We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dublin's most amazing secret ...ssh don't tell anyone !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #3 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Portaferry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dublin's most amazing secret ...ssh don't tell anyone !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

Stunning period guest house on the Lansdowne Road. Great connections via Dart. Deidre and the team will ensure you have the most amazing stay. Nothing is too much trouble and they are all extremely helpful with advice especially on good places to eat and how to get around.

Breakfast is an experience in itself! Gorgeous food beautifully served and lovely to saviour it in the breakfast room. Afternoon tea Wow needs to be seen to be believed!

Will never stay anywhere else in Dublin again !

Room Tip: All the rooms have their own individual amazing qualities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ballyfuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,090
    343
    56
    18
    16
See reviews for
331
730
56
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

This place is the only place to stay in Dublin. The staff were extremely helpful during our stay, so accommodating with our constant questions re: excursions, places to dine, etc. The location was quiet, breakfasts lovely - a great start to our family vacation in Ireland!

A special thank you to Deidre for going above and beyond :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BonnieLass_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

I can't think of a better base for visiting Dublin than Ariel House. They were the soul of friendliness and warmth. The location is brilliant, right near the Dart train to get into the city center. Best staff anywhere. And the breakfasts can't be beat. The internet was not working properly in our room, which was a bit of an inconvenience, but I know they're working on it. And there certainly was nothing wrong with sitting in the charming living room to get online. They even put out fruited water, cakes and cookies in the afternoons and evenings, to make it pleasant. I'd definitely recommend this charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

This Hotel was lovely. Located in a very nice part of Dublin, the staff was so helpful and kind. We received a complimentary upgrade and had the James Joyce room. 15 foot ceilings and a gorgeous canopy bed were quite a treat. They packed a lovely breakfast for us as we had a very early morning. The price was quite reasonable for such a nice place, upgrade or not. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samanthamak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Firstly, the staff are amazing. They really can't do enough for you. The breakfast is amazing, and the choices are wide and varied.

The location is good as you are either about a nice 30 minute walk into the centre, or just two stops on the local transit system, the DART.

Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
262 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Stayed at the Ariel House for 4 nights this July. The service is top notch. The house and rooms are really clean. Breakfast, as noted by many reviewers, is pretty great. But, the bathroom in our room had some issues. First and foremost...the shower's water pressure on the front part of the house we stayed in (we were in 224) in almost useless to someone like me with shoulder length thicker hair. It was really disappointing and took a long time to thoroughly wet, wash and rinse my hair. I mentioned this to the staff while leaving and was assured that this problem was something they were working on and hoping to implement soon. (They are considering some sort of pump that will improve the pressure, but haven't moved forward because it will create other problems...i.e. the noise it might cause to other rooms.) Anyways, in my mind, the problem was significant enough that I feel that it might be wise to advertise that this room (and any others that are also affected) has this issue in booking descriptions. The other issues in the bathroom were a non-functioning hair dryer (a new one was brought for us when we mentioned it) and the toilet that seemed to dribble water for a long time after flushing. On a more positive note, we were here during some amazing summer weather and the Ariel House had a fan in our room, which I really appreciated. Most UK/Ireland locations aren't equipped with AC because it just isn't necessary, so the fan was great to have on hand.

This is a great place to stay, but if any of the above issues are concerns for you be sure to check ahead of time what room you're booking and make sure to book one that will suit your needs.

To get to Ariel House from the airport, we took a taxi that cost about Euro 30. The AirCoach bus currently mentioned on their site does not run to the listed stop, as that route has been cancelled as of now.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carzim59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Immediately upon arriving at Ariel House we were greeted by Deirdre, the friendly woman at the desk. She formally greeted us as well as offered us tea. The BB is located by the Aviva stadium which has a dart, or train station, within a 2 minute walking distance. We did take cabs home however as we came back late a few times. Anyways, the entire staff is friendly and always willing to help with whatever you may need. The rooms are clean and nice. The only negative, although no fault of theirs, is that it was extremely hot in our room the first day even with the small window open. Ireland is having one of the hottest summers ever. Despite that, we were able to sleep as it cooled down late into the night. The breakfast is grande! The dining room is big and beautiful. Fresh flowers are everywhere and it just really is a nice touch. I definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runa5kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,653 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,347 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,858 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing