We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The small, personal touches make all the difference.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #3 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The small, personal touches make all the difference.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed in Ariel House following a bereavement in the family and would love to add our positive comments for the staff – it made a difficult time a great deal easier and we were made to feel completely at home during our time in the hotel.

The breakfasts were superlative – beautifully presented and leagues beyond the typical eggs, bacon and sausage which are so often de rigeur, even in the most upmarket of hotel. If pancakes with fresh berry compote, poached eggs with tomato chutney and home-made potato cakes with smoked salmon sound more like what you’d rather be waking up to, Ariel house is certainly the place for you!

The rooms have everything the weary traveller needs (including tea and biscuits!) as well as lovely clean bathrooms and crisp white towels. Each is individually styled; ours had beautiful high-ceilings and a canopied four poster bed.

A real bonus is the bright and airy drawing room at the front of the house – a lovely place to relax, meet fellow travellers or to just sit quietly with the day’s paper and some complimentary tea, coffee or cake. Here too, the kitchen excels itself with its baking – everyday a new, artisan baked treat awaits you on the sideboard (our personal favourite was a blueberry cake drizzled in white chocolate). We were even asked one afternoon if we would like some of the freshly baked rhubarb tart (made with fresh rhubarb, of course!) – it was brought to us, beautifully presented and fresh from the oven with a pot of tea.

Possibly the best part about Ariel House is the staff – caring without being overbearing or nosey, they truly offered the personal touch, going the extra mile where many others wouldn't.

As frequent travellers, it’s often tempting to book with a familiar hotel chain for ease and convenience. Ariel House

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Mowfo
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent visit to Dublin and for taking the time to share your experience of Ariel House. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, despite sad circumstances and are delighted that you felt comfortable and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future and will have the home baked treats ready and waiting for you
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    343
    56
    18
    16
See reviews for
331
730
56
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

5 star luxury. We travelled across for a few days to see a show at the 02. Having stayed once before I knew it was good but it exceeded our expectations. The room was fabulous (James Joyce Suite), the bathroom was bigger than my old flat!! The staff are warm and friendly and the breakfast was brilliant. I would recommend the hotel for couples of all ages who want a bit of luxury without breaking the bank. Will go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Damian H
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ariel House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your return stay with us. Thank you for rating our staff and the service so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin….the James Joyce Suite will be waiting!
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Ariel guest house is a small nice hotel in Dublin. The rooms Re clean with comfortable beds, welcoming personnel , but the best thing there is the breakfast. Wonderfull selection of cheese, jams , and homemade pasteries. Every body working there is a professional. The price of the rooms per night is very cheap. Almost close to every thing. Grafton street is 20 minutes walk. I would suggest for any sort of travellers. If there again definitely it will be at Ariel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamerads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear tamerads
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Ariel House on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. We are particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection.
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team at Ariel House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Me and my girlfriend at the time stayed here. My expectations were very high due to trip advisor. Everything was perfect about this place apart from if we looked a little more closely at things they were starting to look worn, For example the trimming on the sofa in our room was starting to come away and although this is minor there were a number of small things like this. These are the only down points to this place. Service perfect, breakfast perfect If only they maintain this place a little better it would all be perfect. We had afternoon tea as it was thrown in with the room and it was brilliant. Salmon sandwiches, tea and cakes. Breakfast options were good. and should cater for most tastes.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear David W
Thank you for taking the time to review of your recent stay at Ariel House on TripAdvisor and for posting some nice photos also! We are delighted to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you rate the service and food so highly. Thank you also for your feedback regarding the furniture in the bedroom; we are planning a project to upgrade some pieces of furniture in the coming months. Many thanks for choosing to stay at Ariel House
Kind Regards
Deirdre McDonald
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Convinced by my wife, I didn't repent of my trip in Dublin.
Ariel hotel is very pretty and quaint. Decorated in classic style, with many elegant fabrics and fine materials. The room is spacious and well maintained, I didn't like the windows overlooking the garden which left little privacy.
A very positive evaluation to breakfast, full of sophisticated products (great cakes).
A downside is the location because the hotel is decentralized.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruiz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Dear Ruiz P
Thank you for writing a review of your stay with us at Ariel House. We are delighted that you liked the comfort, charm and décor of the house. We are also glad to read that you enjoyed our breakfast offering and the local products on the menu.
Best Wishes
Deirdre and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We were looking forward to staying at Ariel House since we saw the other positive reviews and we were not disappointed. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were very quaint. The location was incredibly close to the Dart - like a 50 second walk close. The staff was very friendly and helpful and made trying to figure out where to go and how to get there a breeze.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clickitout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
311 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2012

The Ariel House was just as us Aussies remembered it from our last trip overseas in 2012 to the Emerald Isle - great location, excellent breakfast, free car parking, wi fi, easy access to public transport and restaurants, quiet, pretty spacious room compared to other B&Bs, complementary tea and refreshments for the weary traveller, and a sense of old world charm. Overall we have stayed at the Ariel for seven nights and would recommend it to anyone wanting a top quality B&B in busy Dublin. It does have a lot of stairs due to its architectural style, so if you want to be closer to the ground make sure you book one of these rooms. If ever we are back in Ireland we would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have quite a few steps and if u are like us and have way too much luggage or are a tad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,652 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,346 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,855 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#4 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing