We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Dublin”
Review of Ariel House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ariel House
Ranked #5 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Absolutely wonderful boutique hotel. Huge rooms, huge bathrooms (separate bath tubs and showers) with towel warmers, excellent staff, and tucked away in a quiet and beautiful Dublin neighborhood. Downtown and other attractions are easily accessible via DART tram or bus. Loved staying here, hope to come back again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveler6579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,622)
There are newer reviews for Ariel House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

709 - 715 of 1,622 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed in the James Joyce room which was extremely large and worth the extra cost. The regular rooms are good value, but nothing special. Very nice free coffee and cake option in the lounge, good breakfast options, and very friendly staff who went out of their way to offer excellent service.

A cut above the average B&B

Room Tip: james joyce room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed at Arial house for 2 nights. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts are amazing and plentiful.
Parking is tight but the hotels provides a free off site option.
We had to move rooms twice for noise which the staff happily arranged. The street noise on the weekend can be high so you may want to ask for a quiet room.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Svensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The Ariel House was our first destination in Ireland, and we could not have received a more hospitable welcome. Upon arriving, we were not sure about parking, but were put at ease when the proprietor immediately went down to the street and paid our meter. Later they would move the car into the parking area for us. Tired after getting lost, we relaxed in the drawing room and were served tea and fresh scones. Our room on the second floor, overlooking the front of the house, was large, comfortable, and spotlessly clean. Breakfast the next morning was exceptional! We left Dublin for the first leg of our journey well rested and fed. We hope to visit Ireland again one day, and to be sure, we will stay at the Ariel House again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Kathy S

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House during your visit to Dublin this year.
It’s lovely to hear that you received a warm welcome from our team and found the accommodations to be comfortable and clean. We are so pleased that you felt relaxed here and that your stay with us set you up well for your road trip around Ireland!

We look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps on a future visit.

Best Wishes
Deirdre and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

It was a great pleasure to stay at Ariel House. The room (a twin room) was excellent, clean, nothing out of place. The entire breakfast experience was excellent, the staff were super friendly and the breakfast itself was delicious. We initially stayed for the breakfast (award-winning, had to check it out) but I will be returning for the warm and friendly people working at Ariel House.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goofyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear goofyfeet

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House for your recent visit to Dublin.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast experience in our Dining Room and the hospitality of our team. I have passed on your kind comments to my colleagues and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Wishes
Deirdre McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I stayed a week at Ariel House in late June/early July and it was one of the best holidays I have ever had. I was there on the occasion of successfully taking my finals in Austria and I was accompanied by 3 friends of mine.

Ariel House is a very beautiful house that dates back into the Victorian era and the front side is made of red bricks. The interior is very comely with furniture that invites you to relax. The reception is located just at the opposite of the entrance and we were given a really warm welcome. We were given 2 rooms à 2 people each that were located in the Herbert Mews, a part of the hotel that could be described as the hotel’s lower storey, though it is just as comfortable.

The rooms might make a dark impression at first sight, but you will get used to it. The room was very clean and just perfect for someone who visits Dublin City during the day and comes back in the evening to watch some TV or play cards with friends. Another great feature is the tea and coffee making facility.

The breakfast at Ariel House is not overrated and makes getting up in the morning a pleasure. The friendly staff will see that you can start your day with a happiness that only a good breakfast can bring. There is no part of breakfast that I can make stand out in particular as everything of it was just great, but the porridge was my personal highlight as I never knew it before and fell in love with it when I first tasted it at Ariel House.

The staff was probably the best part about the hotel. I have seldom encountered people that are more enthusiastic and helpful. If you tell them what you have planned for the day, they will recommend you on what to do to enhance your daily programme. They were very helpful in every single situation and surpassed my expectations by far, making me feel as if I were with friends the whole week.

You need to be aware that Ariel House is not located in the city centre, but in Ballsbridge, a very calm and beautiful part of Dublin. This part of Dublin is just perfect for people that want to escape the business of a city as big as Dublin. If you want to visit the city centre, you can simply buy a ticket for the DART lines, of which you can find a station just down the road next to the Aviva Stadium. You will be in the city centre within minutes and it comes at a very good price. If you do not want to take the train, you can simply walk and it will take you about half an hour to get to Temple Bar.

I really plan to come back one day and enjoy Dublin and Ariel House once more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brueser_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Brueser_C

Thank you for taking the time to write a review your recent stay at Ariel House and our congratulations on successfully passing your finals!

We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfasts, the comfort of our Mews Rooms and the location of the house. It’s particularly nice to read your feedback in relation to the team and how you enjoyed their warmth and enthusiasm! We feel very fortunate to have such a dedicated group of people working here with us.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back at some stage!

Best Wishes
Deirdre and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My husband and I spent the first two nights of our Ireland honeymoon at the Ariel House in Dublin. My father (who has spent a considerable amount of time in the city over the years) had recommended the upscale, quiet Ballsbridge part of town where Ariel House is located. The hotel is just a few stops to city centre via DART, but it feels a million miles away, in the best way possible.

The staff was hospitable in every sense of the word. We felt so welcome from the minute we walked in the door! Our room — the Oscar Wilde suite — was on the ground floor facing the garden and was quite spacious and clean. The best part about Ariel House, however, was the spectacular breakfast, which included a daily assortment of Irish cheeses, scones, brown bread, granola, fresh fruit, smoked salmon, pancakes, farm eggs, bacon, the works! It was definitely the best breakfast we experienced during our 10-day trip, and we had a lot of fantastic breakfasts if that tells you anything.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back side of the hotel, overlooking the garden/courtyard
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nealey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArielHouse, General Manager at Ariel House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Dear Nealey D

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Ariel House as the first stop of your Honeymoon and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you felt welcome and at home here and enjoyed the peace and comfort of the Oscar Wilde suite. Thank you for rating our breakfast so highly, as one of the best of your travels – we have passed your kind words on to our chefs, who are very pleased to hear this!

Best Wishes
Deirdre and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,035 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,589 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Marker Hotel
The Marker Hotel
#2 of 150 in Dublin
3,343 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#7 of 150 in Dublin
3,996 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#13 of 150 in Dublin
4,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ariel House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ariel House

Address: 50-54 Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#5 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#5 Family Hotel in Dublin
#14 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: £112 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ariel House 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ariel House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ariel House Hotel Dublin
Ariel Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing