We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ariel House - Oct. 2013”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ariel House - Oct. 2013”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here twice. A real find. Top-notch very professional and friendly staff, beautiful property, great breakfast,cake in the afternoon, in a nice neighborhood a 20-minute walk from the main sights, with good pubs nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ejhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,140
    365
    62
    20
    16
See reviews for
343
779
57
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stay in Dublin. The rooms are simple but the building is charming. The breakfast, as stated in the title, was simple incredible. I don't usually like breakfast but everything was so delicious I could have stayed all day. The staff was welcoming and helpful. And delicious tea and cookies awaited in the "living room" when we returned in the evening. It's an easy walk to the more central touristy area, but in a quiet neighborhood itself. I would certainly return.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank lpo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was our first trip to Ireland and this was a great place to start the trip. It is about a 15 minute walk to where the tour buses are and easily access town. Nice quaint neighborhood, very safe and a short walk to the train (although we did not use it). The breakfast was superior and the staff was so helpful in direction, conversation about the area and helping me get through some issues with the credit card when it was time to leave. Minor issue on the water pressure in he shower (low), but would not keep us from using Ariel house again next time we visit. BTW, Ireland in October is super and the prices are exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Argyle, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

If you like old, creaky, funky, accommodations, this one is for you. After staying at several of Irelands best B&B's, this place was a real disappointment. Thank goodness Dublin is full of fun and we only needed the room to lay our weary heads.

First, the staff, while not rude, were not as friendly as we expected. More like indifferent American service as opposed to the warm and friendly Irish we became accustomed to. Second, the facility was very, very aged. The furniture in the sitting room was very worn out and needed to be replaced. Not very inviting to the point of us not really wanting to sit down. Our room was filled with old, worn out furniture, creaky floor boards and the bed was uncomfortable and small. A double bed for two adults. The bathroom was cramped and I have never seen a shower set up like this one. Finally, don't stay here if you can't walk up numerous steps carrying baggage. The staff helped us with our bags, which was appreciated, but it was still a chore to lug our bags up 10-15 steps to get to the lobby then another set to get to the second floor.

This place was barely acceptable and didn't really dampen our spirits, but it is not a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Panchito7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Quaint, tree lined neighborhood.

Charming rooms, clean, quiet, great service, convenient to metro, good internet, free parking.

Wonderfully delicious breakfast options.

Only negative our room seemed a little small.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Cajon, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We recently traveled to Ireland and booked this B&B based on the excellent Tripadvisor reviews and weren't disappointed. On the day prior to our arrival my wife injured her leg and ended up with a leg cast and crutches. We contacted Ariel House late in the evening and explained we would only be able to stay one night instead of three because of a change in plans to come home early. I was advised that there was no problem cancelling the additional 2 nights and that they would make special arrangements for a ground floor room. Upon arrival they opened a special service door on the ground floor to let my wife avoid stairs and helped us into our room. Then they brought us a complementary tray with two pots of hot tea, cream & sugar, fresh scones, and cookies. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom featured a sink faucet with a single spout for hot & cold water (the first we saw in Ireland) rather than separate hot & cold water faucets. Upon request they made reservations for us to attend an Irish music & dance dinner show that evening and made the taxi arrangements as well. The following morning before departure to the airport they brought 3 trays of food for our breakfast to our room. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crpeter2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

There were many things I liked about Ariel House, but if I returned to Dublin I would try another place for one reason – the beds were very uncomfortable. We stayed two nights but after only one night both my husband and I were complaining about aching backs. We stayed in 3 B&B’s, a guesthouse and a hotel prior to Ariel House with no problem with the beds. Also they use heavy bedspreads rather than easily washable duvets with covers like most of the other places we stayed. The duvets just seem more hygienic to me.

Beds aside, the room was spacious and comfortable with a decent view of the neighborhood. The furniture was attractive and the ceilings were high. The bath was clean and a good size. We needed to call the front desk to figure out how to work the shower but it worked well once that was sorted.

The breakfast was terrific and I was sorry to only be able to indulge one day. And their crispy bacon really is crispy. Wish I’d know that. I’d started passing on bacon since it is usually not cooked as crisply as I like. Good service, a varied and high quality buffet in addition to the entrée menu was accompanied by delicious coffee. The breakfast room is sunny and nicely appointed. There is also a lounge near the entryway. In the afternoons a selection of pastries and coffee is set out. Tea can be ordered.

The front desk was efficient and called a (punctual) cab to take us to the airport. My booking and confirmation emails were promptly answered. The Wifi worked but was slow. Finally, there is a train station very close that will get you into the city center in a few stops, so the location away from the tourist attractions is not an issue.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripsters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,973 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,549 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,292 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 151 in Dublin
3,947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 151 in Dublin
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing