We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A right good night out”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had such a laugh in the temple bar. If you go you must visit and meet everyone in there. We met locals hanging out with tourists. Great band and the best night out we had while in Dublin. It is a must!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaz999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Jaz999,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,304)
There are newer reviews for Temple Bar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,060 - 1,066 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed there two nights in early May. The location was great as it was convenient to restaurants, transportation and sights. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. Due to the location was requested a room away from the front of the hotel which provided us a quiet room. The Irish breakfast was excellent each morning. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Karen R,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel on TripAdvisor We were delighted to read such positive and complimentary remarks which I will share with the rest of our team.

Thank you for choosing Temple Bar Hotel and we look forward to your return visit!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here 2 nights with our family of four recently. The hotel itself is nice and staff are friendly and helpful. However, the party noise lasts until around 3am, and it is loud. If you are coming to party, this hotel is probably ideal. If you are in Dublin to sight see, visit a few local pubs, and get some sleep at night this is not the hotel for you. I would highly recommend getting a hotel a block or two out of the Temple Bar area. You would still be centrally located.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Carol L,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hotel was in a great location in Dublin - the Temple Bar area.

From the Temple Bar Hotel you have easy walking access to many sites. My husband and I walked to all of our destinations except for the Glasnevin Cemetery Museum, which we took an easy cab ride to for about 12 euro.

Temple Bar Hotel is also great for nightlife! Again, the Temple Bar area is loud and exciting all weekend with live music and sometimes dancing.

The downside to this, is that the hotel is echoing all night with drunken laughter and screaming. It's an old building so there is poor sound proofing. Our room was facing an alleyway, so I did not think it'd be too noisy, but I was definitely wrong. The first night we stayed I was kept awake until 4:00am. I went to the front desk the next morning to see if we could move rooms but they were all booked up. Thankfully they at least offered free earplugs, which I have to say helped a lot. I slept soundly the rest of the trip. If you're a heavy sleeper, you should be fine.

I was also disappointed in the room. For the price we payed, it was extremely cramped and tiny. It barely fit the small bed we slept in. The high price definitely comes from the convenience of the hotel's location, and not its luster.

It did offer a delicious breakfast every morning.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room upon booking... if they have any.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Hilary D,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I was delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

We have various different room layouts and sizes. Some of the rooms vary in floor space depending on their location within the building. As you stated, we were extremely busy last week and unfortunately we were unable to reallocate your room to a quieter area in the hotel and I would like to apologise for this.

I will pass your compliments onto the breakfast team.

We hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I was most disappointed in this hotel. A small room, with very little sound proofing from surrounding noise of clubbers at night. For £92 including an unappetizing breakfast - never again! The location is central but that's the only thing in it's favour.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Irene H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We feel Temple Bar Hotel is competitively priced and the product and service that we deliver reflects excellent value right in the heart of Temple Bar.

With regards to breakfast, I will investigate the matter further

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

We're a young couple who, like most, enjoy a good night out & a few drinks so I think I am being totally fair in my review. Check-in was a disaster, with the girl on reception serving another 2 customers while dealing with us. We were given room 115... DO NOT take this room if you are given it! With a generator going all night right beside one window & the hotel bar/club buskers down below, it made for no sleep whatsoever. Between music blasting until 2.30am, smashing glass, shouting & screaming from the alley below until near 4.00am, we got no sleep at all. The room was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in & the breakfast was just ok. Apart from the great location, I was really disappointed in this hotel. All's we were looking was a quiet room to get our heads down after a day exploring & drinking around dublin. Really disappointing :-(

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Michaelsmyth110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Dear Michaelsmyth110,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we offer our guests. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are located in the centre of Temple Bar and as such, from time to time we do suffer a degree of noise disruption from the surrounding business and equipment operation.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

If you are going to book a hotel in a tourist trap location such as Temple Bar, you should already have accepted some simple truths. You are going to pay over the odds for pretty much everything. Parking is going to be expensive. It will be Noisy and Messy on those Cobbled Streets outside as Stag Parties from pretty much everywhere descend on them every weekend. Your Hotel will have factored a 'Location Premium' into the price of your room. If you can accept all this from the outset then you really wouldnt have too much to complain about at this hotel and you are halfway to enjoying yourself! Yes the Hotel is overpriced. Yes the breakfast isn't spectacular but it's not that bad either. The rooms are fine, again nothing spectacular but clean and comfortable. The parking is €15 for the night in Fleet Street car park. Is it worth €15 to keep your car safe? Probably. Be prepared to pay €7.50 a pint in Oliver St John Gogartys' for example but I paid €12 for one in Milan and €13 for one in Paris and you wont get much change out of £10 GBP in London's West End either so everything is relative. Temple Bar in general gets a lot of bad press but it's no worse than any tourist area in any other city, once you accept the obvious first.

Room Tip: Higher up the better to avoid strret noise
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Reeldeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Reeldeal,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We appreciate frank and honest feedback. We aim to remain competitively priced at all times and we feel the product and service that we deliver in both the Hotel & Buskers Bar reflects excellent value right in the heart of Temple Bar.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#48 of 150 in Dublin
918 reviews
The Morgan
#39 of 150 in Dublin
2,878 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#59 of 150 in Dublin
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £121 - £320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing