We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our room was on the second floor and was large and beautifully decorated. The location was perfect for us - a block away from the city train stop and a pleasant 10-20 minute walk to restaurants and bars. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the breakfast was fantastic. When you book, make sure to request a room that is not on the ground floor (basement level).
Our favourite pub was Doheny & Nesbitt at 4-5 Lower Baggot St. with Joe, the bartender.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify that you do not want a room on the ground floor. We highly recommend the Dohen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindabill03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,101
    350
    58
    19
    16
See reviews for
334
742
57
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
190 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Located in a leafy residential section of the city, Ariel House offers a welcoming base to explore the city. Although it is not located in the heart of the city, it's a pleasant 15-20 minute walk into the tourist center, and there is a decent selection of restaurants 2-3 blocks away, good public transportation (bus stop 1 block away, DARt train station at end of block), quiet sleep, and free parking!!

The bedrooms and bathrooms are clean, but nothing extraordinary, and the carpeting is getting a little tired. What makes Ariel House special are the people and their efforts to make your stay special. The staff is super welcoming and goes out of their way to answer your questions and provide help. Tea with freshly baked banana bread and scones is laid out in the welcoming drawing room and available until the wee hours of the night. The breakfast is a cornucopia of freshly baked goods, plus cooked to order dishes (porridge, pancakes, smoked salmon, eggs benedict...). Deirdre spent 1/2 hour (during a busy time) helping us plan the rest of our week in Ireland and helping us make reservations across the island.

Overall, a wonderful introduction to Dublin & Ireland

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

We rolled into Ariel House at 6:15 am on a Monday morning, fresh off a sleepless flight from Boston. My first Left side of the road driving adventure didn't go super well, but we made it. We we were super early and had only asked to store our bags, we were invited to relax in the lounge until 8, when things opened, it was with great surprise and pleasure that Deirdre informed us she found us a bed. We slept until noon and had a wonderful day all thanks to that over and above gesture. On our second night we got upgraded to a Jr. SWEET (suite) only word for it is WOW. You should stay here, also have great breakfast, awesome scones and locally sourced and traceable food. Jessica at Breakfast was super nice.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
197 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

On our girls trip around Ireland, this was our first stop. We booked two twin rooms at a decent price and it included a hot Irish breakfast. The breakfast was amazing – order the pancakes. The house is located about a 20 minute walk from Dublin city center which we walked all over after we parked our car in the front - included. (Driving on the left side takes a bit used too – and parking in the city difficult) Staff was very pleasant. They booked our 2-day double deck tour bus which is highly recommended and useful. At night, we would take a taxi from Temple Bar and Dame Lane area (from the pubs) approximately 8 euros each way (which divided by 4 girls is not too bad and cheaper than taking the train). The house is beautiful and quaint. The room was adequate – clean and comfy beds. I recommend this hotel as a base in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely property. Superb breakfast. Leafy suburb location, yet only 20 minutes into the City Centre.
Loved it,when seeing that we had colds the waitress offered us both hot honey and lemon. I also returned late one night with a takeaway and rather than insisting I eat it outside, the night porter actually laid a table for me. Proper service.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gk00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Everything about Ariel House was fine, but two things were outstanding. The staff is superb, welcoming, informative and always happy to help. They made our stay very special. And then the Irish Breakfast was amazing. All items from porridge to salmon to the full Irish were great. Good location. Nicely decorated. Not fancy, but excellent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zimarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Good location if you are happy to walk in ,also could bus or taxi in to centre. Peaceful and parking in grounds. However the quilt and pillows although clean were tired and had lost all bounce. Would stay again .

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roamingbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,737 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,946 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing