We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, and a pretty good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great location, and a pretty good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

Cracking location in temple bar, right in the thick of the action. Decent hotel, clean and currently going under some maintenance. Room was a little dated, and a little noisy early evening. However after a few Guinness I had a decent sleep. Good spot and for 60 euro you can't complain. Would use again

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank jimmypeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear jimmypeck,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your stay.

We have an ongoing refurbishment project underway in the hotel and our guest rooms are currently in process of being redecorated.

We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    805
    361
    110
    80
See reviews for
274
828
137
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was a very basic but very nice first night in dublin. Check in was easy, but they didn't really explain how the econo lights worked. You use your room key to activate the lights upon entry. Not everyone knows this. It took us a full five minutes of searching in the dark for the phone to call the desk to ask. Adventure. The room was basic and clean and thank god not noisy at all. Staff very accommodating and nice. They have a great breakfast . Location can't be beat, you are in the center of it all. Easy to get to from the airport, even a tired weary traveler can find it with ease, and that is what I was after an eleven hour flight followed by another three hours after heathrow. Great home base in dublin.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrotterrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear globetrotterrr,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your stay.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel during the Temple Bar Tradfest. The reception area was warn and inviting so we looked forward to seeing our room . We weren't disappointed . The room was spacious clean and airy with plenty of tea ,coffee and a couple of bottles of water as well. The bed was extremely comfortable. We were at the back of the hotel so didn't find it noisy. The free wifi in the room was an unexpected bonus.
(we did have an executive room not sure if this is the norm) The staff were helpful and friendly. We arrived before twelve but were able to check in. The choice at breakfast was extensive and tasty. The early bird menu for dinner was reasonable and the food was good. The staff were helpful and friendly. We had an early check out and they provided a breakfast in the reception area while we waited for our taxi. They were also very efficient in sorting out the problem we had with our heating.Only one tiny little niggle didn't replace the one bottle of water that was used. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay there again .

Room Tip: room at the back very little noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eatnofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear eatnofish,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we were delighted to read of your great experience at Temple Bar Hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues. We hope to welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

We recently returned for a short stay at the Temple Bar Hotel,and we had a great experience again. The room was aery and spacy,the beds very comfy,the bathroom well set and all very clean. The coffee and tea suplied were of good quality and taste and the staff very nice and helpfull. On top of that the adiecent bar The Buskers was very lively and since we had complimentary entrance in its night club Alchemy,we ended up partying "all night long" without having to go too far away from our hotel. Touche!
So I would recommend it warmly. Bear in mind,though,that it can get noisy at weekends,really expected for that prime location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ro_Amon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Ro_Amon,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we were delighted to read of your experience at Temple Bar Hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues. We really appreciate your compliments along with your recommendation.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel and fab staff, got a bit noisy at the weekend, but it's to be expected due to its central location. Very clean, had a fantastic time and would recommend to anyone who is wanting to be at the heart of Dublin.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellyD1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear ShellyD1970,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Malling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Reception makes you think you might be in a nice hotel, but goes downhill from there. Hotel in middle of a refurbishment and corridors dirty and full of debris, rooms of a poor standard and breakfast was just appalling. No chance of a goods nights sleep due to location, which might be expected, due to bin carts/deliveries etc in the early hours. Colleague was given a smoking room, which was his fault apparently as he did not specify he wanted a non smoking one.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lanson1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear lanson1970,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we offer our guests. As you stated, we are in the middle of a refurbishment and I would like to apologise if there was debris present on the corridor. In relation to breakfast, without more information I cannot comment.

We are located right in the centre of Temple Bar and from time to time we do suffer a degree of noise disruption from the surrounding business and equipment operation.

We do provide a choice of smoking and non-smoking rooms because there is a demand for them. Upon request we will always provide a non-smoking room for guests who specify this on reservation.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

i stayed here for 1 night on Tuesday 28th Jan - for the pricely sum of €76.00 B&B. I was given a single room on the 3rd floor - where do i start. The table with the TV and tea making facilities was alongside the bed - 8" apart you could not open the drawers as the bed was so close so forget about looking at TV in bed and it is right in your face. The room was cold and the radiator was not working properly so i had to go to reception and get their permission to use a plug in heater which i spotted on my floor. The bathroom was extremely cold - the heated towel rail was not working and the controls for same was gone from it - a breeze was coming in the windows even though they were closed. I was totally disappointed for the big price and left my comment card with the receptionist. Wont be back as i could have got a better room in another hotel within walking distance and it would have been cheaper - You know what they say once bitten....

Room Tip: Dont ask for a single room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mossy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear mossy087,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your experience in Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we offer our guests. I was disappointed to read your comments about the experience you encountered with the heating in your room, thank you for bringing it to our attention.

Pease be assured we have taken your feedback on board and will be reviewing our procedures to prevent a repetition of this occurrence. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Browne, Deputy General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,655 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#66 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,400 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing