We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd Year in a Row; Can't Wait to Go Back Next Year!”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #39 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“3rd Year in a Row; Can't Wait to Go Back Next Year!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The Temple Bar Hotel has maintained a consistently high standard for the past three years that we have visited. Yes, the Hotel is located in a very popular night area of Dublin, but this fact ensures that other people will be around on a late night walk home. It also makes it a very central location for all sightseeing...most of which can be done by walking, the DART, LUAS, and buses. For first-timers, the Hop On and Hop Off bus stops right by the nearby Tourist Office at the corner of St. Andrew and Suffolk Streets. There is usually a taxi at the front door, so more expensive radio cab calls are unnecessary if you want to venture out of the immediate area.

If you are a light sleeper, avoid rooms at the front of the Hotel. Non-smoking rooms are also available. The Reception Staff are friendly, professional, and efficient; whatever your concern, you just have to ask! Our room has always been quiet, comfortable, and well-serviced by the housekeeping and maintenance staff. The breakfast buffet always gives us a good start to the day. The Hotel has been promoting a dinner dining service; we didn't try it, but the menu looked good. There is also a small bar if you want to enjoy a "quiet" drink by the fireplace. For people who want to "party" Buskers is located within the Hotel; many other establishments are right down the street.

The Temple Bar Hotel is a very centrally-located and reasonably-priced hotel that has served us very well over the past three years. We always feel "at home" and we cannot wait to book in 2015! With very special thanks and appreciation to two exceptional Reception employees, Violet and Oscar, who made this year's three visits in March and April very memorable!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear DHG ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. We were delighted to read such positive and complimentary remarks which I will share with Violetta, Oscar and the rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and we look forward to your return visit in 2015!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    844
    854
    366
    114
    82
See reviews for
305
878
142
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (438)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Couldn't have asked for a better place to spend a couple of nights in Dublin. Temple Bar district is teaming with entertainment and night life which is great for music and having a pint or two at one of the local pubs.

The hotel has only two issues, smoking and noise. While the noise of the bars and well-wishes below can be mitigated by earplugs, the smell of smoke in the rooms and hallways cannot (although I didn't try putting the earplugs in my nose). Smoking is still pretty prevalent throughout Europe, I know but I would like my hotel to have smoke free rooms, especially when that's what they advertise when you book online.

Ensure you ask for and get a smoke free room if you book here, and maybe ask for a room at the back of the hotel to ensure a good nights sleep.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesnowbird11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Thesnowbird11,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am glad to read that this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

We do have quiet rooms & non-smoking rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The hotel is right in the in the middle of Fleet Street, near great pubs and plenty of nighttime action, the hotel itself has spacious rooms and comfortable beds. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and nothing seems to be too much trouble. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davfog35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear DavoAussieland22,

Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. We appreciate your compliments and recommendation.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team,

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Stayed 9-11th April for my 30th Birthday. Was over the moon when we received a complimentary upgrade! Even got a birthday card! Hotel is excellent for location to everything. 5min walk to henry street and grafton street! Plenty of pubs and restaurants to choose from. The hotel itself was lovely and clean. Executive king room was spacious plenty of seats (couch, table 3 chairs) lovely king size bed, flat screen tv, iPod Dock, DVD player and mini fridge. Breakfast was lovely didn't have to wait on a table. The staff were extremely pleasant, polite and friendly! We were to the back of hotel (203) and could not hear one sound from the pubs etc. Went to buskers bar attached to the hotel good music and cocktails only €5!! Overall I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking a great central location and lovely staff who would go out of their way for you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weelaura84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear weelaura84,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we were delighted to read of your experience at Temple Bar Hotel.

I look forward to sharing your comments & compliments with the rest of the team. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Temple bar hotel is clean, friendly and welcoming hotel, it's central to all local live bars, entertainment and places of interest worthy of the dublin visit. Just be advised that Fleet Street is situated between lots of live music pubs, bars clubs and social venues! In dublin there is always something to enjoy daily but then surely that's the reason to stay!! If you can suggest a room towards the rear of the hotel and higher floors to reduce noise ( especially weekends) as superb stay and the bars and restaurants are great, a fantastic Thai restaurant named Thai orchid is fab just around the corner, it's close to the original temple bar pub with live music and good local food and we also enjoyed the atmosphere at the Oliver at john gogarty pub!!! Live music, Irish dancing ... The real crack!! The taxi drivers and fairs are honest and give excellent tourist advice! We visited both Guinness and Jameson factory, wax works, kilmainham jail, and dublin zoo no more than 10-15 euros from the hotel!! It's a great spot and my husband and I really enjoyed our stay!!! Dublin is greatly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Steph C,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback regarding our staff. Here at Temple Bar Hotel, we pride ourselves on our central location and I am glad to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

I will pass on your compliments to the rest of the team here and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

The staff were wonderful, and most were very kind and helpful. The lobby was nice and welcoming. The room itself was a disappointment. Musty, mold in shower/bathroom, chips in wooden side tables, etc... Key card would randomly fail to work, which we ignored, as it didn't really bother us because we had two key cards. I can understand why it would bother other people though. The noise was insanely loud until about 4 am every single night. Laughing, yelling/screaming, talking, singing, bottles breaking, pounding...you name it. The hotel room needs updating, a deep cleaning, and more sound-proofing. We personally would not spend our money here again. I think this place might be suitable for groups of very young people looking to party at night and just stop into their room to sleep for a few hours inbetween. The plus side to our stay was the kind staff and welcoming lobby.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Mel P,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments about the condition of the room. Please be assured we have taken your feedback on board and will be reviewing our procedures to prevent a repetition of this occurrence.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Thank you for your kind remarks about the staff, I will pass these on to the rest of the team.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vejle, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Temple Bar hotel has a fantastic location right in the Temple bar district,. The lovely pub life is just outside the door, with a big number of pubs with live music, restaurants for every taste etc. Also located very close to the city centre, the hop on hop off busses, which will take you everywhere in the city, and only few minutes walk to the Airport bus stop, so a better location is it hard to get.
We were welcomed by a very nice and humorous staff, in the pretty lobby, we got a room at the 3.rd floor, the room was facing back, which made it a very very silent room. The room vas big and very clean, with a big wonderfull bed, safe, flatscreen TV.
The bathroom was also super clean, with all you can need for a comfortable stay, incl a big bathtub.
We had our breakfast on the hotel too, Here was all you could ask for, and plenty of everything, even close to closing time.
We sure got full value for our Money, staying in this hotel, and we will sure be back on our Next visit to Dublin

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear jpdk,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. We were delighted to read such positive and complimentary remarks which I will share with the rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and we look forward to your return visit
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 151 in Dublin
889 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,819 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#62 of 151 in Dublin
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing