We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed! Enjoyed our stay.”
Review of Charleville Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charleville Lodge
Ranked #109 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our family used this " premier guest house" for one night.We really enjoyed our short stay.The staff were just the nicest you could get,welcoming,helpful and genuinely friendly.The hotel has a secure car park and for only €5 a night.There are frequent but slow bus services to city centre,walking might be faster at times! Rooms are small but cozy,very clean.Beds comfortable.
Showers were very good,plenty hot water and strong pressure.Very elegant residents lounge and pleasant reception area. You get the impression the owners are really doing their best to provide a good customer service.We didn't have breakfast here but it is available.All and all I would no problem recommending this hotel.We will use it again!!!

Room Tip: The only sound we heard in room 43 were seagulls at 8am! Lovely
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bearaman25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
There are newer reviews for Charleville Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 675 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Great location - when I arrived I got a voucher for a complimentary drink if I ate in a gorgeous local (10 minutes away) pub/restaurant which was great. Room was spotless and such a comfy bed. I was really happy with how quiet the place was at night - a very well run and serviced hotel. A few small negatives were the low pressure shower; no tea/coffee/kettle in the room which I would have thought was standard at this stage; in spite of these small things I will go back though for sure. The girl I reception was very friendly and informative. Overall for value for money I would recommend the Charleville Lodge Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flipper091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Needed to find accommodation in Dublin city near the mater hospital with only hours notice ....
Tried a few hotels , all full . Came across this place on internet . Visually appealing from the pictures so booked by internet .
Very conveniently located 10 mins from the hospital with EXTREMELY & I stress EXTREMELY competitive rates. €40 double room with En Suite.
The building is old fashioned Georgian or Victorian so has all those nice features , so having this is doesn't have the mod-cons look one would find in your average international branded hotel ( which all look the bloody same to me )
Room was clean , warm & comfortable . Breakfast was extra , I opted for €5 continental , which was super & again good value .
Staff were very helpful & friendly .
Only constructive criticism I would give is " don't be charging people extra for tea or coffee " for what it costs to provide them , you are losing the goodwill of your customers over the charge . This is Ireland , a good mug of tea is expected everywhere .
Aside from that was really great for me. . As for some of the other reviews I expect nothing else as I work in the service industry , u will never please all the people all the time. . I would & will stay here again . Thank you all .

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Jumong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A convenient location, close to city centre, old Dublin charm, friendly and helpful staff. Small rooms, generally good standard, economical place to stay with nice cafe, restuarants and the lovely Phoenix Park close by.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Nice place and nice people. Bus stop in front of the hotel. The rooms are a little noisy and after 4 times an oriental breakfast you want something else. The shower is not very warm. But we're shure to come back some time.

Room Tip: Too much traffic noise on the north side, even with closed windows
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooievis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Having stayed here before and having been very satisfied I was a bit unsure after reading some recent poor reviews.
I was pleasantly surprised as everything was still very good at this establishment especially for the price paid. Beds were comfortable and clean and breakfast was excellent. All staff were extremely helpful and courteous as was Mr Stenson the proprietor when I e-mailed him in advance about a couple of things..

Free wi-fi and free daily newspaper are things not often available at other establishments.

There may be the odd bit of paint needing attended to but everything is clean and the lounge is stunning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katyg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We appreciated the position of the hotel, the availability of the means of transport. The hotel is quiet, the rooms are clean and the room service is very good. The hotel staff members are very kind ( in particular we remember a blonde young lady at the reception who always used to address us with a big smile )

Room Tip: rooms are quiet and clean
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giovanni R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#69 of 150 in Dublin
1,392 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#89 of 150 in Dublin
641 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#117 of 150 in Dublin
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#82 of 150 in Dublin
1,151 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#38 of 150 in Dublin
1,950 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#99 of 150 in Dublin
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Lodge

Address: Charleville Lodge 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £52 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleville Lodge is an elegant Victorian terrace of houses located in the Phibsborough area of Dublin City, near to Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Mater Hospital, Grangegorman, The Phoenix Park and within easy reach of Dublin Airport, car ferries, many historical sights, theatres, shops and restaurants.Beautifully restored and tastefully refurbished in a traditional manner, Charleville is often referred to as boutique accommodation. It offers our guests inimitable service and comfort in an atmosphere that is welcoming, attentive and personal.What makes us different?15 minutes walk to O’Connell Street 15 minutes walk to Croke Park Buses to and from City Centre every 10 minutes Near to the centre, but at a distant to allow a pleasant, peaceful nights sleep Taxis to and from Temple Bar approximately €7 20 minutes drive from Dublin Airport Taxis to and from Dublin Airport approximately €20 Resident’s Bar.Multilingual Reception Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleville Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing