We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and good reception staff, inconsiderate management”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #37 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Location is good, being at the center of town, close to temple bar restaurants and bars, and in front of TESCO. Reception staff are so considerate and try hard to be helpful. Rooms are OK and well maintained, though you'd better avoid the rooms close to the bar downstairs.
In spite of these good points, unfortunately, the management seems very inconsiderate of customers in various senses. Once they get better management their location, staff, and facilities might be much more attractive than now.

Room Tip: Be sure to have a room not close to the bar downstairs, or you can't sleep till 3am.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hongosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear hongosen,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at Temple Bar Hotel. I am delighted to read that our location and front desk team enhanced your stay.

I was very disappointed to read your comments about our management team and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your comments to clarify what issues you experienced.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 2,360 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

I'll start with the location... Very central, felt right in the middle of things, with nightclubs, convenience stores, restaurants and the city centre all nearby. We had a room on the first floor at the front of the hotel. If you are not in Dublin to party and stay up until the early hours of the morning this hotel is not for you. Our room was overlooking the street which was incredibly busy through the night and there was music booming constantly from the bar beneath us. The hotel has a bar and a nightclub as a part of it's building (free entry to the nightclub for guests of the hotel!). This was great for us as we were there to party and stay up all night but I can't imagine it being very fun for others who visit Dublin not of this mindset. After reading other reviews regarding the noise the hotel have stated that there are quieter rooms at the back of the hotel if requested.

The rooms were cleaned to a good standard and we had no problems throughout our weekend break. If I ever go back to Dublin I would stay at this hotel again for its location, but ONLY if it was for a party sort of holiday. If you are booking to see the sites of Dublin you'll have to sacrifice your sleep quality for location.

Room Tip: Away from the busy road. We had room 125, above the bar and very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Jack G,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

If you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with a quiet room upon request.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon tour. It is in a great location, is clean enough and has a welcoming reception but that is were the positives end. the bed was tiny and very uncomfortable, you know the type sinking in the middle the makes you rolling the person you are sleeping with all night. It was so hot and stuffy in the room and there was no air con in the room. All we could hear all night was this god awful rumbling of the air con units for the lobby right next to the windows even after we closed them which again made the room even more stuffy. The décor of the room is dated yellow and very grim. Breakfast was horrible. Everything looked and tasted awful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamAndStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear SamAndStephen,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Temple Bar Hotel. Unfortunately on this occasion we were unable to rectify the issues you mentioned because we were unaware of the difficulties you encountered prior to reading your review on TripAdvisor.

At Temple Bar Hotel, guest satisfaction is our only priority and where possible we strive to get it right first time but when this does not happen, we greatly appreciate immediate feedback so we can be afforded an opportunity to provide a positive experience.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Temple Bar is an excellent hotel that is ideally located. Being on Fleet Street, it's in the middle of everything We saw the sights during the day and toured the pubs at night. The hotel was first rate. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the rooms, while a bit small, were well appointed and clean. We had many conveniences including a safe, wi-fi, and coffee maker. The bed was roomy and comfortable and there was plenty of closet space. Facilities were modern, and the hotel had a security system that made us feel a bit safer. For example, a room key was necessary to operate the lift. Best of all was the location. Directly across the street was a grocery store and a city tour bus was within three blocks walk. Trinity College is around the corner and Dublin Castle is just a little further. If we return to Dublin, we'll stay there again and will recommend Temple Bar Hotel to all of our friends.

Room Tip: I cannot rate the pool or fitness center because I did not use either. I don't believe there wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLacy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear SLacy2014,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we were delighted to read of your experience at Temple Bar Hotel. I am delighted that our location enhanced your stay. We really appreciate your compliments along with your recommendation.

We hope to welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel really is well situated to visit and party in Dublin, right in the middle of Temple Bar, and a short walk from excellent restaurants and tourist attractions. Not the place to go for a quiet evening, and the partying goes on into the night. There is a convenient car park nearby.
Annoyingly, we were asked to pay cash for breakfast and bar drinks, as no-one had thought to invite us to provide a credit card on check-in. Also, the quiet bar in the hotel closes early, so a late drink had to be in the very loud bar next door, which was very friendly, but packed.
Excellent rooms, comfy beds, and everything spotless.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback. Here at Temple Bar Hotel, we pride ourselves on our central location and I am glad this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

I will investigate with our front desk team why you were not asked for a credit card to cover charges on arrival. Please accept my apologies for this.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed in Dublin for the first time late june 2014...and What a fun town:-) had a weekend there , the hotel is right in downtown Dublin..rooms new and Nice, good nightclub and bar at the hotel. Grocery store across the street:-)..only downside is if your room facing the street ,gjere vill be some construction noise from across the street...also no minibar in room..but åa Nice stay and will stay here again..its å 30 min cab ride from the airport 30 euro .. have been several times to england.. but the Irish people is even nicer..:-)

Room Tip: Maybe a room not facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BergenNorwayJog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear BergenNorwayJog,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I will share your kind remarks with our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great location, great service, and clean, quiet room. What else do you want? We enjoyed the breakfast as well. Desk service was always helpful. Went to the bar off the lobby. It was nice and not too crowded.

Room Tip: If you are concerned about noise, see if you can get a room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Sharon H,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we were delighted to read of your experience at Temple Bar Hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues. We really appreciate your compliments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#46 of 151 in Dublin
956 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,206 reviews
The Morgan
#40 of 151 in Dublin
2,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £119 - £287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Bar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing