We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Temple Bar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Temple Bar Hotel
Ranked #40 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
141 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2011

Excellent breakfast, large rooms, clean, nice bathroom, nice area, .....what more can you request ?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elinisaksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2011
Dear Elinisaksen,

Thanks for your review of Temple Bar Hotel. I’m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope you’ll stay here again soon.

Kind regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    782
    806
    361
    110
    80
See reviews for
275
828
137
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

Planned a surprise trip to Dublin for my boyfriend's 30th birthday and so spent aaages researching hotels etc trying to decide the best to stay in. Had my concerns with so many reviews complaining about the noise so emailed the hotel direct to enquire what would be happening around the time of our stay - lady called Bernice responded to all my emails and was a great help, nothing was too much trouble for her and she really did seem to do all she could to assist me - this was proven when upon arrival and being shown to our room, we had been given one of their luxury super spacious rooms with a king size bed and single bed...... unfortunately there was some renovation work taking place on our floor which we had not been made aware of and it was incredibly noisy, but a quick visit to reception and they were more than happy to move us - to ensure we were moved to an identical room all they could offer at the time was the same room but on the smoking floor, yes you could smell the smoke on the corridors, but there was no smell of it in our room - so, even as non smokers, we were happy with this move.

Being completely honest I will say - on our first night we did not hear any more of the builders and their drills/hammers.... but unfortunately we had been moved to above the 'Buskers Bar' which played very loud music directly beneath us until around 1/2am, our window did not quite shut properly and there was a generator outside our window which - every now and then - would make a fair bit of noise, but soon 'shut off'. There was also a fair bit of street noise, but this was just people enjoying Dublin! As many others have said in their reviews, you have to expect this if you are to pick a hotel smack bang in the middle of Temple Bar! My boyfriend and I would have been part of it had it not been for a very long day!
On our second night, it was the complete opposite! We went to a few irish bars which was great fun, we had planned to finish up in Buskers Bar as it seemed very lively the night before, but upon arriving - they were calling last orders! We returned to our room and we didn't hear any noise at all... it was silent!

The breakfast was great and very tasty with great selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruits, fried breakfast etc. Only complaint here was that they had run out of quite a lot of the fried breakfast when we came down on our 2nd morning, and this was not replaced whilst we were sat down therfore some things we simply couldn't have.

Aside from these very minor things, we found the hotel to be very pleasant, the staff very very helpful, room amazing and the location fantastic and would be more than happy to stay again. This was our first trip to Dublin, it's a fantastic city and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Rose88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Dear Lady_Rose88,

Thanks for your recommendation and review of Temple Bar Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are upgrading our bathrooms at the moment but we hope to have this work complete within two weeks which will be a fantastic improvement to the hotel.
I’m glad you will stay here again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

I loved this hotel. Everything about it was great: The staff were really friendly and amazing, the room we had was massive (biggest bed ive ever seen!), breakfast was Yum! the best thing though was the location...it was so near to all the amazing pubs and music.
People may complain about the noise but who would go and stay in the centre of temple bar and expect quiet? Who would even want that? It doesn't make sense! you go to temple bar for a 'good craic' not for a bath and a sound nights sleep!
would highly recommend this hotel as you can really experience the vibrant night life and its not far to stumble back to your bed!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmaearz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Dear emmaearz,

Thanks for taking the time to write that fantastic review and recommendation of Temple Bar Hotel. I will pass this onto all the staff here who will be thrilled to read this glowing review.

I hope you will return again soon.

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed for 3 nights last week and had a great experience. The location can't be beat, the staff was very friendly and helpful, and the bed was very comfortable. There was minimal "nightlife noise" when it was time for bed; the only thing that kept us from getting a perfect night's sleep was the clicking from the heating system. Otherwise, I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lymac7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 11 March 2011
Dear lymac7,

Thank you a lovely review of Temple Bar Hotel. I’m delighted to hear you had such a great stay with us, I do appreciate reading each and every review.

Best wishes,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roscommon, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

I stayed here recently with a group of girls on a hen night, fantastic location close to all the pubs, clubs and restaurants(great for a group of girls in heels). Great bar downstairs where we had a cocktail making lesson. Rooms were spacious and clean, didn't get to sample breakfast cause didn't make it out of bed on time but the girls that did said it was good. Would definitely recommend this hotel though it is a little pricey!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossiegirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear rossiegirl76,

Thanks for your review. I see you availed of a cocktail lesson in Buskers which are very popular for hen parties and groups. Thanks for your recommendation. In reference to your comment on being ‘pricey’, I would always encourage guests to book directly on the hotel website where you will find our lowest available rates and many special offers.

Best wishes,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2011

Stayed in temple bar hotel for 1 night whilst at a concert in the o2 arena,all i can say is il be back anytime im in dublin the service was top class,i booked a double room for me and my friend and oscar the friendly receptionist asked did we know it was a double lol to be honest we didnt mind but he upgraded us free to a room with a super king and single bed and the room was very big so we were very happy at this,hotel very secure!! and loved the fact when you walked outside hotel all the action was on the street,tesco opposite for any supplies you may need and dozens of restaurants bars on the street of hotel,breakfast was gorgeous selection of meat cheese cereals fruit croissants wheaten bread toast fruit juices yougurts and the best IRISH FRY!!! all in all had a superb time at hotel and will defo be back :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchkels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 8 March 2011
Dear mitchkels,

What a lovely review of Temple Bar Hotel, it’s great to read good feedback from our guests. We have a lot of guests stay with us that are going to concerts in the O2 arena as the location is perfect for it. I’m glad you enjoyed the breakfast and room also.

Hopefully we’ll see you back here again soon,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed for one night before leaving for the Arran Islands and were extremely happy with having chosen this hotel. The room was comfortable, a decent size and clean. The bathroom was also spacious and had good size bath (not the short ones often found in hotels). The reason I am writing is to praise the reception desk staff, both the young women on reception went to much trouble to answer travel queries about train and bus timetables etc and even printed off pages from the internet for us and seemed very happy to help. Good staff are what makes all the difference...well done! Incidentally, the location is ideal for anyone wanting to be in easy reach of all the main attractions and it is also only 50 yards from a bus stop where the airport bus stops (by Conolly Bridge). The buffet breakfast was ok but not great, that's the only aspect which was not above expectations. However, overall we were delighted with this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prospero555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbhmgt, General Manager at Temple Bar Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2011
Dear Prospero555,

Thanks so much for a great review! I will pass on your compliments to the Reception team who I agree go to a lot of effort to ensure our guests are well looked after.
I hope you will be back again soon.

Kind regards,

Guy Thompson, General Manager
Temple Bar Hotel, Dublin’s most centrally located hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,656 reviews
Temple Bar
The Fleet Street Hotel
The Fleet Street Hotel
#66 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#11 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Drury Court Hotel
#26 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Bar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Bar Hotel

Property: Temple Bar Hotel
Address: 13-17 Fleet Street | Temple Bar, Dublin D2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Temple Bar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Temple Bar in Dublin, Temple Bar Hotel is an icon of contemporary design, bringing together a boutique feel and charming hotel service. We guarantee you a great stay in our newly refurbished hotel. The Temple Bar hotel is minutes away from Grafton Street, Henry Street and Dublin's main thoroughfare O`Connell Street and centrally located to Trinity College, museums, the Famous Guinness Storehouse and Jameson Distillery. The choice of restaurants and bars is on our doorstep including our own Buskers Bar which has live music 7 nights a week. If you are looking to catch up with friends or enjoy a drink in a relaxing bar we suggest you try our newest restaurant and bar Toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Temple Bar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar Dublin
Temple Bar Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing