We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Charleville Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Castle Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (711)
Filter reviews
711 results
Traveller rating
162
240
163
68
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
240
163
68
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite moosecity centrephoenix parkbus stopdouble roombed and breakfasto'connell streetpleasant staystayed here for two nightshairdryerpubs
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 711 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in early Dec. Room was nice, clean, although i was on my own i had been given a room with a single & double bed. TV has 8 channels (RTE1 RTE2, 3, 3e, BBC1, UTV, Sky News & Channel 4).There are no tea/coffee facilities in room, there is a €1 machine in the corridor. My room could do with large light in ceiling (2 bedside lights, foor lamp & mirror lights). Breakfast can be pre-paid, you get tokens for full irish or continental. Although the location is out of city there is a bus (46a) that stops right outside, so if you are a light traveller you can get a bus from O'Connell Street. You can get a bus from airport, either 1 of several express services or 16, all of which goto O'Connell St.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45topchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Upon checking in, discovered that the lodge's switch-over from analog to digital TV had technical problems and that there was no TV. This wouldn't be a problem except that some in our party were scheduled to fly home through Hurricane Sandy! So no TV for 5 days.

No elevators from street to front desk. Shower pressure was weak and Irish tubs are sized funny (longer & narrower compare to US tubs)--making the shower experience not so great--impossible to turn around without bumping into the cold wall or the cold shower curtain. This tub size issue was true for every place we stayed in Ireland (e.g., Belfast, Sligo, Ennis, Killarney, Tramore, and Dublin (3 different places in Dublin)).

However, the rooms were clean, the beds were very comfortable, the full Irish Breakfast was good and filling, the staff was very helpful with suggestions or help in arranging cabs and the location, while not central to Dublin, wasn't that far from O'Connell St. or buses to take us there. We enjoyed our stay, the price was right and we'd return to it if ever returning to Dublin.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kukscha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

For me this was a bit to far from the city center. the hotel is very nice and staff friendly. good value stay here. woryh a visit.
local pubs are friendly here and a very good all you can eat chinese nearby.

Overall nice place would go back

Room Tip: beware of steps up to hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank querty_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I was in Dulin recently for business trip, stayed in Charleville. It's nice small hotel, didn't spend their too much time, but my room was normal, clean and bed was comfortale. Staff memer are very friendly. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DenisBorinshteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Avoid this hotel at all costs, not only is the hotel dirty, it is riddled with bed bugs (even admitted to by a member of staff they they do have problems with it) we complained, were given another room which also appeared to be infested and was offered only one nights accommodation free (we stayed 2 nights and could not find somewhere else) The three of us who stayed there have about 50 bites each all over our body. Although the staff are friendly this is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank nebodyhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulVStenson, Manager at Charleville Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2012

Dear Reviewer,

To say that we are riddled with bed bugs is completely unfair and totally untrue. As you can see from our previous reviews, we have NEVER had a review of this nature before.

The reality is that every hotel in the world struggles with bed bugs every now and then. However, the fact is that the bugs don’t originate in the hotel, but are brought in by other guests, which is outside of the hotel’s control.

While we do admit that there was an issue in the first room you were in (which has subsequently been thoroughly dealt with), there was no trace of anything found in the second room. We did compensate you fully (full refund) in relation to your grievance on your first night, so we believe it is highly unfair that you have written this review.

In any case, we actively encourage our guests to write reviews, as it highlights any issues which need to be rectified in order to improve the guest experience in Charleville Lodge.

Thankfully, the majority of our guests rate us as either excellent or very good. As you can see, we have an average score of 4 out of 5.

Best regards,

Paul Stenson
Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews