We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100m from the Aviva”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #4 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
N Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“100m from the Aviva”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

No better place to stay for watching the rugby 100m max from the Aviva.
Staff very welcoming, rooms very clean and comfortable, breakfast very good. Plenty of parking at both the front and rear of the building. Also very close to DART stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesterNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,133
    361
    60
    19
    16
See reviews for
341
768
57
105
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A very elegant B&B not too far from city center and American embassy. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The extremely low water pressure was the only drawback to the room. The staff was exceptionally helpful and accommodating. (The manager, who had errands to run, actually led me about 75% to the highway when I spent an hour driving in circles trying to find it.) I definitely enjoyed my time here.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristy_C26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

A really cosy, chilled out getaway….very welcoming staff, who offered us tea/coffee and freshly baked treats on arrival….nice, comfortable, clean room….great location (about 15 min to the centre, in a lovely area of south Dublin - right beside the Aviva stadium)……and, the breakfast - WHOA! Absolutely fantastic! A great stay all-round, and real value for money. Will definitely

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DFarrell90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My experience of accommodation in Dublin has been more bad than good over the years, indifferent and sometime unfriendly staff being a big issue as well as poor levels of upkeep in some premises, places that while not quite dirty were a bit on the shabby side for the want of a bit more attention.
None of this applies to Ariel house. We went for a superior room, what we got was way above our expectations, an enormous room with a bay window, lots of period details and a huge four poster bed, I'd never slept in one before, I felt like I was on the set of Downton Abbey. The room was in the front of the house facing Landsdowne Road, I was concerned that it might be noisy but it wasn't, the curtains were so heavy they kept most of the sound out. Also as the road is closed regularly due the DART barriers, it's not quite as busy as you'd expect.
Friendly and helpful staff from start to finish and a fantastic breakfast with great attention to detail. The last time I stayed in Dublin we paid €120.00 a night for a room (no breakfast) which was was way below the level of quality of Ariel House where we paid €84.00 per night (Sunday & Monday). The next time I'm staying in Dublin, I wouldn't consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SEAMUS.R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights in February. The hotel staff were all really helpful, friendly and welcoming. The location is good, out of the city centre, but within a 20 minute walk. There is a Dart railway within a hundred meters of the hotel and this goes straight to the city centre.
We had a large room at the front of the house, with a comfortable four poster bed, nice bathroom with a big bath and a separate shower.
Everything was spotlessly clean.
Afternoon tea was available in the lounge, which is obviously very nice. The breakfast couldn't be better. We would certainly say worthy of awards.
All in all a very nice hotel, if we had a couple of suggestions, it would be that we paid for a premier room, bottled water and bath robes would have been a nice touch, and are certainly what you would expect of comparable hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulWhitehead409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleraine
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed last weekend usually staying in Sandymount but fancying a change. Location great, we love the area and parking is a bonus. Lovely room spotlessly clean...but the floorboards were very noisy. Ok as we were on the reception floor...but at 1am in the morning when the people above us arrived back...yikes!! No sleep for us. Eventually nodded off when they went to bed. Pity as the bed was really comfy. Breakfast was beautiful, recommend the pancakes, shame we were so tired.
Maybe if we'd been on the top floor or annex it would've been ok. I understand this is an old house but if you can't sleep.....
Shame, as everything else, including staff, were fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossisGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just returned from a fantastic 2 night stay at Ariel House (18th-20th Feb). We arrived early, knowing our check-in was scheduled for 2pm but hoping to drop our bags down and head out. We certainly weren't expecting such a welcome after reading various reviews, describing the check in as 'efficient' rather than friendly.

However, as soon as we stepped through the door we were made to feel unbelievably welcome. Our bags were immediately taken from our hands and popped into the luggage room and we were offered a table in the dining room straight away to sample the famous breakfast! We took up this offer without hesitation and sat down with a lovely cup of tea, freshly baked bread, granola, jams and chutneys as well as delicious poached eggs with crispy bacon and smoked salmon with potato cakes. The best welcome ever! We were then told they could have our room ready in 15 minutes, despite it only being 10am.

We decided to take a stroll and come back a little later anyway. The hotel is situated in the leafy suburb of Ballsbridge, literally right next to the giant Aviva stadium. It is a little far out from the central attractions of Dublin (a 30 minute walk...but I am a slow walker!). We found the best way to combat this was a 2 day 'hop on/off' Dublin bus ticket which can be taken from Merrion Square which is just a 10 minute walk from the hotel and takes you to all of the main attractions in Dublin.The train station is also a 2 minute walk from the hotel but we didn't actually use the service. We also got a taxi to Temple bar when heading out for the evening (about 8euros each way)

When we arrived back, the drawing room was full of trays of little cakes, scones, tea and coffee. A lovely little touch! Our room was lovely and spacious, perfect when returning after a long day of sightseeing.

What really makes this hotel is the service, nothing was too much bother for the staff we met during our stay. They gave us recommendations on where to dine and visit, booked taxis for us and even called the Aircoach company for us when we were unsure of where the stop was for our return journey! It really was top notch service and always with a smile! A perfect example amazing customer service.

To echo nearly every other review, you really need to try the breakfast too. We had breakfast every morning, it was too amazing to miss! The staff at breakfast were also lovely and friendly.

I can see why people return here whenever they stay in Dublin, just like a home away from home. Amazing service in an elegant and traditional setting. Although a little far from the main central attractions, I would still recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Dublin. Transport links are great and besides, the extra walking is a great way to see the whole of Dublin (a beautiful city!).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank NatalieBlackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 151 in Dublin
3,902 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 151 in Dublin
4,506 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 151 in Dublin
3,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
3,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
1,317 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 151 in Dublin
3,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Property: Ariel House
Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing