We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Temple Bar Hotel Dublin 23/24th May”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My stay at the Temple Bar Hotel Dublin 23/24th May”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was most disappointed in this hotel. A small room, with very little sound proofing from surrounding noise of clubbers at night. For £92 including an unappetizing breakfast - never again! The location is central but that's the only thing in it's favour.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Irene H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We feel Temple Bar Hotel is competitively priced and the product and service that we deliver reflects excellent value right in the heart of Temple Bar.

With regards to breakfast, I will investigate the matter further

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    827
    362
    112
    82
See reviews for
286
848
141
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We're a young couple who, like most, enjoy a good night out & a few drinks so I think I am being totally fair in my review. Check-in was a disaster, with the girl on reception serving another 2 customers while dealing with us. We were given room 115... DO NOT take this room if you are given it! With a generator going all night right beside one window & the hotel bar/club buskers down below, it made for no sleep whatsoever. Between music blasting until 2.30am, smashing glass, shouting & screaming from the alley below until near 4.00am, we got no sleep at all. The room was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in & the breakfast was just ok. Apart from the great location, I was really disappointed in this hotel. All's we were looking was a quiet room to get our heads down after a day exploring & drinking around dublin. Really disappointing :-(

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Michaelsmyth110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Michaelsmyth110,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we offer our guests. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are located in the centre of Temple Bar and as such, from time to time we do suffer a degree of noise disruption from the surrounding business and equipment operation.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlow, Ireland.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you are going to book a hotel in a tourist trap location such as Temple Bar, you should already have accepted some simple truths. You are going to pay over the odds for pretty much everything. Parking is going to be expensive. It will be Noisy and Messy on those Cobbled Streets outside as Stag Parties from pretty much everywhere descend on them every weekend. Your Hotel will have factored a 'Location Premium' into the price of your room. If you can accept all this from the outset then you really wouldnt have too much to complain about at this hotel and you are halfway to enjoying yourself! Yes the Hotel is overpriced. Yes the breakfast isn't spectacular but it's not that bad either. The rooms are fine, again nothing spectacular but clean and comfortable. The parking is €15 for the night in Fleet Street car park. Is it worth €15 to keep your car safe? Probably. Be prepared to pay €7.50 a pint in Oliver St John Gogartys' for example but I paid €12 for one in Milan and €13 for one in Paris and you wont get much change out of £10 GBP in London's West End either so everything is relative. Temple Bar in general gets a lot of bad press but it's no worse than any tourist area in any other city, once you accept the obvious first.

Room Tip: Higher up the better to avoid strret noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reeldeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Reeldeal,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We appreciate frank and honest feedback. We aim to remain competitively priced at all times and we feel the product and service that we deliver in both the Hotel & Buskers Bar reflects excellent value right in the heart of Temple Bar.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

This hotel is ALL about the location! I didn't find anything special about the room or the bed, and I got lucky that it was relatively quiet during my stay, but the location made this hotel completely worth it. Make sure you hit up the breakfast buffet and Buskers bar while you're there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Nate B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am glad this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the team in Buskers Bar & the Terrace Restaurant.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Temple Bar hotel and apart from the location the hotel is poor. We got a room at the end of a hall next door to a function room which was very noisy with people coming and going from early morning. The hallway was narrow and needed a paint, the room was tiny and the bottle of wine we had ordered to be in the room on arrival to toast a special occasion as a surprise wasn't there. Bad experience.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KieranMurray1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear KieranMurray1982,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Temple Bar Hotel. I have checked with our management team and our reservation system but we cannot find any record of your stay with us.

Unfortunately on this occasion we were unable to rectify the issues you mentioned because we were unaware of the difficulties you encountered prior to reading your review on TripAdvisor.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to discuss the matter in detail

Kind regards,
Jennifer Browne
Deputy General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Temple Bar Hotel is located in, you guessed it, the Temple Bar area of Dublin, which is the center of nightlife, bars and cultural attractions in Dublin. Being in the center of Temple Bar, the hotel can be very noisy into the night, especially if your room is facing Fleet Street. I also enjoyed the single beds, as we were staying in Dublin before a school trip. Breakfast was slightly pricey, but tasty and offered a good selection of a full Irish and continental breakfast items. Temple Bar Hotel was also conveniently located across from a Tesco Express, making it convenient to get snacks and other food.

Temple Bar Hotel is in a great location for nightlife, restaurants and cultural attractions in Dublin, but I personally wouldn't want to stay longer than 3 nights, especially if on a lower level.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Reggie P,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel on TripAdvisor. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

Due to the fact that we are the most centrally located hotel in Dublin there can be noise on the streets. We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hurstbridge, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Very good hotel, nice rooms, reasonable size and bed was reasonably comfortable. Be warned if you stay on Friday to Sunday nights - this is a lively area and the hotel has its own club. So, it can be noisy if you are in rooms on the 1st floor in particular. The street can be noisy at times. If your young, you would probably really enjoy it! To us, it was the location which was the attraction - so close to everything. Luckily the club turns off the music before midnight so us oldies do get a good nights sleep. this is my 2nd time at this hotel and would stay agin mid week.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor to buffer noise from the club on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard_Karlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Gerard_Karlie,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and your stay with us.

I will share your kind remarks with the rest of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 151 in Dublin
846 reviews
The Morgan
#38 of 151 in Dublin
2,734 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#64 of 151 in Dublin
1,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,337 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,461 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing