We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family came off of an overnight flight to Dublin. Upon arrival they stated that the reservations we had through Expedia were not confirmed as stated on my receipt. Then they told us the rooms would be ready At 3:00 which was check in time they still we're not ready. After being charged 200 euro extra on top of my agreed fee the front desk clerk stated " check in time is around 3" At 4 we were finally given a room. Breakfast was also a disappointment We had 10 glorious nights stays after this in Ireland. This was our only bad experience

Room Tip: Get a room off of the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Waka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    783
    354
    110
    80
See reviews for
261
813
136
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in july 25 & 26. Its a great location and comfortable hotel. The staff where all friendly and we were upgraded to a larger room for our wedding anniversary. Breakfast was good and plentyful and there is buskers bar right next to the hotel which is a good lively bar. It was noisey on the street the next morning, but that is no fault of the hotel, we where in a front room and it was bins being collected etc. Our room was clean, large but very warm, which again was no fault of the hotel as it was a warm weekend. Its a great location to explore dublin and we would def stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear katiemcl,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to read of your experience at Temple Bar Hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues.

We really appreciate your compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

No argument the hotel is right in the heart of it! The hotel is less than a 5-minute walk from the airport bus stop. Reception is nicely laid out ensuring you get checked in quickly but there is soft seating should you need it. Although the rooms are not ready until 2pm the one euro charge per bag for holding your bags securely whilst you “hit the town” is great for a city hotel. The room was clean and functional with plenty of space and storage for a weekend for the two of us. You also get the use of a room safe free-of-charge. You also get free wi-fi, in your room and public areas and the signal strength is very good. We took the option of the full breakfast which was adequate, not the best quality you will ever have, but okay. Disappointing that for a modest charge the hotel let passers-by and workmen in for breakfast. We ended up having breakfast with a load of road workers who we’re absolutely fine, but we ended up having to ask several times for breakfast items to be re-stocked. The biggest piece of advice about this hotel is though…. Make sure you get a room that overlooks the courtyard or bring ear plugs otherwise; you’re not going to get much sleep! A lot of the rooms overlook the Temple Bar area and on the one side (our side!) is actually over a night club. On the whole though a nice hotel, but if we were to go to Dublin again, I’d book a hotel in an area away from Temple Bar

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blackcountryblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Blackcountryblue,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are proud to offer the best value breakfast in the area. This is very popular with both residents and non-residents and we aim to replenish the items as quickly as possible during peak times.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here and we hope to see you again.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Right in the middle of templebar, this hotel is easy to get to from the bus/train station and is located close to all the tourist attractions. A great hotel for experiencing the nightlife in the heart of Dublin, so don't be expecting a quiet night. The lobby is lovely, the breakfast was ok and the hotel was generally very clean. The rooms are small but this is to be expected in the centre of Dublin. However, the room we were assigned was not pleasant due to the air conditioning unit for the hotel/bar being located right outside our window. There was no city view, but that wasn't a problem. The view was a network of pipes and fans...and the noise...was awful. It was a very not night in Dublin, there was no air con in the room so we had to open the window...it was a case of over heat or not sleep with noise. We had a twin room and my friend's bed sagged in the middle and was missing quite a few springs. Hence she got absolutely no sleep. If checking into the hotel, Ask for a room on a higher floor, away from air con units and check the beds before you turn in for the night! We did raise these issue with reception the following morning but she said there was nothing she could do as we had pre paid. We weren't looking for discount, we were looking for an apology and a comment that they had taken it on board and we review the situation. The hotel bar, Buskers, has live music and is a pleasant place to sit for a few drinks and watch the world go by!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcn2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear cmcn2011,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel, we pride ourselves on our central location and I am glad this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

In relation to the noise you experienced, we are located right in the centre of Temple Bar and from time to time we do suffer a degree of noise disruption from the surrounding business and equipment operation. We have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

I will pass on your kind remarks to the Buskers team and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
abu dhabi
Level Contributor
218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed 4 nights arriving on a Saturday afternoon. First impressions weren't good when a bunch slightly tiddly women spilled out of reception as we were going in. However, the room was a pleasant surprise - fairly large and being on the 4th floor away from the street, there was no noise pollution at all. There was good storage, a bath tub, safe, tea/coffee making facilities and free wifi. The location is excellent - couldn't be more central. Breakfast is good and varied, even though they could be a bit quicker replenishing the hot food (twice had to wait about 10 mins). A few minor negative points - the toilet flushing handle didn't work properly, and despite reporting this, it wasn't fixed. There were no bathroom 'minis' - only soap and shampoo dispensers. It was lucky I had brought a bar of soap otherwise I don't know how you are supposed to manage when taking a bath, with the soap out of reach high up on the wall. The bar looked tacky, so we didn't use it. They ought to make sure their staff have a minimum standard of English before employing them, as twice we asked (non reception) staff members questions and they didn't understand. Also, they should train their chambermaids how to make beds properly. The lower sheets were still crumpled so clearly all they did was pull the top bedding up. The duvets were so tightly tucked in that when you pulled them out to get into bed, you also pulled all the lower bedding out ( this was every day - not just a one off). Very annoying!

Room Tip: Request a 4th floor room away from the street if you want peace and quiet. Ours was 411.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dupeyabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear dupeyabu,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your experience in Temple Bar Hotel. We value your feedback as it helps us to improve the service that we offer our guests. While I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, I was disappointed to read your comments in relation to the toilet handle and the bed linen, thank you for bringing it to our attention and I will discuss this with our accommodation team.

Please be assured we have taken your feedback on board and will be reviewing our procedures to prevent a repetition of this occurrence. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and I hope this would not deter you from returning to Temple Bar Hotel in the future.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed July 2014 on a very busy weekend. The location cannot be faulted, unless you want something considerably quieter. My friends had rooms overlooking Fleet St, and on a night time it is VERY loud - ear plugs recommended.

Rooms were ok, I think the professional photo's do flatter the quality of accommodations, and the size of the bed in my room and my friends room was ok for 1 person, not great for couples.

Bathrooms were pretty decent, the only gripe was that the shower was quite low, so anyone over 5ft 10 would likely need to bend down to wash hair. I do find this is an issue for me personally in a lot of hotels.

Breakfast - Buffet style was good, plenty of fresh food. Wasnt too busy in the restaurant when we were in there. Be aware that if you leave early on a Sunday as we did, breakfast doesnt open until 8am. This could be an issue for anyone flying to the USA for example.

Buskers bar was nice, clean, and did a decent pint of Guinness, we did not venture into the nightclub on site though.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a partying weekend in Dublin, but if you are looking for something quieter, then perhaps looks elsewhere to avoid the madness on a night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear StagParty,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of
these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I could not rate this hotel high enough! Stayed here with a group of girls for a hen on the 18th/19th July and the service was first class!! Maria made the whole booking process so simple and Connor who did our cocktail making session was fantastic as well!! Best service ever and would highly recommend!!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LDillon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear LDillon00,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to read positive feedback.

I will pass on your kind remarks to Maria, Connor and the rest of the team. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back in the near future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
The Morgan
#34 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,621 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#63 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing