We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice place”
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

This was a very nice place to stay. Spacious rooms, perfect for repacking prior to flying out. The reception workers were very helpful. Only about 30 minutes from airport. Away from the noise of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazingireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    361
    60
    19
    16
See reviews for
341
768
57
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Ariel House is a very cozy place to stay. They probabaly have the best breakfast in town. The quality of everything served is superb. We had 3 rooms during our stay, all were clean but varied in space. Many people talk about taking the dart into the city but we walked. It is a pleasureable and relatively quick half hour into the heart of Dublin. There are several dining options three to four blocks away. Walking in the neighborhood is safe and worth it. My only concern is if you travel with very large luggage, I did not see any elevators and we had a hard time lugging the suitcases around. Parking can be tight if you are driving a large veihicle, but it is located in the front of the hotel. I highly recommend Ariel House.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whissely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

The staff at the Ariel House go to great lengths to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. You can read the other reviews about the breakfasts, but they also serve afternoon tea and cakes, which were welcoming after a day of touring the city. The staff assisted us with dinner reservations, taxis, and even prepared a take-away breakfast sack when we had an early morning flight home.
We were here for 2 nights in the James Joyce Suite. I see another reviewer talked about the bath. Even by US standards it's huge, and so is the room with a lovey sitting area and bay window. Ariel won the 2012 BB award and I can see why.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnySDCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

Having stayed here on a number of occasions due to work i'm happy to say that it's never let me down. The rooms are all individually styled and the breakfasts are first class. This place oozes style and comfort. Miles better than an anonymous chain, i fully recommend this place to anyone who wants a clean, quiet place to stay in a lovely location. The trees outside my window were magnificent in their autumn colour! Look forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We stayed in Ariel House following a bereavement in the family and would love to add our positive comments for the staff – it made a difficult time a great deal easier and we were made to feel completely at home during our time in the hotel.

The breakfasts were superlative – beautifully presented and leagues beyond the typical eggs, bacon and sausage which are so often de rigeur, even in the most upmarket of hotel. If pancakes with fresh berry compote, poached eggs with tomato chutney and home-made potato cakes with smoked salmon sound more like what you’d rather be waking up to, Ariel house is certainly the place for you!

The rooms have everything the weary traveller needs (including tea and biscuits!) as well as lovely clean bathrooms and crisp white towels. Each is individually styled; ours had beautiful high-ceilings and a canopied four poster bed.

A real bonus is the bright and airy drawing room at the front of the house – a lovely place to relax, meet fellow travellers or to just sit quietly with the day’s paper and some complimentary tea, coffee or cake. Here too, the kitchen excels itself with its baking – everyday a new, artisan baked treat awaits you on the sideboard (our personal favourite was a blueberry cake drizzled in white chocolate). We were even asked one afternoon if we would like some of the freshly baked rhubarb tart (made with fresh rhubarb, of course!) – it was brought to us, beautifully presented and fresh from the oven with a pot of tea.

Possibly the best part about Ariel House is the staff – caring without being overbearing or nosey, they truly offered the personal touch, going the extra mile where many others wouldn't.

As frequent travellers, it’s often tempting to book with a familiar hotel chain for ease and convenience. Ariel House

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mowfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Mowfo
Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your recent visit to Dublin and for taking the time to share your experience of Ariel House. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, despite sad circumstances and are delighted that you felt comfortable and at home. We look forward to welcoming you back at some stage in the future and will have the home baked treats ready and waiting for you
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

5 star luxury. We travelled across for a few days to see a show at the 02. Having stayed once before I knew it was good but it exceeded our expectations. The room was fabulous (James Joyce Suite), the bathroom was bigger than my old flat!! The staff are warm and friendly and the breakfast was brilliant. I would recommend the hotel for couples of all ages who want a bit of luxury without breaking the bank. Will go back again without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Damian H
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Ariel House. We are delighted that you enjoyed your return stay with us. Thank you for rating our staff and the service so highly. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Dublin….the James Joyce Suite will be waiting!
Kind Regards
Deirdre and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo, Egypt
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Ariel guest house is a small nice hotel in Dublin. The rooms Re clean with comfortable beds, welcoming personnel , but the best thing there is the breakfast. Wonderfull selection of cheese, jams , and homemade pasteries. Every body working there is a professional. The price of the rooms per night is very cheap. Almost close to every thing. Grafton street is 20 minutes walk. I would suggest for any sort of travellers. If there again definitely it will be at Ariel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamerads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear tamerads
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Ariel House on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms. We are particularly glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast selection.
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us!
Best Wishes
Deirdre and the team at Ariel House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,902 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,506 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,318 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing