to do so again in the near future.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Temple Bar Hotel.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed at the Temple Bar Hotel Dublin for 3 days from 30.12.2013. You will not find a hotel which is more central to all the attractions than this hotel. Yes it can be a bit noisy at night but not so much that you can't sleep. The rooms are cleaned daily, fresh bedding and towels provided. Also hairdyers are provided which is really helpful when have a limited luggage allowance. The hotel has a restaurant which we did not use so cannot comment and also a bar named Buskers which we did use and did eat in there and the food was great. Also the football matches are shown in here for those who cannot bear to miss a match. Dublin itself is bustling and really good atmosphere and plenty of attractions to visit. It is expensive though in the Temple Bar area which is where it is all happening. Brilliant stay all in all and could not hesitate to recommending this hotel. If flying into Dublin then the airbus directly outside the arrivals hall will drop you off literally round the corner from this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 January 2014
Dear Lindsay B,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. We are all delighted to read your positive comments about our location & facilities. It was our pleasure to look after you and we hope to do so again in the near future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to share this with us.

We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Temple Bar Hotel.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

A group of us (5 total) stayed here in May 2013. Wonderful hotel and staff!! At the time of booking, we expected 3 in a room, but 2 more people tagged along, making a group of 5. We let the front desk receptionist know the situtation and they were incredibly nice about the situation. They gave us a larger room for a small fee, which worked out great! There is so much to do around the hotel in walking distance. We had the breakfast in the morning, very good. Great hotel and at a great value!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Crystal M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and it was our pleasure to look after you all. Many thanks for great comments and such positive feedback.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and it will be a pleasure to have you return.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here in June 2013 with a friend for the Rihanna gig in the aviva! Such a super location and staff were so friendly, in particular the coloured man on reception he was excellent and so chatty.
We paid 160 euro for one night which is quite steep but was actually one of the cheapest hotels for the night it was as so many hotels had upped their prices for the night of the concert.
Lovely pub downstairs and nightclub which we got free entry into which was a nice touch if you showed your room key at the entrance to the club!
Such a brilliant buzz around temple bar.
Would definitely return only thing I could fault is that the room is quite old but still comfortable and relatively clean.

Room Tip: Pick one facing the front of the hotel very entertaining to look out late at night!! However rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amyoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Amyoco,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and to read such positive comments about our reception staff. I will make sure to pass them on to our front office team.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and it will be a pleasure to have you return.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Similar to other reviews about the hotel - yes is very well centrally located with walking distance to every attraction within the City thus saving you on taxi and bus costs. Staff were also pleasant generally so no complaints here. They were courteous and polite and asked me how my stay was (I am always baffled when hotel staff don't ask your stay was when you leave - especially at the rate that you are paying)

Maybe some drawbacks but defintely not dealbreakers is that the wifi (well at least in my room 204) was weak and the connection kept dropping. Also while the room was generally clean, you can tell that the hotel needs a little reno job with new flooring (carpet is dirty/stained) also the room furniture needs to be updated. The bathroom was ok - I prefer shower stalls (the hotel has baths) but was generally clean - maybe a little dirty up by the vent but nothing to freak about.

The hotel breakfast is average - nothing to write home about. I did not try the hotel restaurants or the bars/club so can't comment here. There is so much around you that you really don't need to stay within the hotel.

Some pubs that I can recommend in Temple Bar is Oliver St. John Gogarty's - excellent place for a pint and meal. Also Temple Bar is a good place for pint along with Quay's. Temple Bar has a lot to offer so take your time and see what speaks to you.

Overall - location, location, location is why I would come back here as I am coming back to Dublin!

Room Tip: Select a room that is not facing the street and high up - will help limit street noise etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guch007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear guch007,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback, it will help us to improve our hotel and service.
I will pass on your positive comments to our reception team. Please accept our apologies for weak Wi-Fi in your room. It is quite unusual to have weak Wi-Fi problem in room 204 as the router is just outside door but we will investigate this and will resolve the issue immediately.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and it will be a pleasure to have you return.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I would stay here again, it is close to everything in the city centre. Only thing I think needs improved is the TV channels in room but as I said I would stay here again. Wonderful hotel, great value.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanielmcCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Temple Bar Hotel.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will investigate the issue with TV channels and try to resolve this as soon as possible.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and it will be a pleasure to have you return.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
The Morgan
#37 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,688 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#63 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,309 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,434 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing