We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for money”
Review of Waterloo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waterloo Lodge
Ranked #29 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good value for money”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The welcome, sevice, food and location were all excellent. Easy waking distance to Dublin with transport outside if preferred. Quiet location so undisturbed sleeps although only a few metres to shops and restaurants. Beds and linen were very good but the pine headboards need to be removed as they did not attach properly so creaked every time you moved in bed. En-suite was adequate with plenty hot water and a powerful shower but needs refurbishment.
Overall an excellent stay for the price as Dublin is an expensive City.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    133
    49
    18
    3
See reviews for
87
100
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Almancil, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Greated by wonderful staff. Room size was sufficient, but bathroom shower was in need of some refurbishment. The heat in our room did not work, so it was quite chilly (February). The breakfast was amazing- served piping hot every morning. The location was fantastic; easy to catch buses or just walk around. Loads of restaurants in the vicinty to choose from. The Waterloo is in major need of some refurbishments- start with the squeaky floors, old mattresses/bed linens and heating.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wicklow, Wicklow, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This B & B is incredibly well-placed, within walking distance of Stephen's Green. Good transport links, bus at the door, etc. Close to bus to airport too.
It's basic in decor - and a shame. They could easily do much more with it. But very good beds and bed linens. Nice breakfast room, and good breakfast choice. The staff are extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wicklow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Staff were great & helpful. Breakfast was excellent also. Location was really good (city bound buses depart from outside the door) - so where did it go wrong? As other reviewers have said - the place is a little tired. The bed wasnt at all comfortable, whoever laid the laminate floor and did the decoration should be sued as its very poor and the bathroom was a little shabby. I feel bad grumbling about this place as what's good about it is really good - however the negatives mean I probably wont be returning

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlannoUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo_lodge, Front Office Manager at Waterloo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear FlannoUK, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you enjoyed the location of Waterloo Lodge and our breakfast, we do make every effort to provide a quality Full Irish Breakfast. I am pleased to let you know that we are currently working our way around our bedrooms and redecorating our en-suite's. We would like to apologies for any inconvenience caused to your during your stay. All the best from the staff at Waterloo Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Spent two days here and will definitely stay at Waterloo Lodge in the future. We had a family room which gave us all the space we needed for 2 adults and 2 children. Lovely, clean room with huge queen bed and two bigger-than-average single beds. Bedding was clean, fresh and cozy. Bathroom facilities were clean as a whistle, well stocked with toliet paper, toiletries and the towels were plentiful for the whole family, fluffy and white too.
View from the window was of next door properties but we were not there to stare out of the window - room was just the right height too from the ground so I could leave the windows ajar at night as I like fresh air when I sleep. Did not use the in-room heating as it made the room far too warm, which the girl warned us about, I prefer fresh air in a room anyway.
Tea-making facilities were plentiful; lots of tea/coffee/decaf/sugar and milks. Kettle was sparkling clean. Plenty of extra pillows in the wardrobe, nice plump pillows too.
Bus stop right outside the driveway entrance for the city centre. Shops/cafes/pubs just five mins walk around the corner. Nice area too, clean and well kept.

Staff - could not fault the friendly ladies who staff the Lodge. Breakfast was A1; excellent service, continental option was delicious too, varied and all fresh. The Irish cooked breakfast was beautifully presented and cooked to a turn. Well done!
Local eateries are stylish but we personally found them too pricey for a family on a budget, maybe Waterloo Lodge would consider offering a light supper menu in their delightful little dining room from say, 7-9pm? we would have taken it for sure. Receptionist warmed up a fruit pie we bought in the kitchen for us in the eveing which was nice service.

I would rate this hotel as being at the very top of the 3 star scale and we will no doubt use Waterloo Lodge as our base on future trips to Dublin. No complaints at all and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 27twinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo_lodge, Front Office Manager at Waterloo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear 27Twinkle, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review, it is very much appreciated. We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of Waterloo Lodge and that your family found it convenient to the Dublin sites. It's great to read that you found your room comfortable and suitable for the needs of your family, we often receive a lot a feedback about the size of the family rooms and how good it is to have space to move around. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin soon. Kind regards, Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

We (a family of 2 Adults and 2 kids) booked to stay here on the 1st Feb 2013 for 2 nights. We had read the reviews and on the strength of them picked the Waterloo Lodge for the value, location and the free parking. There was good communication by email after booking and we looked forward to arriving and having a lovely weekend break.

On arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who explained everything and showed us to our room. We had requested Room 105 a family room with a double and 2 singles. To be fair its a little tired and could do with being refurbished but for £75 sterling per night for 4 with breakfast it was ok. The deal breaker was the fact that the central heating wasn't working in our room or the other back rooms. A plug in oil radiator was supplied and the lady tried her best but she wasn't able to get the heating working.

We opted to leave and they kindly agreed to waive the cancellation fee which was much appreciated. They also offered us alternative accommodation in an other B&B which was thoughtful but we had secured our own alternative by that stage.

Another reviewer mentioned that he was torn and to be fair so are we cause the location is good, there is plenty of bars and restaurants nearby and its close to the Aviva etc. Its just a pity that the place couldn't be refurbished to a higher standard.

Fair play to the staff who tried their best but you don't go away to sit in a room with your coat on! When we see that it has improved we will be back - cause the location is great. It just wasn't for us on this occasion.

Room Tip: Watch the reviews and when the "Poor" and "Average" ones start to tail off think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenJ65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloo_lodge, General Manager at Waterloo Lodge, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear KenJ65, I very much appreciate you taking the time to write your review, it's very helpful and of value to our growing business. Our heating issue is now fixed and please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused. Kind regards, Lorraine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We were looking for a quiet, reasonable priced hotel in Dublin which was not to far from the centre and had off street parking,WIFI and served breakfasts. The Waterloo fitted the bill on all counts with it's friendly staff. Rooms are clean and well maintained. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to Dublin

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StupotScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.0 mi away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#30 of 151 in Dublin
583 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#76 of 151 in Dublin
780 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baggot Court Townhouse
Baggot Court Townhouse
#24 of 150 in Dublin
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Morehampton Townhouse
Morehampton Townhouse
#40 of 150 in Dublin
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leeson Bridge Guesthouse
1.8 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#17 of 150 in Dublin
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo Lodge

Property: Waterloo Lodge
Address: Waterloo Lodge 23 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In central Dublin, Waterloo Lodge offers rooms with free Wi-Fi and hearty, full Irish breakfasts. The Aviva Stadium is a 10 minute walk from this historical Georgian Townhouse, whilst St. Stephen's Green is a 15-minute walk and a further 5-mins to Trinity College. All rooms are cosy and inviting and with comfortable bedding and all include a private bathroom with hairdryers. Rooms have a Multi-channel LCD Flat Screen TV, along with complimentary Tea and Coffee. A traditional freshly cooked breakfast with a selection of homemade breads is served daily. There is also a continental selection available. Onsite parking is available at an additional charge, please book in advance. The Dublin Airport bus stop is nearby to the hotel. Waterloo Lodge is 20 minutes' walk from Trinity College and lively Temple Bar district ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Waterloo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing