We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Words Fail Me!”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Words Fail Me!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The Ariel House is a real find. My Mum and I stayed here last week while at the Horse Show and they could not have looked after us better. They were helpful before our arrival, gave us a fab room, the breakfasts were to die for and they just couldn't do enough for us. They really made our stay in Dublin a joy....and we shall return for more of the Ariel treatment. Thanks.

Room Tip: Room next to the dining room is lovely and large and looks out over the well tended garden. No noice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan2259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Jan2259
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House for Horse Show week and for posting a review on TripAdvisor. It was really a pleasure to meet you and your Mum and I am so pleased that you both enjoyed your stay. It’s lovely to hear that we contributed to you having an enjoyable time in Dublin and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back at any stage.
Best Wishes
Deirdre McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    364
    62
    20
    16
See reviews for
343
778
57
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ft Worth. TX
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Enjoyed a 4-night stay at Ariel House just last week, the end of a 17-day trip to Ireland. Not elegant, but affordable. . . and we really liked it. It's a lovely old Georgian row house. It is not in the city center, but is 1/2 block from the Dart (train) station and 2 stops into the very heart of Dublin. Certainly worth it for the price. The parking is ample and free, the staff is very pleasant, and the breakfasts are much above average. We ate at 3 nearby restaurants which we would heartily recommend: The French Paradox (wine store downstairs, bistro upstairs), Chophouse (very good gastro pub rec. by Anthony Bourdain), and Tom O'Connell's (brother of Darina Allen of Ballymaloe fame) . . .all within walking distance. The Ariel house had tea, coffee, water, cakes, breads, cookies available at all times . . . included . . . and bottles of wine for sale. Free WiFi. We had a larger room on the 2nd floor of main house facing the street and it was very comfortable . . . lots of room and a king bed. . . Room 222. Only one negative: water pressure in shower is very low. You will not be disappoined here and you might even be glad you missed out on the noise and the prices in city center.

Room Tip: We liked the large room facing the street- upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vanam1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear vanam1960
Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Ariel House on TripAdvisor. It’s always nice to be recognised as an “Excellent Find” and to be considered as being good value for money. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the staff friendly and helpful.
Thank you again – your feedback is much appreciated
Best Wishes
Deirdre McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The area is very relaxing, elegant, quite posh, residential, connected to the center. The near surroundings are surprisingly quiet and calm. The building is an upper class old victorian house - rooms are pretty spacious and high-ceilinged, the wooden floor is a bit squeaky.
I spent 4 nights at Ariel House, in two separate times. The room at the lower level was very clean, quiet, a bit too dark. The room in the main building was large, well lit. Breakfast has been constantly good. The staff was particularly helpful and professional, very hotel-like.
The price was a huge, positive surprise.
Minor points: the toilet in one of the rooms was a bit damaged / one of the receptionist is really attractive. This is for the 25-34 / the B&B is really close to the AVIVA stadium

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vergogna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear Vergogna
Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay at Ariel House to TripAdvisor. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Ariel House on both occasions in particular the breakfast and the rooms in the main house.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future
Kind Regards
Deirdre McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ariel House on both ends of our Ireland adventure. The Ariel House was the perfect spot to get acquainted with city and perfect place to get ready for the trip home. The rooms were large and the breakfast is stunning. The staff is always there to help and arrange tours and taxis for you. With our large family and different ages it was a place that everyone is looking to return to soon!!!

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 972MichaelD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Dear MichaelD
Many thanks for writing a review of your recent stay at Ariel House on TripAdvisor. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and the comforts of the family room. I am also pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast and home cooking! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future
Kind Regards
Deirdre McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in a basement family room and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we wished it could have been longer. The room was comfortable and although it was slightly dark due to lack of ceiling lights, the lamps gave it a lovely relaxing atmosphere. There was plenty of room, beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. We certainly didnt experience any noise from rooms above. In fact it was very quiet for a city.

The breakfast was excellent with a great choice. You could choose from the buffet and also from a cooked menu. We had the cooked Irish Breakfast and one of us had pancakes. We also had toast, scones, fruit, cereals and juices. Our last day was an early start and they provided breakfast for us to take with us which had fruit, banana bread, bread, butter and scones. Freshly baked cakes and biscuits were also provided in the afternoon.

The location is great too, peaceful but close to the train or you could even walk to the city centre.

The staff were always helpful, the building is lovely and has a very welcoming atmosphere. We wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Wendy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Stayed in April. When we arrived our room wasn't ready because we were too early , but we were served complimentary coffee and fresh scones/homemades breads while we waited in the beautiful drawing room . Our room at the back was very quiet. The breakfast is particulaly good. Its a great location for the RDS and still convenient for the city centre as the dart is so close. There are several restaurants nearby .We ate in the hotel opposite at night.Would recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back quieter but maybe not as much character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2012

This is a fantastic place to stay. They do wonderful breakfasts (it is worth staying here for the breakfast alone). The rooms are spacious and comfortable. They have a large lounge with free newspapers and a large television; in the evening there are plentiful scones with jam and butter. The location is unsurpassed; it is right next door to Lansdowne Road stadium (now Aviva Stadium though I hate calling it that) and the RDS, and a short bus trip (or a pleasant tree lined 30 minute walk) into city centre. You couldn't ask for anything more. Deirdre is wonderful; you feel just like you are at home, except the breakfast is way better than at home!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crlgarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,960 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,282 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,936 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#13 of 151 in Dublin
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing