We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really worth the price”
Review of Charleville Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charleville Lodge
Ranked #110 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Milford, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not really worth the price”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights at the end of our stay in Ireland. The hotel is cramped, care-worn and slightly over used. We just started laughing with each other when we noticed things that were just hanging by a thread,, such as door knobs. There was barely enough room to walk around the end of the bed, and since that was the only place for our luggage, even that was not available. You had to sit on the toilet and then tuck your legs under the sink. Because of the room size, we spent time in the lounge area, rather than relaxing in our room.

When we arrived for check in, a 1/2 hour early, we were directed, rather rudely to just wait until it was time to check in. They also had a rather dated habit of requiring you to turn your room key in when you left the building. (which was just as well, since they had a HUGE tag on the room key, that actually made it a pain to lock and unlock your room). Oh, and parking was an extra fee...yeah.

We had no desire to avail ourselves of the breakfast, given the condition of the rooms.

The location leaves a little to be desired if you just want to walk to the city center. The neighborhood is a bit rundown, didn't give you a warm, fuzzy feeling.

If other critical reviews are any guide, the manager will come along and belittle my opinion. That is fine, I never intend to stay here again, and would not recommend it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank The_M1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    233
    154
    63
    72
See reviews for
108
276
53
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The hotel was excellent - close to the Zoo and a short bus ride from just outside the hotel to the centre of the city and the museums etc.
All the staff were extremely helpful and jolly - a real pleasure.
Thanks

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwhabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here for four nights and while the hotel itself is very nice I was a bit disappointed with the room and the location. I arrived early in the morning and the hotel didn't have a formal, secure place to store my luggage so I left it basically in the lobby which was a bit of a risk. Thankfully it was safe. However, the staff were extremely nice and very helpful. They showed me how to get around Dublin easily. There is a but stop right beside the hotel too and I'd recommend taking the bus if you wish to get downtown, as the hotel is a bit farther from city centre than I'd thought. It is a great location for Glasnevin cemetery though, which is definitely worth a visit. This guesthouse, like many guesthouses in Ireland, lacks an elevator, so be prepared to haul your luggage up a few steps. Overall, the room was tidy and comfortable enough, and service was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here last year for holiday in Dublin, very very ordinary accommodation, don't believe pictures on internet it was nothing like them. Very disappointed with size and disposition of room, service pretty ordinary. Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank vattwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Santa Eulalia del Rio, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

What can I say....except EXCELLENT! My fiancee & I satyed here in November 2013. The room was sooo comfortable and decorated in wonderful style. The staff were very friendly, especially the girls in the breakfast room....where the full Irish Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous! The hotel as a whole was quaint and homely. The bus to central Dublin was 3 minutes walk away and we made the John Doyle Pub our 'local' in the evenings to enjoy a good pint of Guinness! Bit of advice...purchase a 3 day pass from the bus station as this includes as many bus rides as you want, plus the Dublin tour bus and return journeys to the airport!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madcowcaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Good location, very close to the bus stops where the buses are regular & only about 5-10 mins to main attractions. Room was not the best, the handle on the bathroom door hanging off & the bedroom was very dusty. Wifi connection was very poor in the bedroom so we had to use the downstairs lounge where the connection was better. The staff were very friendly & were very helpful & gave us clear directions to Grafton Street & Croke park. We were there for a One Direction concert however the hotel were not aware of this at first & per warned us that the concert was on over the weekend & there may be some disturbances later into the evening. Good price for the rooms & beds were really comfortable. Would stay here again due to location & friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura_McD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moy, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I give this place 2 stars
1 for friendly staff and 1 for comfortable bed. Over priced for room only 183 euro 2 adults and 1 child oh and that included car park. Room dusty, tiny en suite. Wires visible on ceiling light fitting and a really strange unpleasant smell in the corridor on way to bedroom! Disappointing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
11 Thank MBM213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Kilmainham
Sheldon Park Hotel
Sheldon Park Hotel
#66 of 151 in Dublin
1,371 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#100 of 151 in Dublin
253 reviews
Tara Towers Hotel
#118 of 151 in Dublin
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#129 of 151 in Dublin
302 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#79 of 151 in Dublin
1,135 reviews
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleville Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleville Lodge

Property: Charleville Lodge
Address: Charleville Lodge 268/272 North Circular Road, Dublin 7, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Charleville Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleville Lodge is an elegant Victorian terrace of houses located in the Phibsborough area of Dublin City, near to Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Mater Hospital, Grangegorman, The Phoenix Park and within easy reach of Dublin Airport, car ferries, many historical sights, theatres, shops and restaurants.Beautifully restored and tastefully refurbished in a traditional manner, Charleville is often referred to as boutique accommodation. It offers our guests inimitable service and comfort in an atmosphere that is welcoming, attentive and personal.What makes us different?15 minutes walk to O’Connell Street 15 minutes walk to Croke Park Buses to and from City Centre every 10 minutes Near to the centre, but at a distant to allow a pleasant, peaceful nights sleep Taxis to and from Temple Bar approximately €7 20 minutes drive from Dublin Airport Taxis to and from Dublin Airport approximately €20 Resident’s Bar.Multilingual Reception Team ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Charleville Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleville Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing