We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #38 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Welling
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We booked this hotel so that we didn't have to walk far from the lively bars of Temple Bar Street. Having read that some of the rooms at the front were a bit noisy we asked in advance for a quieter room at the back on the fourth floor and this is what we were given! However on the roof of the hotel were some very noisy generators which was a bit annoying! Still we slept very well. Breakfast was really tasty and lots of choice. Staff at breakfast offered us a quieter table as the breakfast room was heaving on our first morning which was very thoughtful. Every member of staff that we met was extremely helpful from storing our bags until we could check-in, finding the location of a restaurant we want, to helping us check-in for a flight home. One member of staff very kindly took a photo of my husband and me another thoughtful action. Well done to the staff!!!

Room Tip: If you want to have a good sleep ask for a room near the back away from the street as the street is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDH270461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear LDH270461,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and we were delighted to read of your experience at Temple Bar Hotel. I look forward to sharing your comments with my colleagues. We really appreciate your compliments and we hope to welcome you back again in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    856
    366
    114
    82
See reviews for
305
881
142
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

My friends and I booked 2 rooms here for 5 nights the first week of May which turned out to be a bank holiday. The location was great. Close to all the bars, restaurants, shopping, and tour pick up locations! Of course being a bank holiday weekend, it was very loud at night in the rooms that face the street. My friends asked for a room change and were moved to a quieter room. Service was great. Offered us a cold breakfast when we had to leave early before normal breakfast hours.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank rainforme2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear rainforme2,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor. It is always great to hear such positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I will share your kind remarks with the rest of our team and we hope to welcome you back in the future

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

went on mates birthday and as far as we are concerned all 23 off us thought this hotel was brill,everything we needed was within distance.the staff in the hotel were very friendly and the rooms were very clean and big.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markrubyreynolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear markrubyreynolds,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of Temple Bar Hotel on Tripadvisor, we appreciate your feedback. I was especially happy to read that you found the service provided by our team to be friendly and helpful.

Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to welcome you back to Temple Bar Hotel in the not too distant future!
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Location, location, location.

This hotel was perfect for us as we wanted to explore the city during the day and night. The hotel as the name suggests is located in the Temple Bar area of the city which is full of great bars and restaurants and within walking distance of all the main attractions.

The hotel itself was average; nice reception, basic rooms, ok amenities but uncomfortable beds. It is also very noisy at night so if you are a light sleeper or not looking to explore the cities nightlife there are better hotels for you.

Overall the hotel worked for us and I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyH25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear EmilyH25,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. We pride ourselves on our central location and I was delighted to read this enhanced your trip to Dublin. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team here.

We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Loved the hotel & location to Temple Bar. Reasonable prices for the area too. We were on a hen do & the staff were fabulous, didnt want a crappy hotel so very pleased. Cocktail making with William/Billy was awesome fun & very recommended!
Only 2 faults... Breakfast not consistent. One day great, the next very average.
The other was the location of the room. Great as close to lift but the noise from the street below was awful. Getting some aircon & secondary double glazing for these rooms would solve the issues.
Would definately return but ask for different room location.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulaD44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear PaulaD44,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your stay in Temple Bar Hotel. It is always great to hear such positive feedback regarding our staff. We pride ourselves on our central location and I am glad this enhanced your trip to Dublin.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms. I will pass on your comment regarding breakfast to the Chef.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

A good value hotel in the middle of Temple Bar but the early morning noise from the streets below where unforgiving.
Good location with friends and family at very reasonable prices but glad when they had gone home and we could move on for some peace and air conditioned room.

Room Tip: Yes free wifi when you could get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear Phil B,

Thank you for taking the time to review Temple Bar Hotel. I was delighted to read your lovely comments. I will pass on your kind remarks to the rest of the team.

We do have quiet rooms in the hotel and will always try to allocate them when requested, so if you choose to stay with us again in the future, we will be sure to accommodate you with one of these rooms.

Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked this hotel due to the reviews on travel advisor, which were not bad. We liked the location and it is a great location. However upon check in we noticed in the room the coffee cups still had lipstick on them, the rest of the room was clean. The bed was hard, and there was no a/c, hairdryer was in desk and old, tv was old and maybe a 12inch. We were on the 3rd floor we could open the window about 6 inches which does not provide enough air in the room. It was on an alley we only got loud noise, not music but noise until 05am when it would stop for 2 hrs and start again, did i mention there was no a/c and it was horribly hot in the room. We had a ok check in the staff wasnt friendly when we checked out we called to see if we needed to do anything, we got bring us your keys we dont want them left in the room. I found it to be outdated, uncomfortable, and stuffy hott unable to sleep.
Would not stay again.
However, if you wanting to stay in temple bar street its good for that but other finer hotels in the area that are close, cleaner and good a/c.

Room Tip: we were on 3rd floor on a alley horrible noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travllvr099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear travllvr099,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay at Temple Bar Hotel. Unfortunately on this occasion we were unable to rectify the issues you mentioned because we were not aware of the difficulties you encountered prior to reading your review on Trip Advisor.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you wish to discuss the matter in detail
Kind regards,
Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s Most Centrally Located Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#49 of 151 in Dublin
892 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,824 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
The Westin Dublin
#12 of 151 in Dublin
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing