We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Place to Stay”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 152 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at the Ariel House for four nights and were very pleased, would definitely stay here again. All of the rooms are different, but are furnished Victorian style. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are clean and modern. It's located in Ballsbridge, a nice residential area in the Dublin suburbs. There are several restaurants within walking distance. You could walk to City Center (probably 15 minutes), but it's a really quick trip on the DART. The DART station is very convenient, located just a block from Ariel House.

What sets this place apart is the outstanding service. We arrived early in the morning from the U.S., and were served tea, coffee, and scones while our room was being prepared. The staff helped us with dinner recommendations and reservations, made tour reservations for us, and advised us on traveling the DART. One day we took an all day tour to Wicklow, and it was cold, wet, and windy the entire time. When we returned to the hotel, we did not feel like going back out for dinner. Yanna helped us order pizza for delivery, and then set up a table in the dining room so we could enjoy our meal. There aren't many places that offer this level of attention! The entire staff is warm and welcoming.

The breakfasts are wonderful, fresh and something for everyone. There's also a pleasant old fashioned drawing room, with newspapers and an honesty bar in the evenings. Stay here--you will be comfortable!!

Also, it's a fun day trip to take the DART to Dun Laoghaire and several of the towns south of Dublin. We did this one day when the weather was spectacular, and really enjoyed the scenery and just walking around the towns.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CWJ201156003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear CWJ201156003

Thank you for writing a Trip advisor review of your stay at Ariel House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the style, décor and ambience of the house and are particularly pleased that you rate our staff and the service so highly. We are really grateful for the lovely feedback and delighted that you felt so at home in Ariel House

Best wishes
The Team at Ariel House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,293 - 1,299 of 1,661 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

I have stayed in many big hotels here and abroad and was hesitant about staying in a boutique like hotel such as this but the personal touch and warm welcome was so refreshing. I have only positive things to say, the dart is right beside hotel so going into town or anywhere along the dart line is made so easy. We were able to walk to Roly's Restaurant in Ballsbridge (10mins away) for a fabulous meal that evening. The breakfast was delicious, everything freshly cooked and a great choice, you will definitely be full for the day. We were tired on arrival and we received a lovely tray of tea and fresh scones to revive us. When I asked how much I was told it was complimentary - nice touch ! Beds very comfortable and bathroom with all the necessities. A good mix of the old with the new without compromising your desired comforts. Cant wait to go again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear Paula h
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Ariel House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and to receive such positive feedback on the service, location and little extras we offer our guests, like the tea and scones! Your comments are very much appreciated in particular the fact that you would return in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Ariel House
Best wishes
The Team at Ariel House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We were travelling with our 14 year old daughter and we wanted her to see what a Bed and Breakfast was. We could not have picked a better one. Breakfast was excellent and the rooms, very cozy. The people at Ariel House are incredibly helpful and nice. Our airline could not find our luggage and they assisted us with the calls and stuff. They even had the nice touch to call us on the cell phone to let us know the last of the suitcases had arrived so that we could enjoy our day, which we certainly did after that!!
They also helped us with other reservations as we wanted to see a traditional Irish music show. We went to the Ploughboy Pub (which is a worthwhile experience, by the way) .
The hotel is in a quiet area, far from the noise in town but conveniently close. If you come by car, there is parking space. If not, it is a pleasant walk to downtown (we went in summer) but it is also very close to a train station that takes you downtown in a few minutes. We will recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristina020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear cristina020
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Ariel House. We are really pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your positive feedback on the rooms and our breakfast. We are delighted that you enjoyed your evening at the Merry Ploughboy and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future
Best wishes
The Team at Ariel House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The location was excellent, out of the centre but easily accessible by the Dart rail connection on the doorstep. Rooms were well finished off. The breakfast menu gave a wide variety but unfortunatelly we had to catch an early ferry so missed out.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teejay19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Dear teejay19
Thank you for posting a Trip advisor review of your stay at Ariel House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and the convenience of our location. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ariel House.
Best wishes
The Team at Ariel House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My family stayed for two nights at Ariel House. It is located in a very beautiful part of Dublin that is also conveniently located by a DART station. Our rooms were very nice, and quiet, and the staff was lovely. We had fabulous Irish Breakfasts both mornings. When we were late checking out because we had trouble getting back from renting our car they were very nice about it. The only thing I didn't like was all the steps and stairs, but if that doesn't bother you it was great. We would go back again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2011

Dear SusanSD
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Ariel House. We are thrilled that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and the style and location of the house. We agree that the leafy suburb of Ballsbridge is one of the most beautiful parts of the city, whilst not being too far from the centre. Unfortunately the steps to the building are part of the Victorian charm. We are always happy to assist with luggage or arrange access at the garden level if required. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Ariel House
Best Wishes
The Team at Ariel House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

I’m not in the habit of writing reviews for places I stay and I am compelled to write this review.

If you are looking for a special place to stay in an excellent Dublin area, Dublin 4, check out Ariel House . I’ve traveled to over 65 countries and over 128 cities internationally. I’ve stayed in hotels, Beds and Breakfast of all qualities. Ariel House has been the one that I keep coming back to in Dublin. The place is reminiscent of calmer times, the rooms are quite comfortable with great amenities. You really don’t have to bring a thing. Their breakfast is top notch and reflects the overall quality of this place. I would rate Ariel House above the “Executive Floors” of most top star hotels. It's a place you feel at home.

There may be more glamorous, and certainly more expensive places to stay but It’s hard to find the hospitality, the general warmth of their staff, the genuine concern for their guest’s comfort, and the value of the Ariel House accommodations. They are located in Ballsbridge a lovely area of Dublin within a short walk to city center and near enough to the rail to walk. If you are here for the Dublin Horse Show – it couldn’t get better.

Atmosphere – check
Comfort – check
Location – check
Amenities – check
Hospitality – check
Value – check
That ‘other’ intangible quality - check

They even took care of me when I was sick. Seriously – what hotel would do that?
Go – enjoy your stay at Ariel House you’ll be glad you did.

Room Tip: Just ask what you're looking for. Ariel House will try to match the room to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Kathleen L
Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at Ariel House and for rating our property so highly. It’s great to read such positive feedback - we are always happy to go out of our way to make our guests feel comfortable and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin.
Best Wishes
The team at Ariel House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Ariel House is a lovely friendly hotel located just outside the main hub of the city - very close to the Aviva Stadium. The quality of our room/facilities was excellent and spacious and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were located on the ground floor and overlooked the rear garden which was lovely and quiet. The breakfast is exquisite with a very extensive choice - a choice we have never seen at other hotels. All of the staff are extremely helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. They all have an excellent knowledge of the local area and are more than willing to recommend/book restaurants, theatre tickets, etc. The service and hotel is faultless. There is a Dart station within 5 minutes walking distance. The Aircoach to Ballsbridge takes you to within a 5-10 minute walk of the hotel and we found this to be a really easy way to get to/from the Airport. There is a wide choice of restaurants within the area - but the only one we tried was French Paradox (French cuisine) - our meal and the service was excellent. We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any traveller to Dublin and we will certainly be recommending it to friends and family. This will definitely be our choice of hotel the next time we are in Dublin. Thank you for a very memorable stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2011

Dear Alison V
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Ariel House. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your room, our breakfast and found our staff and their suggestions helpful. We are most grateful of you recommending us to family and friends and we hope to see you again soon.
Best Wishes
The team at Ariel House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 152 in Dublin
4,302 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 152 in Dublin
4,765 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 152 in Dublin
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 152 in Dublin
3,569 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 152 in Dublin
4,780 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 152 in Dublin
3,709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#4 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £79 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing