We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Dublin”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Dublin”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We loved our stay at the Ariel House in Dublin. We were upgraded for free to an awesome room when the staff found out we were on our honeymoon. Food was great and the location was close to public transportation which made it easy to get around the city. We will definitely be staying there again on our next trip to Dublin!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Josh R
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Ariel House. We are delighted to heat that you enjoyed your stay with us and the room upgrade! We are so pleased that you will be returning on you next visit to Dublin and look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    365
    62
    20
    16
See reviews for
343
779
57
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed for one night in early June, and that was enough! We chose to stay here based upon reviews on this website. I can honestly say that people must be very easily pleased to rate this place so highly.

First, the positives: The breakfast was decent, with good choice. However, it’s poor form when there are more guest rooms than tables at a place this size, resulting in customers standing and waiting for tables to become free before they can eat. The availability of coffee and cake/biscuits in the guest’s lounge during the afternoon and evening was a nice touch, and the place is kept clean.

Now for the (many) negatives: We booked a “superior double” room, and ended up what can only be described as a cramped twin, with the beds jammed up against walls. The hotel’s website describes superior double rooms as, “tastefully appointed and elegant.” Trust me, they aren’t, and the room we stayed in looks nothing like the images portrayed on the website! Next there’s the en-suite bathroom, which is small and poorly ventilated, and next to useless because the water pressure is so low that the taps run slow and the shower dribbles water … it’s more like being in a light rain shower than a refreshing power shower. We requested a quiet room when we booked, but we were placed next to the main staircase and above the breakfast room, neither of which were quiet. The location of the Lansdowne Road DART Station about 100 metres away from the bedroom window didn’t help either, with regular trains and customer tannoy announcements making sleep impossible during busy commuter periods. Worst of all though was the heat in the room … the weather was very humid and sticky while we were in Dublin, but we couldn’t get any through draught into the room because the window is limited to open by no more than about two inches. Safety is one thing, but this is ridiculous …

Overall, this was a VERY disappointing experience, and I strongly advise people to consider spending a few Euros more to stay in a more modern hotel, where the rooms are well ventilated and the facilities in the en-suite bathroom fit for purpose.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Innocent Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear The Innocent Man
Thank you for taking the time to submit a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay at Ariel House. On a positive note I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offering and the complimentary home baking available in the Drawing Room throughout the day. I regret however that you have rated your overall stay with us as a disappointment. The staff and I genuinely do go out of our way to ensure that guests are enjoying the experience of staying with us at Ariel House. Had I been aware during your stay that you were experiencing such disappointment I would certainly have addressed the situation. I apologies that our facilities were not up to standard in your estimation, it’s ironic that guests regularly request rooms at the rear of the property because they are peaceful, quiet and overlook the garden. The nearby DART station operates a digital display system and public announcements on the platform are rare, so I can assure you that this was not the source of the audible disturbance you have described. In your review.
We would value the opportunity to welcome you back to Ariel House and show you the true side of what we have to offer
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here at the end of our Ireland trip. It is a beautiful small hotel in Dublin. The room was very comfortable, nice bathroom, plenty of room. Breakfast was good. Service was very friendly. It seemed more "Americanized" than other places we stayed in which is good and bad, a little less charm than some but very comfortable. It's a pretty good walk into town is the only real drawback. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreadPirateMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear DreadPirateMo
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Ariel House. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the accommodation confirmable. It’s also nice that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the staff friendly and helpful.
We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

On arrival we were offered breakfast while our rooms were being prepared which was a lovely bonus as it was 10.30. The breakfast was a nice surprise. A selection of cereals, breads and cakes, along with a selection of hot food. all fresh and nicely presented, the only down is that there is not enough tables for all guest and a couple of times during our stay we had to wait which isn't always suitable if you are booked on a set time tour.

The rooms were spacious and clean the beds were comfy and I had a lovely nights sleep. Some of the furniture looked a little tired. Bathrooms were modern and always hot water when needed.

The sitting room was wonderul and the complimentary tea and cakes in the afternoon was most welcome after a long walk around Dublin.

the Hotel is about 25 minute walk from Dublin Centre but the Dart railway is a 2 minute walk.

All in all we had a lovely break and would certainly return to Ariel House if visiting Dublin again.

Room Tip: They have a selection of rooms, my sons were in a twin room and their bathroom was a lot bigger than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We really enjoyed staying here recently . We arrived in Dublin early in am and were allowed to go to our room to catch a nap before going out on town. Our room was very clean and the staff so friendly and helpful. The next day, we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with anything one could ask for. On our departure, we were helped with our bags and even given some scones for our trip on train. If I were to return to Dublin, this is where I would go straight away.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Ariel House. This was our first visit ti Dublin. the room was lovely. very comfortable bed and charming decor. The staff were so helpful and the breakfast s were great. They even had coffee for us when we had to leave for the airport before any normal people would be awake! great first impression of Dublin!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeElizabeth_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at Ariel House. It is such a lovely hotel, very friendly staff and very comfortable room. The breakfast was, as always, wonderful - so much choice. The location of the hotel is also excellent with the DART train so close by which can take you into the city centre or lovely excursions up and down the coast. I cannot wait until I can come back to Dublin and stay at Ariel House, it is like coming home.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,972 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,291 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing