We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”
Review of Charleville Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charleville Lodge
Ranked #109 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Messina, Italy
1 review
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We appreciated the position of the hotel, the availability of the means of transport. The hotel is quiet, the rooms are clean and the room service is very good. The hotel staff members are very kind ( in particular we remember a blonde young lady at the reception who always used to address us with a big smile )

Room Tip: rooms are quiet and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giovanni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    232
    154
    62
    72
See reviews for
108
275
53
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Quaint and charming but definitely in need of some tneder loving care. The room was fine the bathroom tiny with inadequate shelf space(wedged into its clips with paper) and only one hook on the door. The towels were threadbare , frayed and very small. Not enough hot water. The bed pillows were old ratty and unhygienic and should have been replaced. The drinking glasses in the room were not washed or replaced during our stay. We tried the breakast, one waitress just cannot manage there was not the selection of meats and cheeses advertised the food was cold and not served together with the toast and tea/coffee. There is a fee for everything tea ,coffee, drinks, computer use etc. With a little more attention to detail Charleville could be a better hotel.. There are several good restaurants in the area only one was recommended. Bus into the city across the road and just a 10 minute, or less ride.

Room Tip: CHeck on location and bathroom size
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2013

During my stay in Charleville have been fine time A very relaxing place with great kindness by the operators. Recommended for everyone. I slept 4 nights there so u can believe us. A special HALO to the reception

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreatdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had a really nice stay at the Charleville Lodge in Dublin. The rooms have everything you need and the beds are comfortable. A huge TV is provided. The bathroom was clean and well equipped. The continental breakfast was simple but good. I felt safe all the time and the stuff at the reception were very friendly. There is a bus stop nearby, but it is only a 20-30 minutes walk from the Charleville Lodge to the City Center. The hotel is located in a safe area. I recommend can only recommend the Charleville Lodge Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors might be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BineSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I spent 2 nights there, and I enjoyed it. The room was clear and tidy, the bed was comfortable, the staff was nice and helpful. I was cold a bit, but there were extra blankets, so it was ok :) The hotel is not too close to the centre by foot (45 min circa), but the bus stop is right in front of the entrance..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kinga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2013

The rooms were fine apart from some plumbing which need doing,Some of the room need redo decorate. no tea making in the room, got charge 1 euro from coffee machine which were awful. awful smell from bottom. Breakfast fine but need small jug for milk as keep having to share large jug.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janred5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germanytown
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2013

I visit together with a friend Dublin for a longer weekend and stayed three nights in Charleville Lodge. We enjoyed the hotel - the location was nearby the centre, with very good bus connection into the city. We have had a double room with two single beds - we sleeped very well, we also enjoyed the breakfirst. The hotel staff were very friendly and I can recommentd the hotel for a visit in Dublin.

Room Tip: Our room was in the souterrain - really quit - you have to go upstairs - but anyway - you have to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#67 of 151 in Dublin
1,366 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#100 of 151 in Dublin
253 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tara Towers Hotel
#119 of 151 in Dublin
757 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#129 of 151 in Dublin
302 reviews
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Lodge

Property: Charleville Lodge
Address: Charleville Lodge 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleville Lodge is an elegant Victorian terrace of houses located in the Phibsborough area of Dublin City, near to Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Mater Hospital, Grangegorman, The Phoenix Park and within easy reach of Dublin Airport, car ferries, many historical sights, theatres, shops and restaurants.Beautifully restored and tastefully refurbished in a traditional manner, Charleville is often referred to as boutique accommodation. It offers our guests inimitable service and comfort in an atmosphere that is welcoming, attentive and personal.What makes us different?15 minutes walk to O’Connell Street 15 minutes walk to Croke Park Buses to and from City Centre every 10 minutes Near to the centre, but at a distant to allow a pleasant, peaceful nights sleep Taxis to and from Temple Bar approximately €7 20 minutes drive from Dublin Airport Taxis to and from Dublin Airport approximately €20 Resident’s Bar.Multilingual Reception Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Superbreak UK, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charleville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleville Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing