We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best service I've ever had!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #3 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The best service I've ever had!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I took my parents to see Wicked in Dublin and I finally got the chance to stay at this top rated hotel. We arrived before check in and were asked if we'd like some tea before we went back out. We were served in the beautiful drawing room with tea coffee and home made scones, it was a very warm welcome! Later on in the night we were delighted to find even more treats laid out in drawing room which were free for guests.

Breakfast was a chocolate coated cherry on a sundae of surprises. I strongly advise you to take advantage of all food available in this hotel it is all mouth wateringly good!

My only small gripe were the beds, we booked two double rooms but the beds in both were two singles pushed together and separate sheets. I won't lie not having to fight for sheets was a nice change but it meant sleeping on one side or the other no middle ground due to the break in the beds.

Room Tip: Get all of the food!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,080
    343
    55
    18
    16
See reviews for
330
723
56
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights from 14th February as a party of 6 for a family celebration weekend. The hotel is in a great location and it was very easy to get the DART from Lansdowne Road to Tara Street for the city centre. The rooms were very good with all the amenities you would need and the breakfast choices and quality were fantastic. Can't praise the staff highly enough-their friendliness and attentiveness was outstanding. Thank you Ariel House-we look forward to coming back soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank LFisherBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

this is a gem of a place . we stayed 2 nights whilst visiting Dublin for 6 nations rugby . stadium was a 2 minute walk --yet peaceful and quiet at ariel house . The rooms were clean and nicely decorated . personally I would have liked some bottled water in the room and the pillows were a bit flat -- but that's personnel taste . I would also have liked to have seen 4 poster rooms -just read in review but didn't get that option . the highlight was the breakfast -- the service was faultless and the choice and quality as good as any 5 star hotel . The homemade brown bread and scones were awesome . We will definitely return when we come back to Dublin .special mention should go to lady who looked after breakfast --anticipated every need and really made breakfast experience first class .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank reader12342014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

I have stayed dozens of times at Ariel House, so I've stayed in a variety of rooms. Every stay has been an absolute pleasure. Immaculately clean, cosy and welcoming. The staff are always impeccably well mannered and friendly. It's lovely to enjoy a glass of wine by the fire beside the grand piano and read a free paper. Even the most affordable rooms (which I normally opt for) have traditional features like antique furniture, heavy lined drapes, carved beds and damask bed throws. The breakfast is better than any four star hotel I've ever stayed in, hands down, and the train station is 60 seconds away. Having stayed in many of the more expensive hotels nearby I always prefer Ariel House.

Room Tip: Because the house is very old, some rooms have lots of little lamps instead of one main ceiling ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily_J_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

The rooms are nice though there is evidence of wear and tear especially in the bathroom and this could do with an update. This is why it gets a 4 star and not a 5.

What's great about this place is the service. You really felt looked after. The breakfast was so yummy - lots of choice for everyone. The waitresses were exceptional. I didn't get their names but they deserve a shout out as they went out of their way to make sure we were well fed! It's also next to the AVIVA stadium and I really liked the location. It's far enough out that you get away from all the hustle of a city but you can get to the centre in about 15 minutes walk and there are some really nice restaurants not too far away and a train station a few minutes walk away.

Would definitely recommend and would stay there again if I was going to Dublin.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank On O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

We were in Dublin for the 6 Nations and stayed 2 nights at the Ariel which we chose for its proximity to the Aviva. Our experience began before we'd even arrived in Ireland with a friendly 'courtesy' call from Dermot - a lovely touch.
We were lucky enough to have our room upgraded and loved the extra space, the four poster and the enormous bathroom. Breakfast was as good as previous reviews have stated with the added bonus that our window table looked directly at the Aviva. The Ariel is close to the Dart station so Dublin City centre is 5 minutes away - allowing us to visit Trinity College, Dublin Castle etc. The staff are friendly and professional and we felt as if nothing was too much trouble. The only negative was the chandelier in our room shook every time the people upstairs walked across the floor, the beautiful bathroom would benefit from a blind or shutters at the window and the pillows were a little hard for my taste. All very minor points compared to the positives! Can't wait until the next Ireland v Scotland game in Dublin so we can visit the Ariel again. It thoroughly deserves its good reputation and rave reviews.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SeannTigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here for four nights, took a train tour, and then returned to stay a further 3 nights, so we had two different rooms. We were absolutely delighted with everything! Rooms were spotless, quiet and comfortable. Staff were very helpful and courteous and the breakfasts couldn't have been better - a buffet with lots of selection, then a choice of hot breakfast. DART line (rapid transit) just down the street, and we could walk downtown in about 30-40 minutes, or there were lots of buses. There is a small commercial area about a 3-4 minute walk away that has restaurants and one or two pubs, but we found the large convenience/deli store there very handy for sandwiches, salads & fruit if you want a smaller meal.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alouroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,580 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,271 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 153 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,733 reviews
1.0 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing