We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Temple Bar Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Morgan(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Blooms Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Abbey Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
The Sweeney(Dublin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,466)
Filter reviews
2,466 results
Traveller rating
960
915
381
121
89
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
960
915
381
121
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstemple barbuskers bargreat locationfleet streetnight lifetrinity collegenoise from the streetcentral locationbars and restaurantsquiet roomlight sleepernoisy at nightthird floorgrafton streetearplugsbridnightlife
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,203 - 1,208 of 2,466 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel was smack bang in the middle of all the hustle and bustle!! Couldn't get any closer. Everything within walking distance for pubs and grub. Hotel was clean and homey feel to it. Bed was suuuuper comfy. Staff were friendly. Security was good too. Could hear all the fun going on outside, don't stay here if your looking for peace n' quiet. Its a central hotel for a reason. Fun, fun, fun. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Susanne S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your stay.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was lovely. Clean, welcoming and helpful staff. Breakfast was spot on as was the restaurant,

If you value your sleep as I do I would recommend staying elsewhere. I spent 3 nights listening to screaming men and women on tacky hen and stag do's and the odd homeless person below our window. On top of that the road sweeper was out at 3am! Ideal if you're wanting something in the centre of Temple Bar and want to constantly party, Not so ideal if you want a nice weekend away with your partner.

I cannot fault the hotel, just the location,

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room to the back maybe?
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Rottie83,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

Due to the fact that we are the most centrally located hotel in Dublin there can be noise on the streets. We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Tremendous location in the heart of the temple bar, so if you are heading to Dublin and intend to be there for the partying, this is your place. Reasonably priced, close to everything you want to do in Dublin, plenty pubs and restaurants within a minute of the hotel, rooms are clean and comfy. Ideal for what i was there for.

However, if i hadn't had a fair few beers, i would have got no sleep at all, the noise from the street was unreal and that was right through the night and then from 1st thing in the morning you could hear the vehicles out cleaning up the streets from the night before. I'd say there will be rooms in the hotel that would avoid this level of noise though and i was possibly just unlucky.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnM1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Dear JohnM1985,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

In relation to the noise you experienced, we are located right in the centre of Temple Bar and as such, from time to time we do suffer a degree of noise disruption from the surrounding business and equipment operation. We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you want a hotel in the perfect location, you cannot beat this hotel. Everything you want is easily within walking distance, shopping, bus tours, water, pubs... The hotel itself will impress you upon entry. It's beautiful and the staff are ready to serve. However, when you go inside, you will be less than impressed with your room. A bit funky, although they clean it well, it's just old and hasn't been updated. The shower was pretty abysmal, barely letting out any water. But, I can forgive it because, again, the location is incredible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road. It can be quite loud as it's a party area.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuliaSugarbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear JuliaSugarbaker,

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. Thank you for your feedback in relation to the water pressure in the shower, we will inspect this.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team!
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed here for a short city break during Easter 2014. We arrived in Dublin by train and the hotel was only about 10 minutes walk away. We purchased hop on hop off bus tickets, the stops for which are located just two/three minutes away at Trinity College. Everything we visited was accessible either on foot or by this bus. We didn't need a taxi the whole time we were there thanks to the brilliant location of this hotel. Our room was clean and beds were comfortable. Bathroom was especially nice. There was some noise outside at night but this is only to be expected as it's situated in the heart of the Temple Bar District - we were well aware of this when we booked and personally I like the hustle and bustle noise as it's all part of a city break & it didn't affect my sleep quality. Excellent value for money. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Meg334,

Thank you for taking the time to review and recommend Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your kind remarks with the rest of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews