We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but can be noisy”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very good hotel, nice rooms, reasonable size and bed was reasonably comfortable. Be warned if you stay on Friday to Sunday nights - this is a lively area and the hotel has its own club. So, it can be noisy if you are in rooms on the 1st floor in particular. The street can be noisy at times. If your young, you would probably really enjoy it! To us, it was the location which was the attraction - so close to everything. Luckily the club turns off the music before midnight so us oldies do get a good nights sleep. this is my 2nd time at this hotel and would stay agin mid week.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor to buffer noise from the club on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard_Karlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Gerard_Karlie,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and your stay with us.

I will share your kind remarks with the rest of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here for my partners birthday. The hotel is in a great location. The staff were friendly, polite and very helpful. The room was okay, quite spacious. The beds were hard and a bit uncomfortable to sleep on. The shower didn't seem to work properly and was just squirting water out. At the end of the day all you want a hotel for is somewhere to rest your head after a long day and this was nice enough. For the location I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Heather W,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.

We will investigate the reduced water pressure in the shower that you mentioned. Thank you for bringing this to our attention
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This is a nice hotel in a good location. We really didn't spend much time in our room as we wanted to explore. On the day we were leaving, we had to check out many hours before we were due to go back to the airport, so asked the hotel to keep our bags....they charged 1 euro per bag and all they really did was open the door to a room where we put the bags in and collected them. Thee was a young family checking out just before us, they had lots of bags and were charged 10 Euro.....this is a disgrace. We have stayed in many hotels and this is the first time ever we have been charged to leave our bags in a store room....this didn't leave a good impression and would probably prevent us from staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milosgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Milosgran,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your stay.

I understand that you were unhappy with some of the charges but in return for this small fee, we provide a very secure area for guests to store their luggage right in the centre of Temple Bar. I hope this would not deter you from staying with us again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is in the centre of temple bar, which can be hectic and noisey. We had a clean, comfy room on 3rd floor, adequate for short times we were in hotel. Most nights quiet, exception was door slamming. Not the hotel's fault. Oscar on the desk was polite and very helpful. Breakfast at €7 was plenty, some times a bit busy but the staff coped well. Bag store at €1 each after check out was a big plus, our flight was early eve, so we were able to walk about knowing our bags were safe. Yes there are beggars in the town but most bars etc are quick to move them on. Shame about all the road works, everywhere there was bollards, holes and workmen. Trinity college was a mess to walk around. Also there was a lack of seats to use in the wide streets.

Room Tip: Back or facing atrium above dining area seems quieter.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank hazelnut01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear hazelnut01,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your kind remarks with Oscar and the rest of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed at the hotel in may for my sisters hen party. There were 20 of us, all different ages and characters. The hotel catered for our every need.
The staff are friendly and helpful. I organised a mad hatters tea party in the restaurant. The staff couldn't be more helpful.
Room service were great to. The beds were comfortable. Great location to all the restaurants, bars, clubs and tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barrychickenbantam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Barrychickenbantam,

Congratulations on being our 1,000th reviewer on TripAdvisor! To celebrate this milestone we would like to offer you a complimentary two night stay in Temple Bar Hotel for two people. We will contact you shortly to arrange this.

We were delighted to read such positive and complimentary remarks which I will share with the rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and we look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel was smack bang in the middle of all the hustle and bustle!! Couldn't get any closer. Everything within walking distance for pubs and grub. Hotel was clean and homey feel to it. Bed was suuuuper comfy. Staff were friendly. Security was good too. Could hear all the fun going on outside, don't stay here if your looking for peace n' quiet. Its a central hotel for a reason. Fun, fun, fun. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Susanne S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am delighted to read this enhanced your stay.
We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was lovely. Clean, welcoming and helpful staff. Breakfast was spot on as was the restaurant,

If you value your sleep as I do I would recommend staying elsewhere. I spent 3 nights listening to screaming men and women on tacky hen and stag do's and the odd homeless person below our window. On top of that the road sweeper was out at 3am! Ideal if you're wanting something in the centre of Temple Bar and want to constantly party, Not so ideal if you want a nice weekend away with your partner.

I cannot fault the hotel, just the location,

Room Tip: Ask if they have a room to the back maybe?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Rottie83,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

Due to the fact that we are the most centrally located hotel in Dublin there can be noise on the streets. We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
935 reviews
The Morgan
#40 of 150 in Dublin
2,906 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £118 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing