We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dublin B&B”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Tokyo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Dublin B&B”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I spent three nights at this B&B and have only great things to say about it. My room was cozy and full of character, the bed was very comfortable, the complimentary afternoon tea in the drawing room was very nice, and the breakfast was sensational. The place is exceptionally clean and the decor is lovely. The staff are fabulous and go out of their way to help you, suggesting walking tours, recommending restaurants, booking travel, and generally maintaining great spirits. The Ariel House breakfast is famous, and deservedly so, so make sure you enjoy their breakfast at least once during your stay and be prepared to wait a short time for a table. If you like boutique hotels with charm and good service this B&B is the place for you.

Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Illywhacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Illywhacker
Thank you for posting a review of your stay at Ariel House on Trip Advisor. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the three days that you spent with us and found the house (and beds) to be comfortable. It’s lovely to read such glowing comments about the staff and nice to hear also that you enjoyed the breakfasts. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope you welcome you again someday
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,098
    349
    58
    19
    16
See reviews for
334
740
57
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed in the boutique hotel for 3 nights while in Dublin (2 at the beginning/1 at the end). Our rooms were very clean and well decorated. The room at the end of the trip was much more spacious than the one at the beginning, for the same price. The staff explained that since the better room was unoccupied they put us in there. I was really impressed with that since I've never stayed in a hotel that gives you a little extra when they can. The first room was also a nice room, just less room for moving around. Also, I love to have a good soak after touring around all day and this place had really nice, clean tubs.

The best part about this hotel was that it was so close to the DART station, and easy to get to and from Connolly Station and the airport. My husband and I arrived in Dublin from the US and took the Airlink Express bus (you can get tickets at the airport, no need to buy in advance). The AE took us to Connolly Station (the stop is actually between connolly and bus aras) where we got tickets for the DART to the Landsdowne Road stop. The hotel is in a nice-looking neighborhood about a half block from the station.

We also went on a Mary Gibbons tour to Newgrange and Tara ($35pp) and the pick up for us was very close by Ariel House (about a block away).

As comparison, we spent one night at Roxford Lodge around the corner. Although it is also very nice, we felt that Ariel was a better value for the money, especially given that it was so close to the DART station.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house and were glad we did. Rooms are nice (although no elevator).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRS-KCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear BRS-KCS
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on your stay at Ariel House. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us on both occasions and rate the cleanliness, comfort and décor of the rooms so highly. I am delighted that you enjoyed the upgrade! We love being situated in leafy Ballsbridge and are really glad that you found our location to be so convenient
We hope to welcome you again in the future
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Travelling for a week through Ireland with six other members of my family, it was initially quite tricky to find some accommodation that would not be overly expensive for us. We came across Ariel House and right from the start, we were impressed with our accommodation. Beautiful structure and layout and a tea room as soon as you walk in the door where you could sit in comfy armchairs, have access to complimentary tea and cake, as well as read a book by Oscar Wilde. Further, they provided us with the rooms on the bottom floor so we could all be together, assisted us with all our transport needs and the breakfast every day was delicious and well presented!

Room Tip: As we were a group of seven people, we were able to acquire the whole bottom floor which was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flaneuse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Flaneuse1
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Ariel House. We are so pleased that Ariel House lived up to your expectations and that you were happy with your choice of accommodation. It’s also nice to hear that you enjoyed the afternoon teas and got a taste of Oscar Wilde! It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and your family and we hope to welcome you back someday.
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

I travel to Dublin regularily and am always disappointed with the hotels I have stayed in, until now.
Ariel House is charming, clean, with superb friendly service and the best breakfast I have ever had in Ireland. I am gluten free and also like low fat milk (very hard to find in Irish hotels) and I feasted on Ariel's home baked gluten free banana bread, gluten free muesli and fresh fruit, eggs and smoked salmon, with other choices available. A large jug of low fat milk was brought to my table and replenished when needed.

What I also like is that it is located in a quiet suburb, away from the hustle and noise of the likes of Temple Bar, so for those sad people like me who don't stay up all night clubbing, it is ideal.

The room, in the basement, was enormous and very comfortable. The bathroom was also huge and featured a large bathtub as well as a shower.

A late check out was no problem and I was able to relax in the drawing room drinking coffee and reading the newspaper until the taxi arrived.

Other pluses include free wi-fi and free parking.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orlyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Orlyk
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Ariel House. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, our location and the comfort of your bedroom. It’s also nice to get feedback on our gluten free produce as we make most of it in-house, so nice to hear it is going down well!
Thank you for rating us so highly and we hope to see you on your next visit to Dublin
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We loved our stay at the Ariel House in Dublin. We were upgraded for free to an awesome room when the staff found out we were on our honeymoon. Food was great and the location was close to public transportation which made it easy to get around the city. We will definitely be staying there again on our next trip to Dublin!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Josh R
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Ariel House. We are delighted to heat that you enjoyed your stay with us and the room upgrade! We are so pleased that you will be returning on you next visit to Dublin and look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed for one night in early June, and that was enough! We chose to stay here based upon reviews on this website. I can honestly say that people must be very easily pleased to rate this place so highly.

First, the positives: The breakfast was decent, with good choice. However, it’s poor form when there are more guest rooms than tables at a place this size, resulting in customers standing and waiting for tables to become free before they can eat. The availability of coffee and cake/biscuits in the guest’s lounge during the afternoon and evening was a nice touch, and the place is kept clean.

Now for the (many) negatives: We booked a “superior double” room, and ended up what can only be described as a cramped twin, with the beds jammed up against walls. The hotel’s website describes superior double rooms as, “tastefully appointed and elegant.” Trust me, they aren’t, and the room we stayed in looks nothing like the images portrayed on the website! Next there’s the en-suite bathroom, which is small and poorly ventilated, and next to useless because the water pressure is so low that the taps run slow and the shower dribbles water … it’s more like being in a light rain shower than a refreshing power shower. We requested a quiet room when we booked, but we were placed next to the main staircase and above the breakfast room, neither of which were quiet. The location of the Lansdowne Road DART Station about 100 metres away from the bedroom window didn’t help either, with regular trains and customer tannoy announcements making sleep impossible during busy commuter periods. Worst of all though was the heat in the room … the weather was very humid and sticky while we were in Dublin, but we couldn’t get any through draught into the room because the window is limited to open by no more than about two inches. Safety is one thing, but this is ridiculous …

Overall, this was a VERY disappointing experience, and I strongly advise people to consider spending a few Euros more to stay in a more modern hotel, where the rooms are well ventilated and the facilities in the en-suite bathroom fit for purpose.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The Innocent Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear The Innocent Man
Thank you for taking the time to submit a Trip Advisor review of your recent stay at Ariel House. On a positive note I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast offering and the complimentary home baking available in the Drawing Room throughout the day. I regret however that you have rated your overall stay with us as a disappointment. The staff and I genuinely do go out of our way to ensure that guests are enjoying the experience of staying with us at Ariel House. Had I been aware during your stay that you were experiencing such disappointment I would certainly have addressed the situation. I apologies that our facilities were not up to standard in your estimation, it’s ironic that guests regularly request rooms at the rear of the property because they are peaceful, quiet and overlook the garden. The nearby DART station operates a digital display system and public announcements on the platform are rare, so I can assure you that this was not the source of the audible disturbance you have described. In your review.
We would value the opportunity to welcome you back to Ariel House and show you the true side of what we have to offer
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here at the end of our Ireland trip. It is a beautiful small hotel in Dublin. The room was very comfortable, nice bathroom, plenty of room. Breakfast was good. Service was very friendly. It seemed more "Americanized" than other places we stayed in which is good and bad, a little less charm than some but very comfortable. It's a pretty good walk into town is the only real drawback. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DreadPirateMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear DreadPirateMo
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Ariel House. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the accommodation confirmable. It’s also nice that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the staff friendly and helpful.
We hope to welcome you back to stay with us in the future
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,732 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,403 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,940 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing