We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ariel House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,680)
Filter reviews
1,680 results
Traveller rating
1,197
381
65
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,197
381
65
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdrawing roomdart stationaviva stadiumb blansdowne roadevery afternooncity centreminute walkfour poster bedbrown breadballsbridge areaguest housequiet neighborhoodtea coffeebreakfast was amazingbreakfast roomjunior suite
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
820 - 825 of 1,680 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Our stay at Ariel House was excellent. The staff were all very helpful and nothing was ever a problem. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast couldn't be any better. We found the location to be very convenient, with the DART station being close. Our daily walk into the city centre was an adventure. We varied the streets we walked so we could take in all the buildings. We stayed at Ariel House for five nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. We hope to go back to Dublin and would definitely stay at Ariel House again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Raymond S
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of you your stay at Ariel House on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you rate our accommodations and the team’s hospitality so highly. It’s lovely to hear that you enjoyed the leafy walk to the city center each day – we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Best Wishes
Deirdre and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I can't say enough good things about the Ariel House. The service is exemplary, hotel is clean and inviting, and the breakfast was delicious and hearty. The neighborhood is also quite lovely, and very near a DART station, making it a quick and easy train ride to city center (walking isn't bad either). Our first stop in Ireland was Dublin, and the Ariel House. Our trip started off a bit rocky, as our GPS failed to work on arrival in Dublin. Getting to the hotel was quite a challenge without GPS, as Dublin isn't the easiest city to navigate (street signs are hard to find, and names change frequently).

Once we actually found the hotel, we were quite pleased with the accommodations. After spending a rather sleepless night worrying about how we were going to navigate Ireland without GPS, we asked the Manager Deirdre to call our rental car company to see if we could rent a GPS. Instead of doing that, she actually offered to loan us one that the hotel had purchased for that very reason. I was shocked, and utterly grateful!!! This would never happen in the U.S. Not only did she offer to loan it to us for the week, she offered to pick it up at the hotel we were staying at the end of our stay (also in Dublin). We only paid $120 for this accommodation, yet we were getting better service than a more expensive 5 star hotel. Needless to say, Deirdre's service helped make the rest of our vacation much less stressful. I only wish we would have chosen to stay at Ariel House on our last night in Dublin as well.

I will be eternally grateful for Deirdre's kindness! Should I ever return to Dublin, I will most definitely stay at Ariel House!

Room Tip: If you are unable to handle stairs, you might want to avoid this hotel as there is no lift.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ganten71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Ganten71
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House for your visit to Dublin and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to that you enjoyed the comfort of the house and our breakfast menu! We are so pleased the GPS came in handy for your travels in Ireland – it’s our pleasure – that’s what it’s here for 
Thank you again for your kind words and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future
Best wishes
Deirdre and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Ariel House is a large, rambling inn spread across several adjacent buildings. It's hard to give an overall rating because the generous breakfast, with locally sourced specialties like cheese, smoked salmon, and freshly baked goods, is truly outstanding. However, the room we had was not. The old (not antique) furniture was damaged, chairs were saggy, lights didn't work, and the room wasn't cleaned properly during our 3-night visit (some crumbs from a scone my husband ate sat in the middle of the floor for 2 days, so the cleaner couldn't have vacuumed). The place is rundown and smells musty, at least where we were in the basement. The wireless is terrible. The location also isn't good for an evening meal. Most of the local restaurants are indifferent, and we didn't usually feel like walking 20 minutes back to the area where there were more places to eat. Overall, we wouldn't recommend it, despite the fabulous food.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juviall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear juviall
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House for your recent visit to Dublin and for taking the time write a review on TripAdvisor. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast menu and the locally sourced, Irish produce that we love to use. I am disheartened to read your level of dissatisfaction with our accommodations. Whilst the property is old and rambling, we pride ourselves on exemplary housekeeping standards and cleanliness so I wish to apologise for the below-par standard that you have experienced and would like to assure you that your experience is not our usual standard. We have upgraded our complimentary Wi-Fi in early May 2014 to three times the speed that was previously offered which has improved the service. We regret that, following a stay with us, you would not recommend Ariel House to others – my apologies again that we, on this occasion did not meet your expectations.
You are most welcome to contact me at reservations@ariel-house.net, if you wish to discuss your stay in greater detail.
Kind Regards
Deirdre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed at Ariel House three times in the last month and it was a delightful experience on each occasion. The facility is located a half block from the Landsdowne station with DART and rail connections north and south. Plus it's an easy walk to the heart of Dublin along some lovely streets and a stretch of the old canal. The staff were uniformly courteous and helpful, and the breakfast is a FOUR STAR EXPERIENCE. We were in three different rooms and they were all just fine, although I needed a bit more wattage for reading in bed. Add it all up, and it's an enticing value all around.

Room Tip: We did not have any problems with noise in any of the rooms we occupied.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardBoise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear RichardBoise
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House during your recent travels in Ireland – It was lovely for us to welcome you back on three occasions during the same month! We are delighted that you enjoyed the location of the House and found the staff to be courteous on each of your stays. Thank you also for rating our breakfast so highly.
We are thrilled to be classified and “Your Headquarters in Dublin” – best wishes to you both and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Deirdre and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

A wonderful stay was had in this gem of a house. Staff are wonderful, rooms are clean and quiet and the breakfast is to die for! A short walk into town and many food outlets, restaurants bars make sit a perfect place to base yourself for a stay in Dublin if you want to avoid the noise of the city. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: There are no lifts and quite a few stairs, so ask for ground floor if it's a problem
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Dear Trish O
Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience of Ariel House on tripadvisor. We are so pleased to read your positive, kind words and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s also lovely to hear that you enjoyed the peace and quiet of Ballsbridge, and the great selection of restaurants and bars that the Village has to offer.
Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on future visits to Ireland.
Kind Regards
Deirdre and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews