We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but...”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2014

firstly, this is a very nice B&B. It is in Ballsbridge and whilst quite close to a pretty major road; it is mostly quiet. I was on the entry level floor (2nd floor but really the floor that is the lobby floor) and although I heard noise from the floor above, otherwise, it was quiet. Others have commented on the dated rooms but they are fine. bed comfortable, shower and bath fine….nice touch on the Irish "hand made" toiletries. All of this was good. However, and I hope the management does read this; you need to do something about the selection of TV channels. The location of this B&B, close to firms and research/education offices suggest that folks might (like me) be coming to Dublin for business. If this is the case, then what you really need is to be able to come back and watch something other than one of the 11 really poor channel selections. It is not that costly to get better cable and you do need to listen to the reviewers earlier on this. Yes, if you are here as a tourist, watching TV is not high on the list but Ariel House, if you want to get business travelers back, having decent channels to watch when you are not here to see Dublin is a good (smart) idea. For that reason, and a few other small issues, I doubt I would suggest this again--for business travelers-- given the choices in the area. If this is not an issue, then apart from the noise factor (people above me were just really noisy), this was a fine choice. One tip, on Shelburne Road (out the door, take a right, then a left and then walk straight) is a wine bar called French Paradox. Very nice wine and you can get tapas like food. Nice atmosphere, fine to go by yourself and wi-fi!

Room Tip: higher the floor better as you can hear above you….
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CavKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear CavKA,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House for your recent visit to Dublin and for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We are really pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and clean and enjoyed the ambiance of the house in general. We have taken on board your suggestion in relation to providing a more enhanced selection of television channels for our business and leisure visitors alike and will look at improving this element of the service we provide. In relation to the overhead noise from the room above, I apologise for this; if you have the occasion to return to stay with us in the future we will be sure to allocate a room on the upmost floor. Mentioned also in your review were some other minor issues which arose. I would be keen to remedy these, no matter how small, and would be grateful if you can contact me by email to reservations@ariel-house.net. May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Deirdre McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,647 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visited Ariel House on a 2 night bed and breakfast basis. We were on a course in the IPA which is just across the road. The train station is right beside the hotel which makes it an ideal location if you want to go into the City Centre or other parts of Dublin.

Rooms are dated but they are so clean and the beds are so comfortable. At €40 per night each it was really good value.

Breakfast is the best thing about this hotel. So much choice and it is nice to stay somewhere where there are healthy options. We had the poached eggs and salmon and it was beautiful.

There is a little tea room where they have afternoon tea for their guests which was lovely after a two hour drive.
I will definitely be bringing the family to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmcdonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I was at this cosy bed and breakfast in Dublin for two nights. The staff are very friendly and the room I was given very peaceful and warm. It is located close to the train station into the centre, but is only a 20 min walk to Grafton Street. All in all i would highly recommend it. In the afternoon they provide tea and scones in the main reception area with the daily papers and comfy sofas. It is definitely value for money. It was 44 euros per night for a twim bedroom. Only issue I experienced is thatvthe hair dryer was not working but they soon provided me with a replacement one.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank curioustraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Located next to lansdowne rd stadium on the very quiet (stayed Saturday night) Lansdowne rd, we booked the hotel on the back of the reviews left here and it lived up to them all. Big rooms with huge character , comfy beds, nice bathroom, warm welcome for the kids aged 6,4 and 2.

We had an early start the next day and the receptionist offered to have take away baggies arranged. Fresh brown soda bread jams butters, fresh fruit chopped small for the little ones, juice and banana bread - a 7 star take away breakfast

Ariel house is leading the way in the finer details of customer service most hotels overlook. The best hotel experience I have had in Ireland hands down.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Tomasol02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This little hotel offers 5 star service and great comfort in a slightly faded setting. The hotel is clean as a whistle, though the decor of the rooms is a bit dated. Look past it--the staff goes above and beyond and you'll forget all about it and get a good deal too. A piano, newspapers, tea and cakes in the lounge. Warm Irish hospitality. What more do you really want?

The hotel is in a pretty neighborhood and well located for public transit. There is some parking, but be advised, it's a little tight.

Best of all is the included breakfast. It was absolutely delicious with a nice range of buffet and hot choices and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ckcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Amazing service, the best at any hotel or lodgings we have ever had period. Since we travel extensively and stay in many highly rated places that says a lot. Rosie is a true gem and makes your stay here feel special. They truly appreciate you staying with them. An example of the service - when we arrived we asked about getting some cokes and diet coke, but they don't have a machine or any on site. While we were napping Rosie ran up to the nearest store and bought them and had them ready for us when we woke up. We wanted to go to the Chop House for dinner and she called and even thou they were packed was able to find a time and table for us. They set up a cab to pick us up to go shopping and kept updated on them running late and if it wasn't on time they would go out and flag one down. Plus they even refused tips they said that is part of the service they provide. Are you kidding me? That is service you can't find in the states. Great breakfast with all the fixings and top service. The sitting room had a beautiful Christmas tree fresh coffee and teas plus little desserts. Our room Classic Georgian style very elegant and warm.
If you wish to pay for hotels who charge hundreds more and claim to have top service do so. But if you want a true gem in Dublin where you are treated like royalty without spending your royal assets off them Ariel House is where you need to stay. Thanks for a great start to our Christmas holidays.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique so choose any. Ask for rooms facing the back courtyard no traffic noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dayton13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We loved staying here! The staff, our room, and the breakfast were all excellent! I highly recommend this lovely place. The staff went above and beyond to assist us and it is close enough to the city by train or car for most purposes, and very close to the stadium for those who enjoy their sporting events! Nothing to say other than very positive remarks!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Monkey-mummikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,198 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4,689 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
4,699 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#4 Family Hotel in Dublin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £86 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing