We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ariel House
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Drury Court Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$212
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$296
US$273
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$213
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$191
US$155
Croke Park Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sandymount Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Dublin Airport Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$166
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$272
US$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$268
US$254
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hampton Hotel(Dublin)(Great Value!)
US$157
US$148
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,680)
Filter reviews
1,680 results
Traveller rating
1,197
381
65
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,197
381
65
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomdart stationaviva stadiumb blansdowne roadevery afternooncity centreminute walkfour poster bedbrown breadballsbridge areaguest housequiet neighborhoodtea coffeebreakfast was amazingbreakfast roomjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
891 - 896 of 1,680 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2014

firstly, this is a very nice B&B. It is in Ballsbridge and whilst quite close to a pretty major road; it is mostly quiet. I was on the entry level floor (2nd floor but really the floor that is the lobby floor) and although I heard noise from the floor above, otherwise, it was quiet. Others have commented on the dated rooms but they are fine. bed comfortable, shower and bath fine….nice touch on the Irish "hand made" toiletries. All of this was good. However, and I hope the management does read this; you need to do something about the selection of TV channels. The location of this B&B, close to firms and research/education offices suggest that folks might (like me) be coming to Dublin for business. If this is the case, then what you really need is to be able to come back and watch something other than one of the 11 really poor channel selections. It is not that costly to get better cable and you do need to listen to the reviewers earlier on this. Yes, if you are here as a tourist, watching TV is not high on the list but Ariel House, if you want to get business travelers back, having decent channels to watch when you are not here to see Dublin is a good (smart) idea. For that reason, and a few other small issues, I doubt I would suggest this again--for business travelers-- given the choices in the area. If this is not an issue, then apart from the noise factor (people above me were just really noisy), this was a fine choice. One tip, on Shelburne Road (out the door, take a right, then a left and then walk straight) is a wine bar called French Paradox. Very nice wine and you can get tapas like food. Nice atmosphere, fine to go by yourself and wi-fi!

Room Tip: higher the floor better as you can hear above you….
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CavKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear CavKA,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House for your recent visit to Dublin and for taking the time to share your experience on tripadvisor. We are really pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and clean and enjoyed the ambiance of the house in general. We have taken on board your suggestion in relation to providing a more enhanced selection of television channels for our business and leisure visitors alike and will look at improving this element of the service we provide. In relation to the overhead noise from the room above, I apologise for this; if you have the occasion to return to stay with us in the future we will be sure to allocate a room on the upmost floor. Mentioned also in your review were some other minor issues which arose. I would be keen to remedy these, no matter how small, and would be grateful if you can contact me by email to reservations@ariel-house.net. May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards
Deirdre McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We visited Ariel House on a 2 night bed and breakfast basis. We were on a course in the IPA which is just across the road. The train station is right beside the hotel which makes it an ideal location if you want to go into the City Centre or other parts of Dublin.

Rooms are dated but they are so clean and the beds are so comfortable. At €40 per night each it was really good value.

Breakfast is the best thing about this hotel. So much choice and it is nice to stay somewhere where there are healthy options. We had the poached eggs and salmon and it was beautiful.

There is a little tea room where they have afternoon tea for their guests which was lovely after a two hour drive.
I will definitely be bringing the family to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lmcdonal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I was at this cosy bed and breakfast in Dublin for two nights. The staff are very friendly and the room I was given very peaceful and warm. It is located close to the train station into the centre, but is only a 20 min walk to Grafton Street. All in all i would highly recommend it. In the afternoon they provide tea and scones in the main reception area with the daily papers and comfy sofas. It is definitely value for money. It was 44 euros per night for a twim bedroom. Only issue I experienced is thatvthe hair dryer was not working but they soon provided me with a replacement one.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank curioustraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Located next to lansdowne rd stadium on the very quiet (stayed Saturday night) Lansdowne rd, we booked the hotel on the back of the reviews left here and it lived up to them all. Big rooms with huge character , comfy beds, nice bathroom, warm welcome for the kids aged 6,4 and 2.

We had an early start the next day and the receptionist offered to have take away baggies arranged. Fresh brown soda bread jams butters, fresh fruit chopped small for the little ones, juice and banana bread - a 7 star take away breakfast

Ariel house is leading the way in the finer details of customer service most hotels overlook. The best hotel experience I have had in Ireland hands down.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Tomasol02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This little hotel offers 5 star service and great comfort in a slightly faded setting. The hotel is clean as a whistle, though the decor of the rooms is a bit dated. Look past it--the staff goes above and beyond and you'll forget all about it and get a good deal too. A piano, newspapers, tea and cakes in the lounge. Warm Irish hospitality. What more do you really want?

The hotel is in a pretty neighborhood and well located for public transit. There is some parking, but be advised, it's a little tight.

Best of all is the included breakfast. It was absolutely delicious with a nice range of buffet and hot choices and set us up for the day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ckcanary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews